We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the Basics - but what we needed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were in Birmingham for the 2012 World Series. The hotel was clean, simple and small. The Wi-Fi wasn't great, but worked. We never tried the continental breakfast. We were within walking distance of all the shopping in Birmingham, plus the local Kroger.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kermit2945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 156 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

My stay was only one night... Was a little nervous because both phones in the room had no ringtone...
The room was very warn...
Pros: good walking distance to bars, grocery store, fridge in room, 24 hour gym
Cons: no van to transport you around the area, the bed had no support, while the gym was 24 hour is had very very old elliptical, treadmill and bicycle..
Good for a night

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bprimadona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband and I came out of state for a wedding that was held nearby. We got a room for 2 days on the weekend. The second night after the wedding we went back to our room and noticed that the hallways to our room were very warm. When we got to our room we noticed that the A/C had not been working. The room stayed in the 80's all night. The night manager told us that they have been having issues with the new A/C's that were installed. He was very sorry, but was unable to put us in another room (he has already relocated other tenants). We left extra early (3am because we couldn't sleep) and left for the airport. I have called every single day to talk to a manager about this, because I don't feel that we should have to pay for the room on the second night or at least get comped. I've left messages and voicemails. Today I was told that the manager who can help us out works from 8-3, this means that every time that I've called she was on duty! Now I won't be able to hear something back until Monday when she comes back in. This is really poor management. I already received the bill on my credit card, but this is absolutely ridiculous. I would not recommend this hotel to any of my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dirk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear Dirk D,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

It is what it is. A very basic hotel that includes free parking, free wifi, and a free breakfast in a small room. While the rooms are kept very cool the halls are very hot and the room safes do not all work (others told me they had the same problem). There is no swimming pool for the summer months but you can keep lots of beverages in your own small room refrigerator. The bathrooms are in need of refurbishing. Stay for one night, two tops.

Room Tip: It's all basically the same as there are no real views anywhere. Just stay away from rooms near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Hello:

Thank you for your review. Belatedly, I wanted to let you know that we have begun our renovations, and all areas of the hotel will be addressed. Please give us a try when you are in the Birmingham area! We would appreciate the chance to show you our hospitality!

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I have stayed here a few different times and I would recommend it to someone who is on a budget. The rooms are good and the service was okay. The reason I am giving this a 3/5 is because of the noise in the building. The A/C system is really outdated and it will keep you up at night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awesomereviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear awesomereviews,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what feel below your expectations. I'm deeply sorry for any inconveniences experienced because of the AC unit.

We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve.If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, Please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Haven't stayed in a Holiday Inn in many years but chose this one due to location near hospital where a family member was staying. I usually choose Hilton, Hyatt, or Marriott properties. Computer at front desk wasn't working when I arrived. Desk clerk said it hadn't worked in three days. Luckily I had a copy of my reservation so he checked me in. Bathroom door did not close securely. Carpet needed cleaning. Window curtain not secure on one side, so came loose when I tried to close it. No name amenities. Breakfast didn't look appealing so I skipped it. For convenience to hospital I MIGHT consider staying here again, but I plan to check out other options first.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bertha55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear Bertha55,

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. We are glad you found the location of our hotel convenient. It is unfortunate that you were not satisfied with your stay. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

About what I would expect from a fairly recent/newish Holiday Inn Express. Rooms were ok, no complaints. The staff were very helpful about giving directions, making dinner recommendations, wake up calls, etc. A bit more expensive than I expected for a Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProfessorJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Dear ProfessorJS,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good and the opportunities to improve. We hope you enjoyed your vacation and are glad to hear you were happy with the hotel accommodations and our friendly staff. Whilst I am pleased with the really good comments, I truly value your feedback as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Thank you again for your review. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27707195

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.3 mi away
The Townsend Hotel
The Townsend Hotel
#1 of 2 in Birmingham
946 reviews
1.8 mi away
Somerset Inn
Somerset Inn
#10 of 17 in Troy
216 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Detroit Troy
2.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham

Address: 35270 Woodward Ave, Birmingham, MI 48009-0935
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $118 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever your reason for visiting this beautiful Detroit suburb, the Holiday Inn Express® Detroit - Birmingham hotel's location in the Detroit metro area is sure to transform an ordinary trip into an extraordinary experience. Situated in the heart of downtown Birmingham, these accommodations are a perfect home base from which to work or explore popular Michigan highlights. Corporate guests can meet deadlines using free wired and Wi-Fi access and a 24-hour Business Center. Our partner, the state-of-the-art Birmingham Conference Centre, offers tech-savvy meeting facilities for large groups. Beaumont Hospital and major companies, such as Bank of America and Certified Restoration Dry Cleaning Network, are within five miles for effortless travel. If you're here for fun, the hotel's Detroit metro area location enables you to chill out at the largest polar bear exhibit at the Detroit Zoo or spend a day with dinosaurs at the Cranbrook Institute of Science. You can enjoy a day of retail therapy at Somerset Collection's 180 shops or a luxurious movie experience at Uptown Palladium Theatre. During your stay at this gorgeous hotel with a boutique attitude, you can begin every morning with a delicious free, hot breakfast, and end it with an invigorating workout in the 24-hour Fitness Center. If you're planning a trip to Birmingham, Michigan, please call the hotel's wonderful staff to book now. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing