We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problems staying here!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area)
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Birch Run
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“No problems staying here!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed here for one night on route to DTW airport. Ideal place to stay. Lots off restaurants around here and the outlet mall across the street.
Whats not to like.
The Breakfast is one of the best i have in a USA HIEX and the rooms are standard HIEX.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressBirchRun, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area), responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear David K,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express in Birch Run, MI. I'm very pleased to hear that you had an ideal stay. Thank you for such positive feedback and we hope to see you again when you are back in the United States.

Kind Regards,
Stephanie - Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    93
    32
    8
    9
See reviews for
88
76
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel and got the upgraded Jacuzzi Room. I highly recommend spending the extra money to get the upgrade! The room was clean, quiet and modern. Breakfast was great…. just your typical continental breakfast. Staff was friendly and helpful. The location is the best thing about the hotel. Close to shopping, a decent restaurant and Frankenmuth.

Room Tip: Get the jacuzzi room! Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheProbst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressBirchRun, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area), responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Probst,

Thank you for most recent stay with us and taking the time to offer feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Jacuzzi suite and that it was worth the price paid. We hope to see you again when you are in the area.

Kind Regards,
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Check-in was a breeze and friendly. Ask for coupons, for outlet and christmas stores shopping. Good breakfast, but they had a hard time keeping eggs warm. The biggest drawback for us and the couple traveling with us was the very, very cold bathroom floor. The bathroom doors have a spring hinge that swings door shut. Hence, in cold weather there is no heat in the bathroom other than the heat lamp in the ceiling. There is a warning sign on the bathroom door not to prop the door open with the heat lamp on. Both of our rooms (first floor) had bathroom doors burned on both sides. The temperature outside when we were there averaged 25 degrees. Also, you cannot open the door to the bathroom if someone is sitting on the commode. I think the spring hinge was added because if the bathroom door is not closed anyone sitting on the bed can see what is going on in the bathroom from the mirror over the sink in the entryway.
The exercise bike seat has been fastened in one place; it cannot be adjusted for different heights. The same was true of the weight lifting machine. The treadmill was in good operating order.

Room Tip: bathrooms are probably warmer on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magisjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressBirchRun, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area), responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear magisjim,

Thank you for choosing out hotel to stay at during your trip to Birch Run. We deeply apologize for the shortcomings you may have endured during your stay. During busy weekends in Birch Run there are times where we have a difficult time keeping up with the supply and demand of our hot breakfast items. All excuses aside, this is one of our main focus areas to work on in the New Year. Furthermore, I apologize for the inconvenience of the bathroom floor being cold and the spring hinges that close the door. We have applied the hinges for safety purposes of the heat lamp in the ceiling. We value your constructive feedback as this is imperative to our daily operations and keeping our guests happy. We hope to see you again in the near future, thank you again for your feedback in regards to your stay.

Kind Regards,
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

A friend and I booked a couple of nights at Holiday Inn Express in Birch Run while we were on a weekend girls shopping getaway and we were very pleased with our accommodations there.

Check in was friendly and efficient (which was much appreciated after the 5 hour drive!) and the room was clean and comfortable. We were located on the 2nd floor close to the ice machine mentioned by another reviewer and although we did hear some racket from the machine, we didn't find it to be too loud or disruptive. If anything, it was nice to be so close to the elevator, particularly when we were bringing in packages after a day of shopping.

The hot options at breakfast were a nice touch!

Overall, my friend and I felt that the hotel provided good value for the money spent. I'd certainly recommend the HI Express Birch Run to anyone else who might be needing a place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limonadita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressBirchRun, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area), responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Limonadita,

Thank you so much for your stay with us and such positive feedback. We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again in the future. We are even more happy to hear you were pleased with the cleanliness, comfort-ability, and closeness to local attractions.

Kind Regards,
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Very nice hotel. Very clean and fantastic hot breakfast buffet. No complaints other that the swimming pool water was warm like bath water. If i wanted to be hot in the pool I would use the hot tub......Other than That A+.....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressBirchRun, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area), responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your most recent stay with us. Im glad you enjoyed your stay, even though the pool water was too warm. I understand how a warm pool can be an irritant because one would think that a cool dip in the pool makes the hot tub sound so much better and relaxing afterwards.

Im glad to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and the value of your stay was worthwhile. We appreciate the feedback as this is critical to continual improvement.

Kind Regards,
Stephanie Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The kind of breakfast offered at many American hotels is pretty standard now, but really quite adequate. Bagels, cheese, fruit, yoghurt (far too sweet), pastries (far too sweet), toast, juice, coffee, scary-looking eggs and sausage. But it's included, and really fairly decent.

Friendly staff, nice pool, and a very hard bed with bad pillows. Otherwise, pretty fair, and only about a kilometre from the big Birch Run outlet stores.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressBirchRun, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area), responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear RickKitto,

First let me thank you for your most recent stay with us and for taking the time to review your stay. I apologize for the bed not being as comfortable as preferred, We continually change and flip mattresses so that the life and padding lasts longer, but again I apologize that it was not comfortable for your stay. On another note, I am pleased to hear that the room cleanliness was satisfactory and our employees were friendly and helpful. Feedback is critical to our daily operations, I would like to thank you for your feedback. We take all feedback into consideration while making decisions on future changes.

Kind Regards,
Stephanie Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights very nice and clean , pool was nice heated, whirlpool in room was really nice. Enjoyed going to Frankenmuth. Breakfast was excellent had a big variety. Beds were very comfortable very clean, hotel was really quiet. If I ever come back to this area I will definitely look at staying here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank harleyhoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressBirchRun, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area), responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your most recent stay with us. As feedback is critical to continual improvement of our daily operations, we are ecstatic to hear that your stay with us was very nice. We hope to see you again in the future and thank you again for such positive feedback.

Thank you, Stephanie, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birch Run
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Birch Run/Frankenmuth
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Birch Run
Comfort Inn Birch Run
#4 of 7 in Birch Run
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Marv Herzog Hotel
The Marv Herzog Hotel
#4 of 8 in Frankenmuth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area)
Address: 12150 Dixie Hwy., Birch Run, MI 48415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Birch Run
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Birch Run
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area) Hotel Birch Run
Holiday Inn Birch Run
Birch Run Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing