We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the Waiting - which there always is”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Streetside Seafood

Streetside Seafood
Ranked #1 of 100 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
104 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Worth the Waiting - which there always is”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Streetside is always packed, and the bar will be very happy to serve you an expensive glass or three while you wait for your table to open up; they do not take reservations, and you must be there to claim your slot.
It is a small and somewhat cramped restaurant - part of its appeal - seating perhaps 40 people at a time. There is more space around the table when you get there than you will have felt while waiting at the bar, and the waitstaff will give you an unhurried attention which is welcome after the sharp-elbowed experience you may have just gone through...
The food is worth your investment in time: interesting salads; memorable fish dishes and complimenting sauces; a fine wine list; a limited number of excellent and innovative desserts. I enjoyed whitefish with a lump crab topping (a great mix of delicate flavors), while my companion had sea scallops with Brussels sprouts and a butternut squash risotto: an involving counterpoint of sweet and bitter flavors, and differing textures.
It's worth the waiting.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank another_traveler0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    57
    18
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Enjoyed the Mahi and Salmon. Daily specials are always very good with nice sides. Very small restaurant makes the wait tough but the food is worth it. Best seafood in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank setterfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing since we are fans of the other affiliated restaurants”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Went there with my wife for a date night. We are huge fans of Beverly Hills Grille and more of Town Tavern. The entrees we had were very disappointing. I had walleye and my wife had a fish special. The walleye flavor was boring like it was missing an ingredient. And my wife's fish was not very tasty at all at least partially due to having been overlooked. The waitress took the fish back to the kitchen and the cook confirmed that the fish was overlooked. We were offered a dessert. We don't eat sugary stuff so that meant nothing. What it did mean is that the restaurant did not take accountability for their mistake and charged us full price. Nice ambiance but given the many choices in Birmingham will not be back for a while.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DrZeus72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
1 review
“Strretside It Is !i!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great place, best bartender, delicious food, cool atmosphere and good service.
its a nice cozy local hangout, and Michael the bartender takes care of everyone that walks thru the door, drinks are exquisite and food is superb!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yasmeen Summer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingham Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Birmingham Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I've eaten here plenty of times and have yet to get a meal that wasn't wonderful. Love the lively atmosphere.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mata119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Streetside Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Streetside Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing