We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, so-so food, grubby floors”

Cranker's Coney Island
Ranked #26 of 52 Restaurants in Big Rapids
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Ionia, MI
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great service, so-so food, grubby floors”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stopped by here on a recent excursion. The service was great, our waitress couldn't have been more attentive.
The food was disappointing. The coney sauce tasted like it came from a can, or most of the ingredients came from a can. The dogs themselves were quite tasty, nice quality. Fries were OK.
We were there in mid afternoon, and the floor in particular was a real mess. They could use a little help in the housekeeping department.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ioniashaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    43
    35
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reed City, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“slow service”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Service is really slow. Not impressed. I didnt think the menu was all that great either.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Springs, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“good food, dirty waitresses”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I absolutely love the food here, especially for breakfast. But I was really let down by my waitresses the last two visits. Their hair was greasy, dirty fingernails, and one of them was hanging all over a gentleman at the next table! Maybe it was her spouse, but when you're on the job, keep the PDA's to a minimum!!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Iris981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rapids
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“The Staff is the Best”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We have always received great service and they have delicious breakfasts. The staff is always friendly and they do the best job of keeping your coffee cup full!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank carlleen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Breakfast was ok”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

It was our first time here, so maybe we should not have ordered the pretty pricey breakfast burrito. It was not that good and as I said before, really expensive for what we got. It was just slapped on a plate and served without even a few taco chips or a twist of orange....McDonalds would have been a much cheaper and more filling burrito, I'm sure.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank mousie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cranker's Coney Island also viewed

Big Rapids, Mecosta County
Big Rapids, Mecosta County
 
Big Rapids, Mecosta County
Big Rapids, Mecosta County
 

Been to Cranker's Coney Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing