We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small Space / Big Fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Streetside Seafood

Streetside Seafood
Ranked #1 of 101 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Detroit
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Small Space / Big Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I like Streetside quite a bit. They do everything well enough that it keeps me coming back. Yes, it's tiny, and the crowd waiting to sit could get on the nerves of any wait staff. We are talking the cream of "Birmingham crabbypants" wondering why THEY aren't being cared for first... Get a drink, the bartenders pour them well, and be patient. Or, show up earlier.
My only real complaints - and they are truly minor - would be the close proximity of your neighbors' tables which often means you've got the wait staffs' hindquarters in your face. And, the printed menu is kinda boring. Probably just me, but if the specials weren't on the board, I would be bored. Still, they are well done, fun, and one of the few places with a good Australian tawny for dessert... (don't laugh!)

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DLHirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    57
    18
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
231 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Still one of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Second visit in the past year, feel free to read my review from that visit. Anyways, some of the earlier reviews mentioned slipping service, overpriced items, etc and that you should take your business to Mitchell's--having ate at both multiple times, I would never give that advice. Mitchells serves very routine, expensive seafood. Streetside serves very unique fish dishes that often involve local (MI) products/fish. The prices are probably about $3-4 too much per entree: ours were $29 each for fantastic fish dishes, but I could see where people may think the prices are high. We had a bottle of wine, some oysters (some of the best I've ever had), coconut shrimp appetizer, and then dessert as well--bourbon pecan pie, that was quite delicious. The waitress even added a scoop of ice cream for me without a charge. Now, our waitress that night was not quite as good as the gentleman we had been served by previously, but overall the service was still excellent. The only warning I would give to people not familiar with the restaurant is that it's small and they pack people in, so you will likely be sitting quite close to your neighbors. Also, it gets busy, so expect a wait if you go on a weekend night. Will definitely miss this place once we move.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Seems to be slipping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

I have been to this restaurant several times over the past 10 years. My favorite is the Greek style calamari appetizer and their unique specials The location (downtown Birmingham) can't be beat. It seems, however, that they are getting too big for their britches or relying on location and reputation. The past few times I've been there, the service has been slightly snobby,and the portion sizes and quality dwindling. I keep going back because I do love the ambience.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patty Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stay away from Streetside Seafood in Birmingham”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

This previously was one of my most favorite spots -- not anymore. Just went there for my birthday and the waiter was so incredibly rude to us, it made me ill. I'm straight and my friend is not and it was so over the top obvious that this guy had some sort of problem -- he turned his back on us and wouldn't even take my friend's drink order. Sickening. We left. Went next door and overtipped a waiter there -- go somewhere else -- anywhere else. Not worth it if you are actually a human being.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank krausebppz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really only a 1/2 star”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Rude host and waiters, WAY overpriced and too pretentious. My advice; don't waste your time, go to Mitchells Seafood right around the corner. They have better seafood, lower prices and a friendly staff!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Love5611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Streetside Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Streetside Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing