We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cherry pie in USA”
Review of The Cherry Hut

The Cherry Hut
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Beulah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Description: The Cherry Hut was established as a roadside pie stand in 1922. The Krakerfamily used it as a means to distribute homemade cherry pies made from fresh cherries out of their orchard. Later, in 1937, the Cherry Hut moved to its present day location on US 31 in Beulah, MI. Throughout its long history the Cherry Hut has always been known for its homemade pies and jams. Owned by the Case Family since 1959 The Cherry Hut continues to supply smiling faces by serving food and shipping cherries year round. A Northern Michigan Tradition Since 1922.
Beulah, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best cherry pie in USA”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Cherry Hut is a throwback -- to the time of good food, simply served in a typical diner, and great service. This is not a haute cuisine restaurant, so don't expect anything fancy, but they do have something even the most picky eater in your family will like. The Hut has been open since 1922, and their cherry pie recipe has not changed in that time. It was designated as the best cherry pie in America by Life Magazine, and they didn't lie. The food is typical diner fare - hearty, well prepared, and simple family food. They roast their own turkey; no mystery meat here! You will love the chicken pot pie or the turkey plate dinner. Their vegetable soup is made with real turkey broth from today's roast turkeys. Their cherry chicken salad plate is terrific, and all made from scratch with nice chunks of chicken; local dried cherries add just the right touch. If you like to go where the locals eat, this is it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    86
    36
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beulah, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Better Than Average”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Barbara & I stopped in for lunch at this local 'must' destination. The restaurant is clean, the staff is friendly & we sat at one of their booths. We had sandwiches for lunch. Most of the items have cherries in them because this region grows the most cherries in the great USA. Chicken salad with cherries? A bit different. We find the Cherry Hut's prices a bit expensive for this area… but this is a seasonal operation so they have to make their money from April to September. The food was above average. But their cherry pies! You MUST take home one of their cherry pies. A tad on the expensive side but worth every bite.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackEWadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“I've loved the Cherry Hut for years and years”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Granny used to take me back when. A cheerful little building with lots of seating, popular during summer months. Everything is cherries: cherry salad, cherry in sandwiches, cherry muffins, not to mention cherry pie. You can buy cherry souvenirs and I do mail order with them near Christmas. Cherries make healthful gifts. (dried, chocolate covered, in jams...)
Not everyone in my family is an enthusiast as I am. I also like the small town café-ness of it. Please visit the Cherry Hut!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davison, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Because of a TV program”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

One night after dinner we turned the TV to PBS to watch Under the Radar (UTR) Michigan who was focusing on the Leelanau area. One of their stops for dining was The Cherry Hut in Beulah. Little did we know then that a few weeks after we were able to travel to that area and stop in to the restaurant. The Cherry Hut was just as UTR described. The meals were delicious and the wait staff was pleasant. Our experience will bring us back...and so will the Cherry pie. The cashier told us that in the short six months that their open they sell over 35,000 cherry pies!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin,Il
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not what I was expecting”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

They were 2 days from closing for the season and we wanted a quick dinner close to the motel. I thought their prices were too high for what they served. The turkey sandwich I had was very dry. Soup was obviously from a can which was disappointing since homemade vegetable soup is so easy to make. Was hoping for more of a home style cooked meal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank idlewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cherry Hut also viewed

 
Honor, Benzie County
 

Been to The Cherry Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing