We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Choices Nearby”
Review of Townhouse

Townhouse
Ranked #35 of 113 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: "Known for being home to "Detroit's Best Burger" or often times as "The Hottest Dive in Town". The Townhouse menu features inventive, classic, all-American, wholesome comfort food, made with the kind of farm fresh ingredients, you won't find anywhere else. The bar is stocked seasonally with colorful glass bottles of infused fruit and spiced vodkas and citrus and pear tequilas. The wine list is eclectic and impressive and the extensive beer menu is as good as it gets. The Mint Julep is to Kentucky what the Basil Smash is to Detroit. Made famous by this most spectacular, modern yet rustic brasserie-style eatery that expands come summertime from its cozy dining room onto a large glistening garden-style patio. Located in the heart of one of Metro Detroit's most fashionable neighborhoods, the menu is "All-American Goodness" and the brunch is out of this world. If you like to people watch, this is the place. Townhouse is open (7) days a week serving lunch, dinner and, brunch on the weekends." "Birmingham's Townhouse Bistro has comfort class ... ... And a burger that reminds us of some Pulp Fiction dialog...." -The Metro Times
Reviewed May 29, 2018

One thing I will say for this place is that it always seems to be open even on Sunday afternoons and holidays when many places in town are closed. I find it pricey for what it has to offer. We drooped over $100 on two burgers, two drinks and an appetizer, Not bad, but still.
One complaint: It has outdoor seating, but there are too few heaters to really make it practical in Michigan weather.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1Rahhalatun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 113 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2018 via mobile

Stopped at the Townhouse after shopping on a beautiful day, sat on the patio area. Had the Salmon and Brussels Sprouts. THE ABSOLUTE BEST!!!!

The pic prob does no justice, in fact prob looks crazy but the taste is unbelievable. I’ve tried the sprouts at other restaurants but no one has come close to these. The sweet and vinegary taste is delicious.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Kellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2018

Went for a drink after a dinner meeting. The bartender spent the entire time flirting with four guys who were seated at the bar.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Service
Thank Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018 via mobile

Overpriced, not worth it at all.
We waited our table for 20 minutes and after that we waited our food for more than 30 minutes. That’s can be ok if the food is pretty decent but it’s not at all. 15 bucks for a dish with 2 eggs, some salmon a piece of bread and some salad ? I mean, I knew the price and I knew the ingredients but, come on, are we in a downtown restaurant right? Service was very careless and sloppy, probably because we didn’t order super expensive drinks or whatever. Anyway it was my first and last lunch here - and only because the restaurant in front of this was packed of peeps as usual, and I can easily understand the reason!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank dorac328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2018

Showed up for Sunday brunch, Had a bloody Mary (spicy / but not too spicy) came in a small mason jar type glass, and it was really good, I had the BLT-N-A with and egg. It was wonderful. Came with an excellent side salad. Sat at the bar service was good, Thanks Paige!!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank pfaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Townhouse also viewed

 
 

Been to Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing