We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great soups and sandwiches”

L'Chayim Delicatessen
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Beulah
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Michigan
Level Contributor
167 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great soups and sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

All soups homemade and tasty. Bagel sandwiches unique and very good. Casual atmosphere. Friendly staff.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michigancritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    23
    0
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beulah, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean up the place!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

As a resident of Beulah, I'm always astounded when I walk or drive by the place to see how uncared for the outside looks. Paint is peeling, the bench out front looks like it hasn't been painted for years and there are usually weeds growing around it. It's really an eyesore to the village. I mentioned that last year to the people inside, but it's made no difference. Personally I wouldn't want to eat in a place that cares so little about what their restaurant looks like.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparkleberrycupcake
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food O.K., But served in a dirty plastic basket.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We were astonished to realise we'd eaten our sandwiches from filthy, crud encrusted plastic baskets. This was our first experience at a "real" deli. May the owners take note and WASH the things they serve food in. Sorry but true.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparkleberrycupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beware!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

A 'hot tip' at the bike shop led to discovering L'Chayim in Buelah. And what a treat before riding the Betsie River Trail, scrumptious sandwiches made before our eyes! Beware, though, of the size of their sandwiches. My half sandwich, so generous a portion, were it not so delicious I might not have finished! Several are offered in half sizes. It's not a large place, so take-out to picnic along the beach or trail works. I wouldn't recommend this as a place for children because of portion sizes. Yet, the menu is quite large with something for everyone. We will definitely be repeat customers.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cmpoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Get your Bagel On at L'Chayim”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

There is also a L'Chayim that just opened in Frankfort. We tried them both. While staff isn't overly friendly, they are courteous and prompt. The bagels as well as spreads were good and they serve good coffee. We were amused by the ad they ran in the local paper that stressed being polite. For a quick breakfast or lunch at a reasonable price this is the place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Chayim Delicatessen also viewed

Beulah, Benzie County
Beulah, Benzie County
 
Beulah, Benzie County
Beulah, Benzie County
 

Been to L'Chayim Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing