We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food is fresh and always great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victor & Merek's Deli Bakery

Victor & Merek's Deli Bakery
Ranked #3 of 35 Restaurants in Birch Run
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Chapleau, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Food is fresh and always great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Fresh organic greens and delicious food. If you want to eat healthier you can and if you want awesome pizza you can have that too. I loved the different wraps, the hummus platters and the salads. My husband has tried different pizzas and likes them all so far. We will always go back when in the area. Not fancy, just good food

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    32
    11
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheboygan, Michigan
Level Contributor
177 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was our first try of this deli and we were not disappointed. The pizzas were good and the salad delicious. We picked up the food and took it back to our hotel after a long day. It was recommended to me and I am glad it was. If you do wish to take food back to your hotel, however, make sure you have your own paper plates since they do not provide any.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great White North
Level Contributor
89 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Yep, Terrible ... and Expensive, Incompetent Too!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

The Bread is OK, that can be said. But such a rude, cold, inattentive counter-person. The 11/11/ 'Paula E' review was absolutely accurate. I thought the place was expensive, and it WAS: ... because she overcharged us, by $ $2.89 + tax. That's a lot on a $7.89 sandwich with two drinks (she charged us for three drinks, not discovered until we were miles down I-75, thank you).

The 'turkey-bacon-club' only lacked two items - turkey, well, ok, it was what passes for turkey, but for a fancy, pricey place like this they should NOT be using 'MACHINE PROCESSED factory turkey, so, OK, it really did have TOTALLY LAME TURKEY but there was almost NO BACON ! Come on, folks, why be so cheap? For the premium price charged, PUT ON MORE THAN ONE (1) SLICE OF BACON!

The good news, in addition to the bread, ... we're alive, we didn't contract any serious illness. Other than that, do you think we will EVER go back? We're only talking a place to eat lunch (the beer and wine they sell here, this place is so ODD, too bad you won't ever see how lame it all is, ... because you read this review !!!), the world did not end, but honest, there is so much competition, good and bad, in the immediate vicinity of this place, do yourself a favor .... YOU DO NOT NEED TO EVER GO HERE, so don't!

{Gee, how do you think he really felt about this place?}

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank essexofwessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamil A, Owner at Victor & Merek's Deli Bakery, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Hello, We appreciate the feedback, but are you sure you ate at Victor & Merek's? Our Turkey Bacon Clubs come with 5 ounces of Carolina Smoked Turkey Breast and 3 Slices of hickory smoked bacon. We continually strive to have accommodating staff as well quality of product. We know that sometimes things are not perfect, but if you come in on the heals of someone else's negative maybe perception is masked. Your comment about "contracting illness" is completely unwarranted as we have for 20 years been rated in the highest regard by the Saginaw County Health Department and we are will to share the reports. I am not trying to push the blame by any means as we know that sometimes things slip through the cracks or mistakes happen, but we encourage you to really take a second look. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanton, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't go.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Walked in and we were the only people in the restaurant at lunch on 11/11 which was a Monday. We asked a few questions about the food and the young lady at the counter was very unfriendly. She even rolled her eyes at one of our questions. Just then some other people came in and we backed away and left. I very much dislike rude minimum wage workers that will probably never be more than that but will never figure out why and spend a lifetime blaming others. I will not spend my earnings at this restuarant, listen up management and don't hire just another warm body.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamil A, Owner at Victor & Merek's Deli Bakery, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you sincerely for your comments. This type of behavior is not condoned and if we are talking about the same restaurant we are sorry that you did not get a chance to try our products. We hope you give us a try as we have a large following of repeat consumers. Honestly, this behavior surprises us as we usually get rave reviews on our hospitality as well as our unique menu items. Your comments "don't go" are surprising as well since you did not even try our food. We encourage you to give us another try and please note that although as you stated some of our staff make close to minimum wage, they work hard and have families to take care of just like you and I. Slightly harsh, but maybe someone was having a bad day?
Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
113 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Purchased a couple sandwiches and took them back to the hotel. We were very pleased with the quality and price, don't forget to get your coupon from the book from in hotel lobby.


Helpful?
Thank ElizLv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victor & Merek's Deli Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Victor & Merek's Deli Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing