We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class food, a "find" for the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Stand

The Stand
Reserve with OpenTable
The Stand is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 100 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to modern American food with serious local flavor; or as we like to say, rustic but refined. Just some of The Stand's distinctions include charcuterie, a dedicated vegan menu, craft beers, private dining areas, a 10-seat chef's table and so much more. It's downtown cool with an uptown vibe.
Rye, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“First class food, a "find" for the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We were in the area visiting our son, who made reservations at The Stand. We are from NYC and travel frequently to Europe, so he knows our "fine food" standards are high. We very much enjoyed our dinner here. I had a lamb entree - my test for the first time at a restaurant is always lamb or duck - and it was excellent: fresh and yummy, well prepared, correctly cooked and beautifully presented. I must say the portions were quite substantial, so no worries if you're really hungry. We also tried the mango/white chocolate mousse, which was to die for. Service was friendly, if not very sophisticated. This is a great place for high level dining in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helensn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Owner at The Stand, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Helensn1, Thank you so much for the generous rating and the very lovely words. We strive for guest appreciation everyday. We are so glad that you really enjoyed your time with us here at The Stand. We hope to see you very soon.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    27
    3
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, ambiance and experience at The Stand!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

After searching through many restaurant options in our town, I decided to take my fiance to The Stand for his birthday. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. Friendly hostess who brought us to our reserved table. The table was covered in "Happy Birthday" sparkles and a little card from the restaurant in honor of my fiance! I was so pleased - what a simple but noticeable step over-and-above.

We both started with a great cocktail and the fresh fish appetizer - delicious. For our mains, I had the coq au vin and my fiance had the black cod - his favorite. Both understated, good-portioned and delicious. Brian was our server who was attentive and respectful. He knew exactly when to come and refill the wine glasses, when to do a quality check and threw in delightful little quips along the way. Impeccable. Additionally, we were treated to a little birthday sorbet (as we both have very specific allergies) - a nice touch!

We were thrilled and cannot wait to return for another lunch or dinner. Since then, my fiance has also been pointing out your restaurant to our visiting guests and friends.

Thank you to Brian, and The Stand.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Owner at The Stand, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
C E , Thank you for celebrating your fiancé's special day with us. I am so glad Brian and the entire team took care of the evening for you. Thank you for the generous rating and the kind words. Much appreciated, Hope to see you soon!!
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent service, food generally very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We went to this place because of its combination of a meat/fish and a vegan menu. Those of us who ate fish were extremely happy with their entrées; as for the vegan options, only one out of three dishes (grilled corn with almonds) really stood out, whereas the others (tomato risotto, carrots ratatouille) where rather bland. We appreciate, however, the good intentions. Service is superb. Recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngryVegans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Owner at The Stand, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you so much for the generous rating and the kind words. I will have the chef review the risotto and the ratatouille flavor profiles. Once again thank you so much and we hope to see you soon.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A fantastic restaurant!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Excellent food and service. We highly recommend. Limited menu. Very much looking forward to returning.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Owner at The Stand, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
George, Thank you so much for the very generous rating and words. Thank you and look forward to seeing you very soon.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
159 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Can't Wait to Return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Because of my travel schedule, I have the opportunity to dine at many restaurants. The Strand is on my list of all time favorites. We were seated in the private dining room overseen by two excellent wait staff. One of the staff recommended the halibut. Who hasn't had this dish before? I ordered it based upon his recommendation and was so glad I did. It was the best I have ever eaten. Try it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SamanthasDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Owner at The Stand, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Samantha's Dad, Thank you so much for your kind words and your rating. We are very proud of our culinary dishes and we are so glad that you enjoyed the halibut. We hope to see you very soon.
Cheers
John kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stand also viewed

 
Birmingham, MI
 

Been to The Stand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing