We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Birch Run
Bad Axe, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Totally disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2009

We booked a king jacuzzi room here for our 25th anniversary weekend get-away. We have stayed at this hotel many times over the years, and always loved this place. I read the "bedbug" reviews, and still was not deterred, figuring that probably was just an isolated incident. But I think something has seriously changed with this hotel. We arrived about 9pm. No problems checking in, but the room we had was awful. First thing I noticed was lint all around the corners of the carpet, along with an empty pop bottle laying on the floor, next to the bed. There was actual DIRT on the side of the jacuzzi, that I could wipe off with a washcloth. The wall near the one end table was stained with some kind of liquid (an obvious splash)...and by the other end table, in the corner, were empty wrappers and other garbage. We immediately went to the front desk, and they had one of the girls come down to vacuum and clean up the mess.....but too late. We told them we expected the room to be clean when we GOT there. We asked for our money back...which they gave us, with many apologies....and stayed in Frankenmuth instead (but no jacuzzi that night, which bummed me out).
This hotel is either under new management, or they have hired maids that just don't give a sh**. Either way, it's bad for business, and we won't stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stainsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    207
    121
    66
    42
See reviews for
314
254
6
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
westbloom feild
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2008

this was one of the best hotels i have been to in a long time. let me first tell you about the great service this hotel has to offer the front desk are fabulous very nice and kind and all the staff are great. the main thing i like about this hotel is its the only one straight across from the outlet mall i don't no that area that well so it was very nice to have that close to all of me and my family. the pool is so good because i have a 8 year old and he loved it!!!!!!! i mean its at the best price to. i mean times are hard but at this hotel the price is right and the service its great. the best time ever!!!!! hope you will have a chance to see it for your self!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank advisor103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2008

We had a girls weekend for shopping, there were 5 of us that stayed in a suite with an extra cot. The beds were clean, the bathroom was clean too. Fridge in room. Noticed stuff on the walls, however overall the closet hotel to outlet mall. Walking distance to all amenties. Would stay again. Breakfast was fine, nothing special, good enough for "on the run". No bugs in our room!

  • Liked — Close to outlet mall
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank skatingrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2008

BED BUGS.
Room 213.
On the first night of our stay, we awoke to pokes and nibbles, turned the lights on and found thousands of tiny red bugs crawling along our pillows and blankets amongst blood splattered on the sheets. (When bed bugs have eaten, they become engorged and red with human blood...in our sleep we had smashed some of them in scratching and rolling over.)

Upon searching for assitance from the hotel staff, we were greeted with a front desk clerk (after 45 minutes of phone calls and walking back and forth to the front desk) that appeared from a closed room with a man that did not work for the hotel and her shirt buttoned crooked, no appologies as to our wait or her whereabouts. The gentelman continued his stay behind the desk and proceded to help her with her morning duties, constantly notifying patrons that he was not an employee but merely there to help her out. Unprofessional is an insufficient explanation.

The hotel manager of this particular franchise was combative, unsympathetic, and treated the people that confronted him with disdain and frequent interuptions. He was the rudest hospitality professional that we have ever encountered. He told our group that we were welcome to go elsewhere after 11 years of repeated visits and he would not comp the rooms in their entirety, but would only compensate for the room containing the bugs.

To salt the wound, the ten women in our group were forced to combine ourselves into two rooms with double beds. The nature of our trip was an annual Christmas shopping outing. The thousands of dollars in merchadise that was in the rooms will have to be treated. RESEARCH HAS INDICATED THAT BED BUGS CAN LIVE TWELVE MONTHS WITHOUT A MEAL.

Needless to say, we will not be returning next year.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank nellesplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, ON
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2008

We stayed here the first few times we went shopping in Michgan. (We make 2 trips a yr). We found the location excellent, the rooms tidy and the pool clean. Continental breakfast was pretty standard. The front desk could be more attentive though. There was only one person at the front desk we would even bother speaking to since everyone else was so uninterested in our questions/concerns/comments. This was our last stay at this hotel.

  • Liked — It's close proximity to shopping
  • Disliked — front desk staff!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank works4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2008

We awoke in the morning to find a bug in our 5 year old's bed - upond further investigation we discovered it was in fact a BED BUG!! -- We then looked in our bed and found several more. We spoke to the hotel manager about the situation and he seemed to take it all in stride "these things happen, they could be anywhere, don't worry" (it didn't seem to be new information to him!) I don't know about you but when I wake up to bugs in my bed I DO worry! It wasn't until the 3rd conversation with the manager that he very kindly cleared our room bill!
Apart from the BUGS, the next morning I noticed the sofa table in the loby was mile high with dust. (the table was a natural stain so that shows how long it must have been since it was dusted! Normally a day or two - or even for the sake of argument lets say a week - of not dusting would not show the dust as badly as it did that morning. That just makes me wonder about the cleaning routines of the rest of the hotel if the table in the middle of the hotel lobby was that bad!
Also, we had initially booked a double room however once there discovered the double room did not have a fridge. Our other son is 4 months and we needed a fridge for all his bottles I had premade before leaving home. The only way to get a fridge or access to a fridge (we were welcome to put our bottles in the kitchen fridge at the hotel however it was locked at a certain time and would not have access to them - a lot of good that would do us at 3 am!) was to upgrade to a king size room - which wasn't great because our 5 year old wanted to be in the "same" room as us (the king rooms are slightly divided) But that was the least of our problems!!
We do NOT recommend this hotel to others - unless of course you like bugs in your bed!!!

  • Liked — It was close to the outlet stores
  • Disliked — BED BUGS
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank travel685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONTARIO
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2008

My wife and I stayed here, while on a March Break shopping trip. Overall I would say that the hotel was good in terms of room size and amenities. We stayed in a non-smoking suite, which was definitely in need of a thorough cleaning. The door frames were filthy and there was left over food in the fridge from the previous occupants....gross. The employees at the front desk were more concerned with ordering a pizza than getting us checked in. Otherwise the place was suffient, and is located extremely close to the mall and restaurants. The continental breakfast was decent, but you have to keep in mind that it is a continental breakfast and not a buffet style. I would not recommend tipping the cleaning staff, because it did not motivate them enough to clean our bathroom properly after the first night. If they would clean the place better, it could definitely get a better review.

  • Liked — The room was big with a seperate sitting room.
  • Disliked — Dirty, dirty, dirty.........
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CANTRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birch Run
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Birch Run/Frankenmuth
6.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Birch Run
Comfort Inn Birch Run
#4 of 7 in Birch Run
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
6.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
6.1 mi away
The Marv Herzog Hotel
The Marv Herzog Hotel
#4 of 8 in Frankenmuth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run
Address: 12112 South Beyer Road, Birch Run, MI 48415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Birch Run
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Birch Run
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Birch Run
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run Hotel Birch Run
Country Inn Birch Run
Birch Run Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing