We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Rapids
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Big Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great staff and a great stay”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This hotel was very conveniently located right off the highway. The room had both a fridge and microwave; being across a parking lot from a Meijer, we made use of both and saved some money on food the two nights we stayed.

The doors to the guest rooms are HEAVY. If you are older, they may be difficult to open! But they certainly kept the room quiet. The room smelled fresh and clean and the beds were very comfy. Pantene and Vaseline bath products. The bathroom was also very clean with enough towels, but they were a bit scratchy.

Two cons for the room: The flat screen TV is not at the best height for in bed viewing and there are not enough power outlets for today's connected traveler.

The pool area is showing its age a bit and the hot tub was not the cleanest but not to the point of being gross.

Valerie, the night clerk, was a gem. Very sweet and helpful, always smiling.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky55110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    89
    25
    7
    6
See reviews for
154
49
15
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexanc
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect since there aren't many hotels in Big Rapids to choose from. I was delightfully surprised when we pulled in. It was away from busy streets and within walking distance to a large grocery store. The lobby was lovely, with a sitting area, fireplace and cookies for guests at the front desk. The employees are wonderful and friendly. We were accommondated upon request with a room that faced a woodsy area in the back that has wildlife running through it. Very beautiful view on the 3rd floor. There is a nice complementary breakfast with healthy choices, a workout facility and indoor pool with handicap accessibility into the pool and hot tub, which was impressive because I have never seen a hotel provide that! There is a business center with computer and printer. The hotel is quiet on the third floor. Maid service was excellent 4 out of the 5 nights we stayed. One morning I came back from working out and the bed was sloppily made and nothing was wiped down. I let it go since every other day had been fantastic. I love the large bathroom, mirror and lighting. There is a desk, sitting chair, flat screen tv with plenty of channels, mircrowave and mini fridge in the room. The beds are very comfortable with a comfy duvet. I really enjoyed my time at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan Center, Michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel itself was very nice. Staff very friendly and helpful. Fast check-in and check-out. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The room came with a fridge/microwave/coffee maker. My pet peeve: the room lacks an available plug at the bedside for charging my phone. Get rid of the old fashioned LED clock radio/alarms and jump into the 21st century.

The breakfast was free and included the typical variety of cereals, breads, danishes, eggs, waffle maker, coffee, juices, fruit, etc. The hotel is located next to a Meijers and there are many opportunities nearby for shopping and dining.

The channel selection on the room TV was better than most, they at least had SciFi. The hotel wifi was easy enough to connect to and I could read and send emails with no problem.
However, the speed was slow and I was unable to stream anything on YouTube, Netflix, or HBO Go. The hotel also had a fitness room and pool, which I didn't use. So no comment. Overall, I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again when on business.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingRN04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was recommended on Trip Adviser so we checked it out. Easy to find off the Interstate. Had a 2nd story room -- clean, comfortable beds. Nice. Very good breakfast buffet -- many selections and all at appropriate temperatures. Glad we stayed en route to northern Michigan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ainnig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Coming home from upper Michigan on very icy roads we decided to stop in Big Rapids. Of course I used tripadvisor in my phone to find a hotel while my husband drove. Country Inn was rated high and so convenient being right by the highway exit. There is a Ruby Tuesday in front and a Meijer store next dorr with a gas station. The man at the front desk was very nice. The rate was great! The room was very clean and very nice. And I was suprised at the breakfast - it was better than the usual continental breakfast you get in other places. We will definately look for a Country Inn again when we travel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel in newer, which is always good. The staff is pleasant and friendly. The quiet room was clean and fresh and the bed was comfortable, with lots of pillows. The complimentary breakfast offered a large variety of hot and cold selections and was quite tasty. The scrambled eggs were fresh. The hotel has an indoor pool, exercise room and business room. I used the private business room's computer. The location is great with a Meijer grocery store and Walmart on either side. There are plentiful restaurants and small-town shopping to select from. Big Rapids is a smaller town but offers what you need on a business trip.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel face south, as did mine. This is great if you want to wake up with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerrydnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove, IL
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I usually don't write two reviews about the same place but this time I had to. It was a wonderful stay from check in to check out.. We have been here several times and what I really appreciate about this place is that they know who we are and remember us for past trips. There is not the high turn over of employees that you see in other places. You are made to feel that you are part of their family visiting.

I special thanks to Karen in the breakfast area. You always make us laugh. I also want to make it known that you do not just stand around and watch people eat. You are always cleaning up, replacinging supplies and welcoming new arrival. This makes a great way to start any day.

We will see you again next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JS2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Rapids
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Big Rapids
205 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Big Rapids
Holiday Inn Big Rapids
#4 of 4 in Big Rapids
110 reviews
18.8 mi away
Osceola Grand Hotel
Osceola Grand Hotel
#1 of 1 in Evart
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Red Moose Lodge
Red Moose Lodge
#2 of 4 in Baldwin
44 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Big Rapids
Super 8 Big Rapids
#3 of 4 in Big Rapids
277 reviews
23.7 mi away
La Belle de la Riviere Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Rapids

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Rapids
Address: 15344 Waldron Way, Big Rapids, MI 49307-8723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Mecosta County > Big Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Big Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Rapids 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Carlson, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Big Rapids
Big Rapids Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing