We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent local Itanian”

Sila Italian Dining & Pizza
Ranked #15 of 54 Restaurants in Berkley
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent local Itanian”
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

A fixture in Berkley for over 50 years, this is our local spot for good, quick, casual Italian food. They have all the classic's. There pizza is good with small greasy pepperoni which my wife loves. Their Antipasta salad is great, with often too much toppings. They have a full bar which is highly under utilized. I recommend it as a good comfort food place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimmyG2678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    20
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
236 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Good and Plenty Italian”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We've been coming here for years -- when we're wanting comfort food done well. This is an 'old style' Italian restaurant, lots of pastas and pizzas, delicious (a bit greasy, but hot & good) rolls & italian salads. The veal parm is my favorite. Ask, or they'll go heavy on the cheese topping. Nice & reasonably priced glass of chianti.
The dining room is a large square of booths along the walls and tables in the middle. There is a bar in a separate room. If they bothered with tablecloths here they would definitely be red & white checked. Service is nice & friendly. Lots of families here, but couples as well. They offer a take out service with generous portions.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichiganCookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Always good!”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I've been going to Sila's for over 40 years...I can't say I ever got a bad meal there...Some of my favorites are their pizza, of course!... it's truly pizzeria style pizza- nothing like a carry-out pizza place..toppings are plentiful, the crust is delicious and such a great taste! Their salads are GREAT....large portioned salads- the antipasto is 2-die-4- and another favorite is their famous creamy garlic dressing....I find there are not that many places that serve creamy garlic dressing- so, if you don't have any plans on kissing anyone that night, order it and enjoy it! Their lasagna is really delicious, whether you order the regular lasagna, or the chicken spinach lasagna, both are delicious-and such large portions...I love to order any of their italian dishes with the baked cheese on top...Their house bread is unbelievably good and you'll ask the waitress for another bread basket, guaranteed! I must stop writing for I am salivating now...

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vudubabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
191 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“huge portions; consistently great food”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I have been coming to Sila's (SEE-la's) for years.
Consistently excellent Italian food; huge portions (consider sharing an entree).
Recommend: chicken parmisan (homemade breaded chicken, not deep fried); baked spaghetti with cheese on top; and any kind of pizza (sweet rich sauce and homemade crust); antipasto salad; homemade house dressing.
Avoid: minestrone soup (its from a can) and the veal parmesan (deep fried, rather than hand-prepared). Service is usually good.
Clientele is mostly age 40+ and families; casual dress; well lit inside.
Parking close and convenient.
Restaurant itself is wheelchair accessible, but bathrooms are not;
Italian-type music is not too loud. Family-operated business.
Carryout pizza; separate "back room" for parties.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HTOTMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good pasta dishes, large portions”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I have visited Sila quite a few times by now and i have to say that it is always been good to me. The menu consist of pizza and simple and traditional pasta dishes. The pasta is great with the baked cheese on top. Adding some italian sausage or meatballs makes it a meal very hard to finish in one sitting.
The staff is very friendly. The ambiance is no thrills local joint - but the honest food is what makes this place.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WistaWio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sila Italian Dining & Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Sila Italian Dining & Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing