We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eat in or Carry out”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sy Thai Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sy Thai Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 100 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Eat in or Carry out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is my all time favorite Thai restaurant. Great for lunch or dinner, and carry out on my way home after working late!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gracie393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    31
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
164 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good Thai at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Its not really very authentic Thai but still one of the best in the area. We have had some great Thai food in Thailand and all over the World so this review may be a bit harsh. Some dishes are salty and the spice level stays mild but if you ask for it, its ramped up and then it tastes really good. Panag curry is good, a bit watery at times. The pineapple fried rice is good, can have a bit of more pineapple in it?
Overall its a great place with a great locations as its right next to the Palladium and the parking garage. The service has been friendly. What it lacks is the space, its small but the booths are comfortable. The chips are at times stale. The main receptionist/hostess appears non friendly and makes no attempt to relate to the customers. We have been going there for ages but still has no welcoming expressions or gestures. Have heard the same from others. Thats why the four stars.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrVAhluwalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't stop thinking about the peanut noodles!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I have been to several Thai restaurants in the area, and this one is BY FAR the best. I order the peanut noodles (with pad Thai noodles), and I have never looked back. I have tried to order this dish at other Thai restaurants, but no other place has come close to the delectable taste of Sy Thai. It doesn't even phase me to drive 40 minutes to Birmingham, because the Thai places near my house do not hold a candle to Sy Thai.

Seriously, do yourself a favor and give this restaurant a try!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMB1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
125 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Better than the other Thai place in Bham, but just ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

if you like straight vegetarian you'll be just fine however they pre-cook thier chicken breasts and add in when you order to turn things around faster... great idea and yet chicken is spongy. not great

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MeaganD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Thai Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were in the Metro for an event and looking for a place to eat in Birmingham. Thai food sounded good, and we decided to give Sy Thai a try. Service was very good. The chicken satay appetizer was good, with large portions of chicken on each skewer. My son had the Traditional Thai Peanut with chicken - the sauce had a plenty of peanut taste and the right amount of zing. My mom and I split the Thai Fried Rice with chicken. The portion was large enough for the two of us and, again, there was plenty of meat. We would come back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sy Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sy Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing