We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, Comfortable Rooms, Reasonable Price, Lousy Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Big Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I've stayed here multiple times over the past six years, and the hotel is showing its age. The rooms are still larger than most, and they've added a mini-fridge and microwave. The cable TV system is good (Cinemax, HBO, Turner Classic Movies, etc.), the matttresses are very comfortable, and there are plenty of pillows. But the carpeting and wallpaper throughout the hotel needs to be replaced. And the "deluxe" breakfast advertised on the road sign has become false advertising. I used to look forward to a hot breakfast of sausage gravy over real biscuits, or scrambled eggs and sausages. But that's been replaced with a Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwich that you heat in a microwave. And that breakfast sandwich has the thinnest (almost paper-thin) slice of ham I've ever seen! So much for "deluxe." If you really think that a deluxe breakfast starts with a cheap breakfast sandwich, McDonald's is just down the street -- and an Egg McMuffin tastes a whole lot better.

I paid $59 a night (plus tax) for my room, so the hotel is still a good value. And if you travel with Fido, the Quality Inn allows pets (but I'm sure that extra fees are invloved). You're also close to the center of town -- rather than being out near the freeway. And downtown Big Rapids looks almost like it did in the 1970s, so it's a nice place to explore if you enjoy a bit of nostalgia.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tgw51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 223 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

Been stating with the quality inn and suites for a year now and I must say the service and staff and this place is amazing. Thank you all especially Cindy, Randy, Mariah, and VJ you guys are the best and to the amazing housekeeping staff you are the best as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Had a "rewards" room and expected the worse. SURPRISE! We were given a large room, looked like it had just been remodeled - that's how clean it was. Very comfortable bed with extra pillows. Fast, pleasant check in, nice breakfast - well stocked and kept clean.
Being in a college town, was expecting it to be noisy, especially on a commencement week-end. No, it was quiet and an enjoyable night..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dutch49117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Choice Hotels, I expect alot more when I hear that name.

Take a look behind your dresser/nightstand and under the headboards. See all the dust and hair built up! Yuck!

Breakfast service.... if you're serving a hot meal, make sure its hot, not lukewarm.

I didn't enjoy my stay here, the place was dirty and needed upgrades and more organization behind the lobby desk. My coworker said his room smelled of urine!

I would stay again if I had to.

Room Tip: 1st floor or get a suite, because the suites are somewhat cleaner and do not smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed here more than once. The rooms are large and clean. We were in the lower level in the back and there was very little noise. Very convenient to have a fridge and a microwave. Our daughter is attending Ferris and this place is within easy walking distance to both the dorm and the ice arena. The price is very reasonable compared to other hotels in Big Rapids. I found the heater quite noisy, but you could just turn it off. Also, the breakfast has a good variety, but I'd skip the scrambled eggs. The beds were much more comfortable than other places we have stayed,
and I liked having an easy chair. We'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 16BandMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Though our check-in was a little rough, got put in a room where someone was already staying, the situation was fixed. Ended up with a room with 2 "queen" sized beds instead if the king we had reserved. I write "queen" because even though they are called queens they are obviously only full sized. Anyway, it was great to have a room with a fridge and the complimentary breakfast was nice before hitting the road the next morning.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katesses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great location to the Ferris State hockey rink. Go Bulldogs! Spacious and clean room. Good breakfast with a decent selection. They allow pets so this is nice when I want to bring along my babies. Price is excellent and they give a discount for Ferris related visits. I will be attending many hockey games so this will be my new home away from home!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schmidtysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Rapids
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Big Rapids, MI
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Big Rapids
Hampton Inn Big Rapids
#5 of 5 in Big Rapids
20 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Big Rapids
Holiday Inn Big Rapids
#4 of 5 in Big Rapids
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Osceola Grand Hotel
Osceola Grand Hotel
#1 of 1 in Evart
33 reviews
22.2 mi away
Red Moose Lodge
Red Moose Lodge
#1 of 4 in Baldwin
50 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Big Rapids
Super 8 Big Rapids
#3 of 5 in Big Rapids
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 1705 S State St, Big Rapids, MI 49307-2316
Location: United States > Michigan > Mecosta County > Big Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Big Rapids
Price Range: $51 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn & Suites, a Big Rapids hotel walking distance to Ferris State University. Across the street from the Ewigleben Sports Complex! The Muskegon River is just one mile from the hotel and offers outdoor activities like fishing, canoing and tubing. The White Pine Trail is just a short bike ride away. Hunting is available in the surrounding area. Several shops and a variety of restaurants are conveniently located minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Big Rapids
Big Rapids Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing