We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff - Tired Facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Big Rapids
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Big Rapids
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pontiac, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff - Tired Facilities”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Room and location were good, and staff was friendly and helpful, but facility seemed tired, especiallly the lobby. Could use lobby refresh and 24 hour coffee station along with a free continental breakfast. Do not seem to get the quality I would expect for the price. The on-site restaurant is no longer part of the Benigans chain

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Big Rapids, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Evony M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased you found our staff to be friendly and the room to be good. We always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    40
    24
    7
    9
See reviews for
37
8
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This has to be the only Holiday Inn left that doesn't at least serve coffee, let alone breakfast in the lobby. The attached restaurant wasn't open for breakfast yet when we left. For over $100 I'd say that's a ripoff, but staying there was out of my control since it was prearranged by our team manager. The in-room coffee pot had old water in the reservoir and a milky film on inside of the bottom of the pot. I had a tight time schedule in the AM so I didn't bother to try to get a replacement.

The front desk was super nice, and the bed was probably the best night sleep I ever got in a hotel, which are the only reasons I didn't give this less stars.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel is sadly in need of major renovations. It is very old and outdated. Housekeeping is not doing their job and that is making it even worse. The jacuzzi had black mold in and around all the jets. The table next to my bed had sticky stuff on it with hair stuck to it, gross!! Both my husband and I had an issue with our eyes in this room. It looked like we had severe pink eye. I even made a Dr appt. but a couple hours after we left my eyes cleared up. It smells musty so I am guessing this hotel may have mold issues. It does not look welcoming on the outside at all and we never saw an HI sign from the road. The rooms are way overpriced for the condition this hotel is in. Everything in it is very cheap. This hotel is giving HI a bad name. My husband always says that my idea of camping is staying at a Holiday Inn. Well camping would be better. Go stay somewhere else. This place needs to be shut down.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onumom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Big Rapids, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear onumom,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and taking the time to write your feedback. It is good to know that you found our location convenient for your needs. I want to assure you that we work very hard to ensure our facilities are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. Please accept my sincerest apology for falling short of your expectations on this day, especially with the room accommodations that you received. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Big Rapids hotels

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I was here for a conference (nice conference facilities) but appeciated the nice, clean, comfortable quiet room! This hotel is very nicely appointed and maintained, and I would recommend it (and eagerly stay here again). The hotel dining option is a Bennigan's; I didn't eat dinner here, but it is a nice, healthy, inexpensive breakfast w/ great service.

Room Tip: Try the side AWAY from the parking lot, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnDG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUDBURY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our second time staying at this hotel and we were not disappointed.

The hotel is well located for the University athletic program. It was quiet, clean and comfortable. It also has a great restaurant on property.

Only reason I did not give it a 5 star rating was because it does not offer continental breakfast, which seems to be the norm. It's not a deal breaker though and we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian-flyer-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Great hotel - good location and very clean. Much better than some of the reviews I've read here. Got a good rate plus 15% off at Bennegins right next door.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tstacy218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed City, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

The Holiday Innis a good place to stay for a conference or big event, but for the highest priced motel/hotel around Big Rapidd, my wife and I felt the rooms and facility needed to be updated. Still, it's the second best place to stay in the Big Rapids area. Country Inn & Suites is a better value.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upnorth37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Rapids
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Rapids
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Big Rapids
205 reviews
18.5 mi away
Osceola Grand Hotel
Osceola Grand Hotel
#1 of 1 in Evart
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Red Moose Lodge
Red Moose Lodge
#1 of 4 in Baldwin
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Big Rapids
Super 8 Big Rapids
#4 of 4 in Big Rapids
277 reviews
5.2 mi away
Two Hats Ranch
Two Hats Ranch
#1 of 1 in Big Rapids
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Big Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Big Rapids

Property: Holiday Inn Big Rapids
Address: 1005 Perry Ave, Big Rapids, MI 49307-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Mecosta County > Big Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Big Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Big Rapids 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Big Rapids is the Big Rapids hotel of choice and is located near the campus of Ferris State University. Our four story, full service hotel offers 118 guest rooms and suites. Enjoy our relaxing indoor pool and whirlpool. Our hotel and conference center features free high-speed wireless Internet. Additionally, the Holiday Inn features 18,000 square feet of meeting space with ballroom seating for 500 for sit down meal functions. 52 Sports bar and kitchen, located on site, is available for room service. Come visit the best Big Rapids hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Big Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Big Rapids Hotel Big Rapids
Big Rapids Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing