We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Traveler's Motel

Traveler's Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bessemer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Traveler's Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Bessemer B&B and Inns
Hustonville, KY
Level Contributor
149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Family place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights while visiting family and the hotel is a great value. Donna was friendly and very helpful. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The bathrooms were small and the one in our room had no electric outlet. Kind of inconvenient. We did have a fridge, which we love to have. The wifi didn't work in our room. If you need to use it, I would suggest getting a room close to the office.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed at the Traveler's Motel annually over the past dozen years during my summer travels. This place is always a pleasure to visit. It is beautifully clean, quiet and comfortable. The home-style bedding is lovely, indeed, comforting. As a bonus, it's also reasonably priced. There are roads behind the motel property which are ideal for an evening walk for those of us who like to have our daily constitutional. It's not unusual to see deer on the hilly terrain which borders the residential area. The owners are wonderful -- a very decent and industrious couple who knows how to run a high quality business and keep their clients coming back for more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

First of all, Traveler's Motel is not a Hilton/Hyatt. That said, I was pleasantly surprised. For a budget motel, this place is a gem. The room is well kept and clean. By well kept, I mean everything was in good to excellent condition. I have stayed at my share of hotels (including Hiltons and Hyatts) where things are old, worn, and barely work. I can say that everything at Traveler's Motel was fully functional. The fridge kept things cold (and overnight the freezer mostly froze 4 bottles of water). Sink and toilet were shiny and looked new (no worn porcelain). Ditto for the shower (my only complaint is a low flow shower head, and no bathtub). Bathroom floor is a wood floor with a shiny finish. Bed had sheets like you would have at home, not institutional white. TV and remote worked fine. Donna, the owner, was very friendly, and a pleasant sight for sore eyes after a long day.

The price for a room is very reasonable. However, the room size is like a New York City room. Not much larger than the bed. A room with a single bed does have a chair and cocktail table (not a desk). Rooms are non-smoking, and no pets.

Note: I sent an initial request to the e-mail on their website. I never received a reply. I called 2 days later, and easily made a reservation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midwest_Traveler_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

A group of family and friends stay here every year over the New Year Holiday. I can't say enough good things about this place. It's always clean, the prices are very reasonable, and it's the perfect place to stay if you're visiting to ski/snowmobile/etc and want a warm, comfy place to hang your hat at nigh. The owners are incredibly friendly and it truly feels like home when you're staying here. HIGHLY HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend! :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bskia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

My mother and I spent a week here in October 2011 while we were visiting with family and friends in the area. Our room was spacious and super-clean (and I'm particular about cleanliness!). The owner was very friendly and helpful, and the rates were very reasonable. We'd gladly stay here again. I wish all motels were this nice!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy_from_Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bessemer
5.7 mi away
AmericInn Ironwood
AmericInn Ironwood
#1 of 11 in Ironwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 11 in Ironwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
6.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Ironwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traveler's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveler's Motel

Property: Traveler's Motel
Address: 1470 US Highway 2 East, Bessemer, MI 49911
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Bessemer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bessemer
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing