We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique food - nice portions - left full”

Social Kitchen & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Social Kitchen & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 101 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Woodward
Detroit
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unique food - nice portions - left full”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great place (yes I know I hear about trying to get in). We were told an hour to sit but it only took 15 minutes. Started with a beet salad (who knew beets didn't have to be red) and brussel sprouts (think french fries). I had the skillet meal (unbelieveable tomato sauce covering fish with crispy noodles underneath) with the sweet potato pecan/marshmellow topping. Yum! Dessert was pecan pie (nice size portion) with donuts. WHEN I go back ordering the same exact meal it was that good!

By the way - service was really good!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank micsolom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    78
    13
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
126 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Outstanding drinks, dinners & service! Well Done!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We visited for dinner & drinks with our family and friends! What a fantastic evening! We were greeted and sat quickly and drinks and appetizers came fast! Great cocktails and a nice wine list! Knowledgeable servers and a fast & efficient kitchen staff! Everyone in our group had a great evening and the ambiance in the room was exciting & fun! A great night was had by all!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dja17chaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beauty before age?”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Was never treated soooo poorly before. Upon entering we were told there would be an hour wait , which we were prepared for. However after an hour we were never seated! Was it because we were in our 60's? Not hip and cool? Apparently if you know "someone" you get seated in a timely manner! Never again for us! After 2 hours we left with no guarantee of getting seated!.... So humiliating!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
159 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lively with unusual offerings”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We started with drinks---a Manhattan and a glass of wine---and were already up to $26 with tip. But it wasn't too pricey of an evening. My wife, a vegetarian, had the crispy Brussels sprouts and a kale salad. I had the southern favorite, chicken and waffles. Later we had homemade doughnuts, a tasty indulgence at $7.00. Everything was good and our server was great. He even checked to see who would be working the next day we should ask for if we returned for brunch. The atmosphere was bustling, in a good way. We liked it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GPsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
116 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“bad experience”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Good drinks/bar.
Bad experience, never seated after 3+ hours, lied to/ignored by hostesses multiple times. No reservations. Mistreated so we walked. No comments about the food.
Never again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank revengeofaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Social Kitchen & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Social Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing