We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Birch Run
Reviewed August 27, 2006

Well they put us in an smoking room after we had reserved a non-smoking room. We have two little kids so this smell was awful for them, thankfully we found things to do outside the room, but the front desk said they were full and this was the only room. So more or less tough luck to us, no sorry's out of them. The gal running the front desk in the evening needs a serious attitude adjustment. The blankets had burn holes in them and the bottom of the tub was pealing away. Other than that things seemed clean.

The pool is small only 26 people allowed in at a time. It seemed clean while we were there. We happened to go and have it to ourselves but walking by after dinner it was a mad house of kids everywhere. The tiles around the pool are VERY slippery, this is a lawsuit waiting to happen, even I could barely walk on them, my toddler feel down every time he walked.

It was quiet, we didn't hear people or sound in the hallways while we were trying to sleeps. Lots of door noise between 9-10, people coming in the the night, but it was quiet for the rest of the night. Our room did not have the HBO or all the kid channels that is was supposed to have.

The breakfast was better than having to go out with two kids to a restuant and wait in line, when we had early morning plans. There was coffee, juice (apple and orange), oatmeal, bread, hard boiled eggs, 3 kinds of cereal, hard as rock bagels, eggo waffles, boxed doughnuts, muffins, apples and oranges. This breakfast looked nothing like the picture they are promoting on the web site, with all the fresh melon, grapes, coffee cakes, and homemade breads and pastries. We picked this hotel over others that were $30 cheaper based on thinking we were getting a better breakfast out of the deal. Check around the area, most of the hotel offer this breakfast and the hotels are cheaper.

We would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JCNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

898 - 904 of 907 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2005

Makes those cruise ship disasters look tolerable. Our phone didn't work, great for keeping in touch with family. Then no hot water for the entire third floor. Bathroom has gaps and cracks in ceramic tile, our daughter cut her foot on it. Front desk Manager could care less about any concerns you had. Hot tub is a bacteria nightmare, is the water supposed to be this cloudy ?

Spend the extra few bucks for another local hotel, lots to choose from.

Not sure who signed all of the stars photos in the lobby, but they sure couldn't have stayed at that hotel !!!

Never to return, from Dearborn MI.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DVR64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2005

We stayed 2 nights at the Birch Run Country Inn & Suites - 5/6-5/8/05. The hotel staff was friendly. Our room was very clean, bathroom was very clean and shower was excellent (pressure and temp). We enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub - and even had it all to ourselves during the mid-afternoon. I sent my boys down for extra towels and pillows and we had them right away. I think you may wait a little if you need them to deliver, but we had the opportunity to get them ourselves. Continental breakfast - the usual things you would expect, but all fresh and good. Location is right off the highway - lots of restaurants nearby, huge Outlet mall across the street and Frankenmuth within a short drive. Very family oriented - but also a great place for adults. Cost was competitive with other hotels. We have stayed at Country Inn & Suites in other cities and they have a great track record with us. Recommend if you're looking for a clean place to stay in this area. We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Debbie978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2005

my husband and i have stayed at country inns about 4 times a year for 2 years now to get away and shop. the staff are very friendly the rooms are clean.if you need anything the staff are always helpful.I would refer anyone of my friends to this hotel and have.we'll be going back for years to come.

4  Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2005

Was booked into "the last room in the hotel" which was a whirlpool suite. I was appalled. There was spilled, hardened wax all over the carpet, someone's clipped fingernail on the floor in the corner, holes in the bedspread. Bed pillows were flat and tiny. Overall, the room was a mess and this was supposed to be a 'suite'??? I marched right back to the front desk and demanded a refund. The clerk didn't act surprised, didn't apologize and didn't try in any way for customer satisfaction. The windows to the (ground floor) room were unlocked, I wonder if someone snuck in and used it? I would prefer to think that than to believe that they would actually try to offer such a ramshackle room to guests. I hope the regular rooms are better than their "suite".

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Barnkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, IL
14
Reviewed May 8, 2004

Stayed here several times in the past, BUT will look elsewhere next time. Holes in the blankets, lightbulbs missing from the floor lamp, toothpaste(I hope) smeared on the bedspread. In general this property is not being maintained. What used to be a very clean, comfortable, and affordable place to stay, is now rundown and on the dirty side.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2004

Really enjoyed our stay in Birch Run. Hotel was great, good breakfast, excellent location for shopping, restaurants. (Country Inn & Suites)

4  Thank Georginian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birch Run
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Birch Run/Frankenmuth
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Birch Run
Comfort Inn Birch Run
#4 of 8 in Birch Run
289 reviews
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
6.1 mi away
The Marv Herzog Hotel
The Marv Herzog Hotel
#4 of 8 in Frankenmuth
523 reviews
8.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bridgeport/Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run

Address: 12112 S Beyer Rd, Birch Run, MI 48415-8368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Birch Run
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Birch Run
Price Range: $71 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Birch Run
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run Hotel Birch Run
Country Inn Birch Run
Birch Run Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing