We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“priced ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Big Rapids

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Super 8 Big Rapids
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Big Rapids
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    60
    63
    46
    40
See reviews for
129
32
26
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed there this past weekend with my daughters, my son plays hockey at Ferris State, so I come up often the last 4yrs. From day one there was problems, Service desk, no one to be found many times, he was outside smoking, calling phone as directions say, no one answers, I had to walk down hallway to find someone and then theres the early morning wake up call of the housekeeper banging on doors and yelling housekeeping starting at 10am from desk I was all the way down the hallway by door, check out is at 11am. Then theres the pool totally gross, my girls went into the pool and the scum in the pool and along the sides of pool as well as the smell was aweful. They got out went to hot (cold)tub, the water was very cold. When brought up the housekeeping screaming all the way down hallway and banging on doors, the manager Mr.Patel he told me that they had to get rooms ready for the next people that come in at 1pm. I told him that I paid till 11am and should not have been woke up to screaming and banging. If I wanted to sleep to 10:30am that is my decision not their's to wake me and my children at 10am because they have to clean rooms. Mr. Patel (owner) is very rude and dosen't care about customer service, he's just worried about the next paying customer since his business"is doing bad'" this is what he said to me. I will never stay there again and recommend no one else to stay. It is not a very clean hotel and the employees are very rude and inconsiderate. Management condones this as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlinlnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehul P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Big Rapids, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
We sincerely apologize if you have been put through such an upsetting experience during the time that you chose to stay with us. We are deeply troubled to hear that you’ve had an unpleasant encounter with the staff. It has always been our aim to serve you well, and for that we apologize if we clearly failed to do so. There will be an escalation of this issue, and you can be assured that we will further discuss this very important matter in order to prevent this in the future. We hope that we may be able to serve you again, and give you a far better experience next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANSING
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This place was terrible. Stay anywhere but here. I will never go back. The beds are terrible, drains were both plugged, frig froze my food, mold in the bathroom, furniture had not been dusted or moved, carpets dirty, and on, and on, and on...... breakfast wasn't that good either.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank milandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehul P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Big Rapids, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
We would like to extend our gratitude for helping us in better serving you more by giving us your feedback about our hotel services in total. We sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences incurred during your stay with us. The feedback regarding the room cleanliness and the served breakfast will seriously be put in meticulous assessment and evaluation, so as to prevent such instances to ever occur again. We value your assessment for the points you raised will aid us in pin pointing which areas we need to give more attention to. We hope to give you a far better experience the next time you choose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Big Rapids hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

When the price is low it means "cheap". After waiting almost 15 minutes at the front desk for someone to show up we went to our room. My husband want to rake a shower. After opening the door he discovered two dirty towels hanging on the wall. Upon opening the shower curtain he found hair all over the tub. I went to the front desk and requested a new room and told them why. After getting the new room we discovered that the frig not only didn't work but someone had left popsicles in there that melted and grew mold all over the inside of the freezer. Gross!! Will never stay here again. We certainly got what we paid for.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FerrisStateMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehul P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Big Rapids, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for giving us a chance to improve and excel in the delivery of our services by bringing your concerns to our attention. We sincerely appreciate the time you took to write us a feedback, and we thank you for sharing to us your experience while staying with us. We wish to let you know that your voice has been heard and we will definitely correct the issue that you raised with regards to the room cleanliness and sanitation in total. We continually seek to give our guests the best service there is to offer. We sincerely hope that we may be able to provide you a far better experience should you wish to stay with us again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Rapids
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Big Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Rapids
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Big Rapids
Holiday Inn Big Rapids
#3 of 4 in Big Rapids
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Osceola Grand Hotel
Osceola Grand Hotel
#1 of 1 in Evart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
21.3 mi away
Red Moose Lodge
Red Moose Lodge
#2 of 4 in Baldwin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
5.1 mi away
Two Hats Ranch
Two Hats Ranch
#1 of 1 in Big Rapids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Big Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Big Rapids

Property: Super 8 Big Rapids
Address: 845 Water Tower Rd, Big Rapids, MI 49307-2137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Mecosta County > Big Rapids
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Big Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Big Rapids 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Big Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Big Rapids
Big Rapids Super Eight
Big Rapids Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing