We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”
Review of Pizzeria Vivo

Pizzeria Vivo
Ranked #7 of 52 Restaurants in Big Rapids
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Yokosuka, Japan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Never tried the Pizza here, since they have some Italian dishes on the menu that you don't find in the area. Love the fried calamari w/ marinara for dipping, Lightly breaded, not too chewy or fishy tasting. Had the fisherman's stew, since I like mussels, and all very fresh tasting. Relaxing atmosphere, service good, and reasonable prices. I prefer local places to chain restaurants, just wish BR had more of these places.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Big Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy and warm”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Creamy penne was just as good for lunch the next day. all 4 meals were perfect and hot when served. We always take these family members when the visit. They look forward to it. Big appetites are well satisfied.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank penguin39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We always love it here!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The food is very good and reasonably priced. Was looking for a pizza place and couldn't it was rated 9 out of 14 in Big Rapids.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ChudChudzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just an ok experience”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is the third time I have dined at pizzeria vivo. I keep coming back because there is a lack of good restaurants in the small town of Big rapids. I rated this as an ok restaurant. The thing to get is the pesto with sundried tomatoes and chicken. It had a good taste. Stay far away from the chicken parm. Tasted like it just came out of the freezer. Sauce was decent though. This restaurant specializes in their pizzas, hence their name. Just stick with the pizza and everything will be positive. Do the all meat or antipasto pizza. Great flavors. One thing I have noticed everytime coming is that they are usually out of stock of items, including your pasta
choice, wine choice, beer choice. I don't know why that is but not a good sign for a restaurant to succeed. You kind of have to make due with what they have. I keep coming back trying new dishes but what it comes down to is I will only get the pizza from now on.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BostonianReporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bargain for great food”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Just passing through and stopped here at the suggestion of a hotel desk clerk. The food was as good as it is at the best Italian restaurant in our home area but at about 2/3 the cost. We had several pasta dishes, house salad, "garlic nuggets," and house bread/oil. The ingredients and spices were very fresh. Even though the restaurant was full, the food came quickly and was served at the appropriate temperature. We stuffed ourselves so much that we didn't have room for dessert, but we still had food left over. Our only regret was that on our return trip home on Monday they were closed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eiei O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Vivo also viewed

Big Rapids, Mecosta County
Big Rapids, Mecosta County
 
Big Rapids, Mecosta County
Big Rapids, Mecosta County
 

Been to Pizzeria Vivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing