We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch your credit card statement closely”

Best Western Scenic Hill Resort
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Scenic Hill Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Beulah
Reviewed May 12, 2011

They like to charge your card again a month after your stay with them, and say it's for state and taxes. The statement I received at checkout did have the state and taxes added on. When I called three times and finely got the general manger she tells me to send my credit card statements with just the charges form them on it. did that and she refuse to refund me for the extra charge. Be careful with this place, have stayed at many Best western and never been treated this badly. I personally will never stay there again!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
3  Thank CRose3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 240 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2010

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times over the years and it has never disappointed. The breakfast in the small dining room is nothing special, but everyone can find something to get their day started. For the price, this hotel is safe, quiet, clean, and the staff are friendly and helpful. There isn't any five star dining in the area, so we always seem to end up at the Roadhouse mexican place in Benzonia for great meals and a fun atmosphere. The hotel's pool and hot tub are great to relax. It's no Vegas showplace hotel but it's very clean and comfortable and as I recall, free coffee is always available in the lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaizeandBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHill, General Manager at Best Western Scenic Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We booked three rooms one month inadvance online at the Best Western Website, however, when we called the hotel a couple days prior to our stay to confirm the
reservations; they stated that we only had one room for two nights and a
second room for only one night and no third room. The hotel employee
stated that there was nothing she could do and that we would have to
call the next day. We told her we had a reservation number and that we
booked online and when we gave her the confirmation number, she stated that the
reservation number was invalid . We stated that that was
unacceptable and we proceeded to call the Best Western Customer Service
Hotline. They confirmed we did have a reservation and called the hotel
and she too was given the answer that there was nothing that they could
do. A file was opened and the file number . Hotel staff
was rude and unwilling to work with us when we arrived. We were promised a King suite for our inconvenience, however, never did. Very
disappointed with our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksvista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHill, General Manager at Best Western Scenic Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

I apologize profusely for the confusion and dissatisfaction you experienced. Please call me directly to discuss this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

The location is good for visiting Sleeping Bear Dunes, but it is only scenic if you like looking at a funeral home. The room was nice - until we noticed the fruit flies. The tub did not drain well. The backed-up water soaked the absorbent shower curtain, so housekeeping addressed the problem by replacing it with a plastic curtain, not by cleaning the drain. The rocks around the outdoor hot tub were littered with cigarette butts. The breakfast buffet was decent. Front desk staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate290518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHill, General Manager at Best Western Scenic Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

I'm so sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Please call me directly to discuss this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Stayed here rather than paying the outrageous prices at Crystal Mountain. Very convenient for skiing. Outdoor hot tub was fantastis after skiing. Indoor pool was nice and warm for small kids. Rooms were clean and roomy. Staff was very friendly. Nice selection for continental breakkie. Definately recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank family_traveler_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHill, General Manager at Best Western Scenic Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write the review and for your kind words.
We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2009

Definitely not a resort, at least in the most common sense of the word resort, but its a very nice 2.5 star hotel. Its is very strategically located for N. MI tourism, in our case skiing at Crystal Mt. Its 15 minutes away from the slopes, and at the winter rates are a bargin. First, every aspect of the hotel is very clean and very well maintained. The rooms are a comfortable size. Plenty of room to spread out your gear. The beds, pillows and linens were comfortable, but the comforter was a bit thin. However, the new high 32" def TV's were nice. The bathroom was average to small, and may pose an issue in terms of counter space if you're in a group with multiple toiletry bags. The pool is great for kids, so so for lap swimming, and NOT to be dived into. The out door hot tub is exhilarating in the winter, though I would have liked it a little hotter, it was plenty warm to enjoy on a crisp winter night. The workout room (with cable TV) consisted of a treadmill, a cycle, a nordi-trak, a stair master, a full set of dumbells up to around 30+ lbs, and a small universal type machine. The continental breakfast was average, but very nice. More than just cereal and milk, but no hot breakfast sandwiches/bacon/sausage items. There was fresh waffle makers, hot oatmeal, and cold hardboiled eggs. At night they often put out tasty cookies and 24 hours coffee/tea. The staff was friendly. My kids love the place, my wife says its clean, and its easy on my pocket book, a perfect tri-fecta. My only complaint? There was only one rolling cart for check in and check out which means you may be carrying in your luggage on a crowded weekend.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pwyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2009

For a fun family get-away in Northern Michigan, this Best Western is a good choice. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious and very clean and the location in Beulah, Michigan offers lots of posibilities in all seasons. There is a large and very warm indoor pool as well as an outside hot tub. I did not try the spa with massage, etc, but this is also available. The winter rates are very reasonable.
The breakfast is fine - usual menu of waffles, fruit, cereal, etc. Hot coffee and tea is available at all times and sometimes they surprise us with fresh chocolat chip cookies.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarkestes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHill, General Manager at Best Western Scenic Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beulah
1.1 mi away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
46 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
169 reviews
8.5 mi away
Harbor Lights Resort
Harbor Lights Resort
#1 of 2 in Frankfort
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crystal Lake Resort
Crystal Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Beulah
83 reviews
10.1 mi away
Crystal Mountain
Crystal Mountain
#1 of 1 in Thompsonville
745 reviews
11.0 mi away
Empire Lakeshore Inn
Empire Lakeshore Inn
#2 of 3 in Empire
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Scenic Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Scenic Hill Resort

Address: 1400 Beulah Hwy, Beulah, MI 49617-9704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Benzie County > Beulah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Beulah
Price Range: $94 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Scenic Hill Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Scenic Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Scenic Hill Hotel Beulah
Best Western Beulah
Beulah Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing