We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay! Even better breakfast.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area)

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area)
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Birch Run
Certificate of Excellence
Owen Sound
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great stay! Even better breakfast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

First off the breakfast must be commented on. It was excellent and fresh, they had an automatic pancake maker! It was so cool and the pancakes were hot and fresh. Full compliment of hot and cold items, only the coffee was the wrong temperature. We ate at 8am and it was not busy but at 9:15am when we checked out there were over 30 people trying to get breakfast before it closed at 9:30am.

Staff here was friendly and efficient. Rooms were clean and it was a great place to relax after shopping at the outlets. We were away from the elevators which was good because the tweens seemed to congregate there.

Linens were great and the towels did their job. Laundry facilities were good, $1.50 for both the washer and dryer in quarters. Staff are great to ask regarding deals for dinner.

Will return, unless the new Frankenmuth Holiday Inn Express was open and just as good.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wattski80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    93
    32
    8
    9
See reviews for
88
76
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

As always Holiday Inn wins in my book. The hotel was clean. I always sleep very well in Holiday Inn's and this one was excellent. The breakfast bar was great. The area was clean the Manager was helping at the breakfast bar and was very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bkbkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here for just one night in August so we could do some shopping at Birch Run outlet mall and also visiting Frankenmuth. Location is great for that. We had a suite on the first floor and it was conveniently just steps from our car in the parking lot. Kids liked the TV channels I believe they had the Disney channel. Free buffet breakfast was very good as well. Front desk staff also were nice and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jupiter_saturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Our room could have used some touch ups but it was clean and came with a microwave and fridge which was nice. The pool was quite shallow and the towels were tiny. The breakfast was nice - with lots of options. The beds were too bouncy for my taste and the noise from the floor above was a bit annoying. Check in was easy and the staff were friendly. If I was to come again to Birch Run I might try another hotel - but this place was satisfactory.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

very well kept...rooms nice and clean with comfortable beds..breakfast in morning has an ample choice for most travelers..all staff friendly and courteous ...only minor complaint is the WI-FI connection is not the best at times but can live with it..no hesitation in recommending this hotel to any traveling to this area of Michigan

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grouzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Me & Mi Husband actually stayed there before in 2009. Made rsvp 3 months ago, found out that we would be arriving later - so I called the hotel an they said it would be o.k., we didn't want to lose our room (always call). The hotel is clean. Our room was right next to the elevator an suprisingly we didn't hear it all night, alot of activity in the halls (lots of familys for the fest) during our stay, but, that didn't bother us, would have preffered not to be by the elevator (due to safety), but no other rooms available..The bathroom, sheets & pillows (they are wimpy-so bring your own) were clean., bed was comfortable. Our room was decent although the curtains did not close so we had to use mi hair clip to keep them together(window sills were clean...We didn't check out the pool, but it looked clean.. Breakfast was decent, good variety (bacon people, bacon!) . Front desk was friendly, and we enjoyed our stay, 5 mins from Frankenmuth, surounding restaurants and malls, bowling alley 10 mins away. Will most definitly come back again.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows, Don't get a room by the elevator - too many people walking by (safety...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JZMSZCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

It was our 'girls' weekend shopping and I can't say enough about the service at this Holiday Inn. Absolutely everyone on the staff was friendly. Anytime you met one, either at the front desk, hallway, elevator they always smiled and asked if you needed anything. Breakfast was great. They were fully booked on the Aug long weekend, but were constantly refilling the food trays. Had a room for the overflow seating as the breakfast area filled up quite fast. Hot breakfast of scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits, pancakes, bread, buns, etc....
Enjoyed the pool. Bathroom was large and the room had a second sink outside of the bathroom, which came in hand with 4 girls!!!
All in all would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birch Run
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Birch Run/Frankenmuth
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Birch Run
Comfort Inn Birch Run
#4 of 7 in Birch Run
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
5.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area)
Address: 12150 Dixie Hwy., Birch Run, MI 48415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Birch Run
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Birch Run
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area) Hotel Birch Run
Holiday Inn Birch Run
Birch Run Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing