We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Call your mortgage banker first”
Review of Rugby Grille

Rugby Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Rugby Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 104 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $20 - $49
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Pierce & Merrill
Description: The Rugby Grille is a world-class, unpretentious restaurant serving an array of creative appetizers, entrees and tempting desserts in a classical setting that makes for a true, one-of-a-kind dining experience. The Rugby Grille has been recognized with the following awards: The coveted AAA-Four Diamond award, and the Forbes Travel Guide "Recommended" rating and The Wine Spectator "Two-Glass" for its wine program. From the moment you are greeted by our reception staff, to our Wine Spectator award-winning wine list, to the final satisfying dessert creations by our Pastry Chef, you can be certain that dining has been redefined. Relax in the traditional setting of the Grille room with its crisp white tablecloths complemented by fine silver and sparkling crystal wine glasses, enjoy the natural light in the Gallery, or dine al fresco on our seasonal patio. Our professional service staff will ensure you experience a defining level of attention and culinary creations. Executive Chef Eric Avila and his skilled staff use only the freshest ingredients and best products to mastermind an array of flavors sure to delight every palate.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Superb food with excellent décor. Try to sit out on the heated terrace as opposed to being inside as this adds to the ambience. I would recommend a late breakfast here. The prices escalate exponentially as the day progresses. The price of a complete meal will likely cost you the same as your room. Nonetheless, the service and the food quality are consistent with the expense.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded December 9, 2013

Dear Daniel M.,

Thank you for dining in the Rugby Grille on your recent visit

We appreciate your feedback but can assure you that the costs for food & beverage in the Rugby Grille are in line with the same type and quality restaurants in Birmingham.

That said, it is feedback such as yours that we take very seriously and appreciate your willingness to share your comments.

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 127 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had breakfast at the Rugby Grill one recent weekday morning. It is located within the Townsend Hotel. We were seated immediately by the hostess and offered coffee. My decaf was a bit old and bitter tasting. The next cup unfortunately, was not much better.
I ordered Eggs Benedict with a small cup of fresh fruit. The fruit was seasonal berries and mellon cubes. It was good. The Eggs Benedict looked a bit paltry on the large plate. They were rather bland-tasting, as if from a low-salt menu selection. Even the Hollandaise sauce was nondescript.
The service was terrific. Several of the wait staff refreshed coffee, water, and checked on us. Maybe that is why the bill was bigger than expected - all the wait staff.
I eat in the Birmingham - Beverly Hills area regularly. I find the entrees at other restaurants nearby with equally impeccable service priced much lower for fine quality food. So I am left wondering why are Rugby Grill's less-than-stunning food and beverages so overpriced?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank VaporK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded December 9, 2013

Dear VaporK8,

Thank you for dining in the Rugby Grille on your recent visit.

We appreciate your feedback but can assure you that the costs for food & beverage in the Rugby Grille are in line with the same type and quality restaurants in Birmingham and surrounding areas.

We do appreciate your feedback and take it very seriously and appreciate your willingness to share your comments.

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

If you are looking for the classic and iconic service of days gone by, this is the place for you. Many places have very good-great food but, this has the service and atmosphere to back it up. Located in the very tony and boutique Townsend Hotel there is a bit-o-Downton Abby here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MiCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded December 9, 2013

Dear MiCowboy,

Thank you for dining in the Rugby Grille on your recent visit.

We appreciate your feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed the food and the service provided.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stopped in for an early lunch, late breakfast. The Egg white frittata was fantastic, perfectly cooked and great flavor from the tomatoes, greens and feta. The lobster omelette was good but needed some sharpness for my taste, would have preferred a different cheese to complement the other ingredients. Service was very good.

Thank chrisandtracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded December 9, 2013

Dear MiCowboy,

Thank you for dining in the Rugby Grille on your recent visit.

We appreciate your feedback on the The Egg white Frittata and your additional comments on the lobster omelette. We are also pleased that you enjoyed the service!

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

For me it was just ok. May have been a bad day for them. I came in for a business lunch Meeting. The service was fair. I thought it was lacking. Again could have caught them on a bad day. The food was ok. It did not blow me away. I will give them another try later this year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 18, 2015

Dear News37,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent experience at The Rugby Grille Restaurant in The Townsend Hotel!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to having you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rugby Grille also viewed

 

Been to Rugby Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing