We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Fashion Inn” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thunder Bay Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thunder Bay Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Big Bay B&B and Inns
Boston
Level Contributor
493 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Old Fashion Inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We enjoyed this old Inn that is being refreshed gradually. The owners are running the Pub and Inn and have a fine restaurant going and are updating the inn portion. This is a place to sit on the porch and visit and go down to the public beautiful beach on Lake Superior. Biking or hiking and enjoying the UP are the best things to do here. The rooms with sinks, toilets and furniture are old, but the beds are comfortable. Some rooms have shared baths/showers. It is not AC, but fans and generally the breeze off the lake make it comfortable. The new owners (5 yrs?) have made the pub the best place in this small village for meals and I can see this happening in the Inn over time. We enjoyed the stay and the owners and would return if we are in Big Bay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tremm298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
12
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We did not stay at this hotel, but wish we had. We did eat at the restaurant three times as it's the only place to eat in Big Bay unless you want bar food.

The burgers or taco options are best here; the salads are also fresh, but come with packaged dressings. The pizza dough is not doughy but hard, and while they are homemade and fresh, the cheese is tasteless (not unusual up here), so get a topping. Good soups, as well, which are the only low-fat options aside from the salads.

The service is excellent, the best we had in the U.P., or in Chicago for that matter. Prompt, friendly, professional. The restaurant is obviously a place for locals as well as tourists so it has a nice vibe. In the unusual heat, it was airy and cool. While the bar and restaurant are all-in-one, the place is surprisingly quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkCityStickler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We didn't stay at the inn (but it is really cute and I would love to some time). However, we did eat at the restaurant and the food was great. The dining area is casual and just plain fun atmosphere. Had photo wall of Jimmy Stewart movie filmed there which was interesting. Would definitely eat there again if ever in area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Excellent stop while exploring the area. Good local foods, great staff. Excellent atmosphere - up North feeling all around.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacht42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwinn, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

spur of the moment plans and we were off ....I fell in love with this place ....
The history and beauty its one that is a must....and mind you its the dead of winter here and it was beautiful... I can't wait to come back.
laurie
lojogrly@yahoo.com

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

A step back in time, back to the good and relaxing times. Great food, friendly people and a great place to relax and see the sights of the area. Not your standard hotel room, much better, like the old days. The front porch is a perfect place to relax, and forget all the fast pace that you are there to get away from. My wife and I will definitly be back to relax again. Remember, don't miss the front porch, after your great meals in the resturant. Kick back and let your troubles fade away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spidernum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

I have stayed at this Inn 3 separate times and in seperate rooms (they are all different decor). We difinitely will stay again in the future. Don't take the critical reviews found below to heart...it's an old, historic place with history oozing out of the walls (oh, if they only could talk). Sure, it's not the Hilton, Ritz or Westin - and what a refreshing difference with no TVs, telephones or cookie cutter looks the rooms afford. The Inn is comfortable, charming and the owners and son (who is their restaurant's cook, by the way) are gracious and always anxious to please. If you have any problems, they will respond and correct them. And they are fun people! They want you to have a good time at their place and in their area. The lobby is huge and inviting for playing the baby grand piano, sitting by the fire (in the season), watching videos on the TV, reading in a comfy chair or playing a game with someone or entertaining a group for a private meal or function - which we did. The lobby has been refurbished this year and is warm and cozy; the front porch is the same and a great gathering place with family or getting to know other guests. Gretchen & Wayne (the owners) and son, Duke, served a formal prime rib dinner for 26 for our wedding anniversary. I was able to provide special flowers and pastry, adding my touch to their set-up. Things just couldn't be better and my guests said the same! (By the way, all our guests stayed at the Inn too and loved it.) We stayed several days each of our 3 visits and definitely will return!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAP43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thunder Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunder Bay Inn

Property: Thunder Bay Inn
Address: Besinger Road, Big Bay, MI 49808
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Big Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Big Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Thunder Bay Hotel Big Bay
Thunder Bay Inn Big Bay, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing