We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed, not handicapped friendly, breakfast bar small”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Big Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed, not handicapped friendly, breakfast bar small”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My mom is handicapped and was having special tests in Grand Rapids last week and the doctor advised us not to travel far, but we could go about an hour or two, but not all the way back home 4 plus hours. So I read the reviews and called this hotel. I explained from the beginning that I needed adjoining rooms and handicapped accessible. When I called back to confirm my reservations and that they were adjoining rooms on 1st floor for handicapped the manager answered - VJ and he said the original guy gave me an upper floor. (P.S. there is no elevator to the 2nd floor). So he fixed it and promised me adjoining rooms on 1st floor so I could take care of my mother. While still in Grand Rapids and getting ready to leave I called the hotel to once again confirm adjoining rooms, the situation, etc. and Jessica said everything was set and the rooms were together. *****2 hours later when I arrived the front desk man named Matt said our rooms were separate and were not adjoining and there was nothing he could do. The next morning apparently Cindy was ready for me at the front desk and barked at me that the people in the room adjoining would not move out as they were staying another day. I asked then why did Jessica tell me the night before that they were still adjoining and she must have lied in order to get me to spend money still at this hotel and Cindy said she did not lie, she just have just mispoken. Well after going back and forth taking care of my mom and kids it was my worst night ever. Also my daughter got bit in bed by one of those pincher bugs and we could see the rubber did not meet to the ground on the door and probably come in under the door so she also did not sleep the rest of the night. The next morning the breakfast would have been great, except we had to wait in line and there was only 1 waffle maker and 50 people trying to eat in a very small area. They should separate their waffle area and drink area, etc or expand. No room there in the eating area for the disabled in motorized scooters to get to the food either. ####2 - The maids kept knocking from 7:00 a.m. on and when we went to the door they said, "Oh we thought you checked out" and we kept telling them no we didnt and they 15 minutes later they would be back - sucks! Guess they really wanted to get rid of us.

Room Tip: Eat breakfast very early or there is no room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    85
    25
    12
    13
See reviews for
78
53
10
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This hotel is very close to the Ferris State University. This is a clean and quiet hotel. Rooms are nice and big, beds are very comfortable. Bathrooms look newly remodeled. Although we did not use the pool, it is a very nice outside pool. Continental Breakfast was excellant. We will Definitely stay here again !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Clean, quiet hotel in a good location. Nothing fancy but does the trick. Good breakfast in the morning

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LombardJess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

After reading reviews for this hotel, i had my doubts, but was actually surprised. The drawback i found was their breakfast bar. The room was small (we actually couldn't find any place to sit) and the eggs are powdered eggs. YUK. But for a short overnight stay, the room was clean and close to Ferris State University.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PurdueGirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We were doing our Upper Peninsula tour in late May, 2012. Big Rapids was our fourth and last stop before we headed home. My husband wanted to check out their White Pine (Bicycle) Trail. We booked one night, a king-sized suite. It was the best deal of all accommodations that we had made during the trip.

Check-in was friendly and professional. The room was clean, spacious, and orderly. It was not extravagant but pleasant. Everything was working as it was supposed to. The additional blanket requested late in the evening was delivered promptly.

What really floored us was the breakfast the following morning . Their continental breakfast was not just a bit watery coffee and sugary pastries/muffins. It was the real thing which included scramble eggs, sausages, waffles, bagels, cream cheese, yogurts, juices, etc. Just name a few.

It is well situated close to the campus of Ferris. So those who want to check out the university ... This is a very convenient location to stay.

My husband, a bicyclist, and I will definitely be back when we try out their trail and the surrounding scenic drives.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We booked 3 rooms for a Ferris State University Graduation on 5/4/12. We had booked them in January and after calling all over, they were the ONLY rooms left in Big Rapids. We were aprehensive since the rooms were only $90 and that even included the tax and we thougtht ..."Oh boy...what are we in for?" But we were desperate so we booked the last 3 rooms. We arrived about 1pm (check-in was at 3pm) and even though they were super busy and fully booked they did everything they could and within a matter of minutes, and a couple phone calls, they got us checked into 2 of our rooms so we could get dressed for the 3:30 ceremony. They even offered us coffee while we waited. They were super gracious and helpful and made of us feel like we were the only guests. And believe me, we weren't! The rooms were well maintained and very clean. The next morning the free continental breakfast consisted of eggs, sausage, cereal, toast, bagel, yogurt, danishes, juice and probably a few other things I'm forgetting. The lady that took care of the filling and the cleaning up was so cheery and polite. Our daughter was running late and the breakfast time was coming to a close. I could see she was starting the clean up and I was getting nervous but this nice woman said "don't worry, take your time...don't rush her. I'll leave the food out". That has never happened to us before. At other places we have stayed they sometimes start cleaning up early to give the "hint" and then glare at you if you linger over coffee. Everyone one of the staff we came in contact with were extremely pleasant and helpful. And did I mention the price of the rooms were all less than $90 each. A real bargain!! We would stay there again in a heartbeat. I travel for business quite frequently and the company puts me up in nothing less than a Hyatt or Sheraton in the $300 a night range so its not like I have nothing to compare this to. The Big Rapids Quality Inn may not have 900 square foot rooms or an ocean view but thier service is right up there with the Resort Hotels. i just wish I would have asked for the names of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nan49684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Ledge, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We had three adults in our room and it was very spacious! The room was very clean as well. The location is great if you are in Big Rapids to visit Ferris State University. There is a basic complimentary breakfast in the morning. Our only issue was the temperature of the room...when you close the curtains, all of the heat blew up into the curtains and the room was cold when we woke up. Easily fixable if we had noticed earlier!

Room Tip: They have rooms with doors that lead to a hallway and some that lead directly outside, if that is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Rapids
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Rapids
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Big Rapids
Holiday Inn Big Rapids
#3 of 5 in Big Rapids
116 reviews
18.7 mi away
Osceola Grand Hotel
Osceola Grand Hotel
#1 of 1 in Evart
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Red Moose Lodge
Red Moose Lodge
#1 of 4 in Baldwin
46 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Big Rapids
Super 8 Big Rapids
#4 of 5 in Big Rapids
286 reviews
4.1 mi away
Two Hats Ranch
Two Hats Ranch
#1 of 1 in Big Rapids
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 1705 S State St, Big Rapids, MI 49307-2316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Mecosta County > Big Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Big Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn & Suites, a Big Rapids hotel walking distance to Ferris State University. Across the street from the Ewigleben Sports Complex! The Muskegon River is just one mile from the hotel and offers outdoor activities like fishing, canoing and tubing. The White Pine Trail is just a short bike ride away. Hunting is available in the surrounding area. Several shops and a variety of restaurants are conveniently located minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Big Rapids
Big Rapids Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing