We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continuously a great experience”
Review of Rugby Grille

Rugby Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Rugby Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 100 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $20 - $49
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Pierce & Merrill
Description: The Rugby Grille is a world-class, unpretentious restaurant serving an array of creative appetizers, entrees and tempting desserts in a classical setting that makes for a true, one-of-a-kind dining experience. The Rugby Grille has been recognized with the following awards: The coveted AAA-Four Diamond award, and the Forbes Travel Guide "Recommended" rating and The Wine Spectator "Two-Glass" for its wine program. From the moment you are greeted by our reception staff, to our Wine Spectator award-winning wine list, to the final satisfying dessert creations by our Pastry Chef, you can be certain that dining has been redefined. Relax in the traditional setting of the Grille room with its crisp white tablecloths complemented by fine silver and sparkling crystal wine glasses, enjoy the natural light in the Gallery, or dine al fresco on our seasonal patio. Our professional service staff will ensure you experience a defining level of attention and culinary creations. Executive Chef Eric Avila and his skilled staff use only the freshest ingredients and best products to mastermind an array of flavors sure to delight every palate.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Nothing is perfect, but for us Rugby grille comes close. I ate there twice in the last week, once with girlfriend and bar and then with my teenage kids for my daughter's 15th birthday this weekend. Service is impeccable, classy but friendly, servers will laugh and joke if they know you and always comfortable and not stuffy My food both nights was great, and included steak, a burger and Dover sole. No complaints, all was perfectly prepared, served well, the Dover sole was especially great, and the bread is fresh, despite someone saying not.

Yeah, it's expensive, any complaint about that should be ignored to a large extent, you know what you are getting into. But frankly, it's comparable to the other top places, 30-40 dollars for a steak, ten bucks for a good salad, deserts around 8. So yeah costly, but it's not a secret so no one should be surprised. We are semi regulars, and for a special occasion or even just a late night drink and snack at the bar nothing compares.

Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K, Managing Director at Rugby Grille, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Scott S.

Thank you for your kind comments and continued patronage. Is is truly appreciated and on behalf of the associates in The Rugby Grille, we thank you!

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 122 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

The presentation of the food was award winning. The flavours fresh and combinations unique. Service was fantastic. We wish there had been some gluten free baking because the regular baking looked delicious. Our server for New Year's eve was able to let us know what could be accommodated for gluten free diets and that was everything except one entree and one dessert so there was lots to choose from.
There was nothing we disliked except the coffee. We are coffee snobs and prefer French Press!

Thank katharineb705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K, Managing Director at Rugby Grille, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear katharineb705,

Thank you for your kind comments on your dinner and service in the Rugby Grille Restaurant!

We also appreciate your comments on the coffee and for your future visits, we will also offer French Press! Thanks for bringing this to our attention!

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We dined at the Rugby Grille after arriving from a long drive and not wanting to leave the hotel. The staff promoted the restaurant as 'award winning' and top in "North America". Maybe we caught them on a bad night, but we found the food combinations and to be downright quirky and not in a good way. I ordered the scallop appetizer. While the chopped scallops themselves were pleasant, they were served with seared grapes in an aioli sauce that positively 'fought' with the grapes. For my entree, I tried the Raviolo --- it was served with candied nuts on which one could have chipped a tooth. Again, it did not fit with what was arguably too thin a filling and made for an unpleasant texture combination. The bread in the basket was so hot, we couldn't touch it for several minutes.... the heat was not a 'just out of the oven' feel. I would not return based on the quality and menu construction, regardless of the over-confident price point. In my estimation, there is much work to be done on the menu for this location to be a contender for a top North American destination.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stacey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K, Managing Director at Rugby Grille, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Stacey A,

Thank you fro dining in the Rugby Grille on your recent visit to Birmingham, Michigan.

Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations. The food quality you experienced is certainly not indicative of the fine quality we are known for and try to maintain. It is feedback such as yours that we take very seriously to ensure a similar experience does not happen again to future guests.

Again, our apologies.

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Superb food with excellent décor. Try to sit out on the heated terrace as opposed to being inside as this adds to the ambience. I would recommend a late breakfast here. The prices escalate exponentially as the day progresses. The price of a complete meal will likely cost you the same as your room. Nonetheless, the service and the food quality are consistent with the expense.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded December 9, 2013

Dear Daniel M.,

Thank you for dining in the Rugby Grille on your recent visit

We appreciate your feedback but can assure you that the costs for food & beverage in the Rugby Grille are in line with the same type and quality restaurants in Birmingham.

That said, it is feedback such as yours that we take very seriously and appreciate your willingness to share your comments.

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had breakfast at the Rugby Grill one recent weekday morning. It is located within the Townsend Hotel. We were seated immediately by the hostess and offered coffee. My decaf was a bit old and bitter tasting. The next cup unfortunately, was not much better.
I ordered Eggs Benedict with a small cup of fresh fruit. The fruit was seasonal berries and mellon cubes. It was good. The Eggs Benedict looked a bit paltry on the large plate. They were rather bland-tasting, as if from a low-salt menu selection. Even the Hollandaise sauce was nondescript.
The service was terrific. Several of the wait staff refreshed coffee, water, and checked on us. Maybe that is why the bill was bigger than expected - all the wait staff.
I eat in the Birmingham - Beverly Hills area regularly. I find the entrees at other restaurants nearby with equally impeccable service priced much lower for fine quality food. So I am left wondering why are Rugby Grill's less-than-stunning food and beverages so overpriced?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank VaporK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded December 9, 2013

Dear VaporK8,

Thank you for dining in the Rugby Grille on your recent visit.

We appreciate your feedback but can assure you that the costs for food & beverage in the Rugby Grille are in line with the same type and quality restaurants in Birmingham and surrounding areas.

We do appreciate your feedback and take it very seriously and appreciate your willingness to share your comments.

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rugby Grille also viewed

Birmingham, MI
Birmingham, MI
 
Birmingham, MI
 

Been to Rugby Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing