We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must stay here”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benzonia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hanmer's Riverside Resort & Livery
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must stay here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Amazing cabins right on the river, close to many beautiful places. All cabins right on the river, clean, supplied with Kitchen, fresh towels daily, indoor hot tub and pool for rainy days. Very friendly service. Best trip so far. Anyone heading up north toward Traverse city should check into staying here. It was less than a hotel and had so much more to offer. Rooms were clean and very nice just like a hotel with the luxury of outdoor living too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottandPatty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lapeer, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

When we checked in we couldn't believe how clean our cabins were. We booked the duplex cabins 7 & 8 for 4 nights from July 30 thru August 2. There were 10 of us sharing the two cabins for a family vacation. The beds were very comfortable and everyone slept well. The showers were small but well stocked and the water hot! We had a small patio with a burn pit and the owners supplied us with fire wood every night. After swimming in Lake Michigan and tubing down the river, we would soak in the Hot Tub and swim in the indoor pool. Very relaxing. The kitchen was well stocked and we were able to save money by cooking meals between activities. The location was perfect for all that Benzie County has too offer. Our family had a wonderful vacation staying here. Your's will too.

Room Tip: Benzie County Passport To Fun offers many freebies and discounts. Google it before your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lnsdrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Wanting to explore Sleeping Bear Dunes for a couple of days we looked at many lodging options and almost missed this gem. The rates were priced right for the location so thought we would check Hanmer's out. To our surprise we were quite impressed with what Hanmer's had to offer. Cabin's vary in size based on your needs with most situated right on the Betsie River. Impeccably clean and what appeared to be recently updated, these cabins had all the conveniences of home. I honestly cannot think of one thing missing with the cabin we stayed in (#3). Cabin's seem to be environmentally friendly and use cloth towels (opposed to the empty paper towel rack – bring a roll if you like to kill trees) and dispensed liquid soap in the shower and bathroom sink area (bring bars and hair shampoo if you are so inclined), but for us we appreciated the "green" touch. Although not a pool/whirlpool person I was quite impressed with the size, cleanliness and temperature of the pool house. No question, you can see the owner's personal touch in every part of the property The town of Benzonia is approximately ½ mile north on Route 31 and has a large grocery store, hardware store, and drug store and other small businesses/restaurants to accommodate any needs you may have while at Hanmer's. Note I list them separately as so many small towns combine those services in to one large store. Also took advantage of the kayaking at Hanmer's and had an enjoyable experience; enough current and curves for a fun time. Approximate time to SBD, through Frankfort (another must see town with great views off the beach for the sunset) is 30-45 minutes depending on Platte River-Pierce Stocking. Photos of cabin interiors on website are accurate; I have added a few property photos to get a feel of the layout.

Thank you Hanmer's for a wonderful experience. We hope to get to see you again soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa_Chi_town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacGregor, Manitoba canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Lovely place situated along the Betsie River. Our cabin was facing the river, lovely scenery. The kitchen in our cabin was well equipped with everything you need. It is privately owned and operated. The owners were friendly and accommodating. There is a beautiful indoor pool with hot tub. Everything was very clean, the pool and our cabin. It is well located for visiting Sleeping Bear dunes, beaches, wineries, etc. the resort offers canoe and kayak trips down the Betsie River.

Room Tip: We highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank levieuxcamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We feel so lucky to have found this place with an available cabin on Fourth of July weekend! Owners were fantastic, location was perfect, cabin was adorable. Cupboards fully stocked with dishes, utensils, pots and pans. Nice view from the deck. Very quiet. Every cabin has personal touches like a flower garden. We had a fireplace (not needed in July but wonderful nonetheless). The pool and hot tub were relaxing and clean. Perfect location for M-22 and Sleeping bear dunes

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarciD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have stayed at Hanmer's for several years now for our mid-June girls trip. We love the central location to Lake Michigan, Leelanau Peninsula & wineries and great back roads to explore. We always stay in Cabin 1. It is always very clean, beds are comfy and everything we need is there. Where else will you find an intimate riverside lodging with an indoor pool and hot tub? Those are a wonderful perk when the weather doesn't cooperate. The hosts make sure you have what you need and then leave you alone unless you want more interaction. I've already made our reservations for 2013.

Room Tip: cabin 1 is on the river, set a bit apart from the other cabins and closest to the fire pit. Outdoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earlyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our large group of friends who have been getting together for over 30+ years, which now includes 3 generations decided to move our event to Hanmer's Riverside Resort this year. This was an excellent idea! They worked well with us from start
to finish. Their well maintained resort and picturesque location on the Bestsie River provided plenty of group space as around the fire pit as well as private accomodations for quiet time. The beds were fantastic and a great surprise. The owners provided great service without being intrusive. So we highly recommend Hanmer's Riverside Resort. The BASH group

Room Tip: All of the cabins were great and they even have a couple of campsites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharrie361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benzonia
2.7 mi away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scenic Hill Resort
7.4 mi away
Harbor Lights Resort
Harbor Lights Resort
#1 of 2 in Frankfort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crystal Lake Resort
Crystal Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Beulah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
7.7 mi away
Crystal Mountain
Crystal Mountain
#1 of 1 in Thompsonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanmer's Riverside Resort & Livery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanmer's Riverside Resort & Livery

Property: Hanmer's Riverside Resort & Livery
Address: 2251 Benzie Hwy, Benzonia, MI 49616-9692
Location: United States > Michigan > Benzie County > Benzonia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Benzonia
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Hanmer's Riverside Resort & Livery Michigan/Benzonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing