We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, but old and outdated hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Birmingham
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good location, but old and outdated hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

The location is very convenient for walking to the shops of Birmingham, but the hotel is very dated and run down. The staff was pleasant, but not enough to overcome the many deficiencies of the rooms which are dingy and worn. The rooms are not very quite and it's easy to hear too much noise in the hallways or outside (especially a problem if you're on the side overlooking the main entrance). Everything from the old TVs and limited outlets to the weak excuse for an exercise room shows that this hotel is in desperate need of a full renovation. It's not very expensive, but you should explore other area options.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTripHelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    32
    32
    16
    8
See reviews for
27
21
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

A great building that fits into Birmingham. Very classic. Alison and Lisa were fantastic, taking care of us even without their computers up and running. Very creative coming up with solutions on the spot. We were very pleased with the entire staff and our stay. Breakfast was awesome! Kitty in the Kitchen was super nice and took great care of us. Our room was clean, updated, and had a nice flat screen TV.

Overall the customer service was TOP NOTCH!

Room Tip: Ask for an Executive or a corner room. Those are the best! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed at the hotel recently and a pair of valuable earrings was stolen from my suitcase. Admittedly, I forgot to put them in the safe. After returning home I found the jewelry bag had been opened (I ended up wearing the same earrings the whole trip and never opened the bag), costume jewelry strewn across the suitcase and the earrings gone. It took two days for the hotel owner/manager to call me back. She said nothing had ever been stolen from the hotel. She did say she would look and get back to me in three days. She did not and refused my calls. I had to call the corporate headquarters to get her to respond. When she did call she said the computer was broken and she could not track who had entered the room using the key swipe system. In addition, she refused to write a note stating that the earrings were missing from the room so that I could file an insurance claim. I did end up filing a police report. Corporate Holiday Inn Express is fairly non responsive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nancy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Crappy TV, old plumbing, measly breakfast...this hotel is lame. You are better off -and pay less money - at the nearby Hilton Garden Inn or The Somerset Inn. This one is to be avoided.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank le_fino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

What an absolute dump. No heat (45 degree night), called at the desk at 2 am, after waking up freezing, they said "too bad —we are booked", water did not drain in bathroom sink, no bathtub stopper piece to plug for bath, electrical plugs not working, only one available to use, all around stains and a strange red stain in the bathroom tile and wall. Did not compensate me, manager, "Shannon" a very arrogant and strange woman, finally (I had an important meeting early —took a shower in a freezing bathroom) moved me to a room two doors down, it was very shabby and again, tiles were black moldy and dirty in the bath, unpleasant and not worth a quarter of the money. Stay away if you can. I heard the contractor outside the room saying what a mess the plumbing is

Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
8 Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

This comfortable hotel was the perfect spot to stay for family in town for an event. The staff is gracious and helpful, the rooms comfortable and the breakfast welcome each morning. It is on Woodward Ave which is a main road into downtown Detroit and all the possible sites to visit there. Birmingham is a compact, delightful city to wander around, see a movie and get a meal. It is only a block away.

Room Tip: Join HI Priority Club. Call hotel directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyJK246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Staff was pleasant, but the hotel is old and it shows. My room had a very moldy smell when I walked in, the mattress was soft, the advertised in-room safe did not work, and the bathtub would not drain while taking a shower. When I asked to be moved, the other rooms they showed me had their own set of problems. The only upside was that the room was quiet. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cam027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.3 mi away
The Townsend Hotel
The Townsend Hotel
#1 of 2 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
2.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kingsley Inn Detroit-Bloomfield Hills
Kingsley Inn Detroit-Bloomfield ...
#1 of 1 in Bloomfield Hills
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.8 mi away
Somerset Inn
Somerset Inn
#13 of 17 in Troy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham

Property: Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham
Address: 35270 Woodward Ave, Birmingham, MI 48009-0935
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever your reason for visiting this beautiful Detroit suburb, the Holiday Inn Express® Detroit - Birmingham hotel's location in the Detroit metro area is sure to transform an ordinary trip into an extraordinary experience. Situated in the heart of downtown Birmingham, these accommodations are a perfect home base from which to work or explore popular Michigan highlights. Corporate guests can meet deadlines using free wired and Wi-Fi access and a 24-hour Business Center. Our partner, the state-of-the-art Birmingham Conference Centre, offers tech-savvy meeting facilities for large groups. Beaumont Hospital and major companies, such as Bank of America and Certified Restoration Dry Cleaning Network, are within five miles for effortless travel. If you're here for fun, the hotel's Detroit metro area location enables you to chill out at the largest polar bear exhibit at the Detroit Zoo or spend a day with dinosaurs at the Cranbrook Institute of Science. You can enjoy a day of retail therapy at Somerset Collection's 180 shops or a luxurious movie experience at Uptown Palladium Theatre. During your stay at this gorgeous hotel with a boutique attitude, you can begin every morning with a delicious free, hot breakfast, and end it with an invigorating workout in the 24-hour Fitness Center. If you're planning a trip to Birmingham, Michigan, please call the hotel's wonderful staff to book now. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing