We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Greenfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We did not stay, because when we arrived they did not give us the room that was promised. We were two adult Sisters and an Adult Brother.
When I booked it over the phone we were promised a suite type room, which was two double beds and a pull out sofa in another area.
Upon arrival we were told that room was not available. I said one KING with a pull out was ok too. Nope....
I ended up going across the street to a Comfort Inn. Night and day difference !!!!! Lobby was much more attractive.
She gave us a great room. It was huge, had a fridge and microwave.
I would give this Holiday Inn no stars if possible .
PS. The staff never apologized. It was like they did not care if they lost my business ....
A more professional hotel would have done whatever it took to have stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hoosierdeb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear hoosierdeb21,

I would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations. I would greatly appreciate further information regarding your stay in order that I can investigate further.

We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    64
    37
    13
    13
See reviews for
88
48
8
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Coshocton, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Spent three nights here and never heard neighbors or people passing in the hall, even though they seemed to be fairly full. The rooms were nicely cleaned each day, and breakfast was great. Hotel location is very close to restaurants and virtually all major retailers.

Room Tip: My room was on the opposite side from the highway. I can't say how the noise level may have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Benton Harbor. We are please to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as our full hot breakfast that was included each day with your room. We are fortunate to have such courteous travelers stay with us that it makes our job much easier in making sure each guest enjoys their stay with us to the fullest. I will personally pass on your kind words in regards to the housekeeping service of your room to our cleaning staff as I know their day is brightened hearing that their hard work is noticed and appreciated by both staff and guest. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on your next trip through our great area and thank you again for your stay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

My friend and I had a reservation for Saturday (18. May) night and then spur of the moment on Friday night decided to take off at 1am and chance it. We arrived about 4am and the lady working the reception- I want to say her name was like, Marcy?- was the greatest!! Helped us get a room and gave me a great price. Was incredibly apologetic when there was a mix up with the room she assigned us, but she had the most wonderful sense of humor and fixed the problem instantly. The rooms are pretty huge and the black out curtains did a fairly decent job- a must for terrible insomniacs like me. I have started bringing my own box fan since the wonderfully quiet wall units are a downfall for people like me who need the white noise- ha!
We didn't get to take advantage of the pool or breakfast, but the next time we definitely will.
This is a wonderful option if you don't want to shell out the comparatively big bucks for the same places in St. Joesph's. Benton Harbor is sort of a pit to drive through, but 5 minutes down the road and you're there.

Room Tip: Our room faced south (I believe) towards a quarry looking place. Wonderfully quiet and pretty view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the kind words in regards to your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Benton Harbor. It is always delightful to here a guest enjoyed there time with us as much as we enjoyed having them stay with us. With out our valuable guest feed back such as your review we would not have the tools to best serve our guest's and properly train our employee's to provide such stellar service. I look forward to passing on your praises of our night audit staff and I know she will be thrill and I thank you on her behalf in advance. We look forward to seeing you again and given you a chance to enjoy some of our wonderful amenities you did not have time to experience on this stay. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express, Benton Harbor and have a wonderful day!!

Warm Regards,
Gene Barker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We arrived @11 pm & was immediately welcomed by the desk staff. I explained we'd been driving all day, the kids were asleep in the car. She quickly processed our information & she set us up in a room. We went up and the room was spotless, no smells and plenty of room for our luggage's. The kids said it's was the best sleep they'd had in any hotel beds! Comfy pillows, the right temperature of the room and a clean bathroom. We showered and made it downstairs for the "included breakfast" in the morning. The kids had fun with the pancake maker. The older one had the eggs and sausage while we enjoyed a fresh glass of orange juice, yogurt, fresh coffee, and danishes. The area was clean and the service was prefect! If you need somewhere to stay definitely keep this hotel in mind.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dominic t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Benton Harbor. It is always a pleasure to hear that our staff and accommodations exceeds our guest's expectations. We pride ourselves in our warm friendly demeanor and superb customer service and our housekeeping staff attention to detail and diligent cleaning procedures ensure that every guest walks into a beautifully cleaned and presented room. We are so happy that we were able to make your stay with us such a positive, memorable experience and we look forward to do that same in your future travels through our area. Thank you again and have a wonderful day!!

Warm Regards,
Gene Barker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I'm a driver and I stay here about 3 times a week and its always a nice stay and the staff are great people. Rooms are great and beds a very comfortable. Always plenty of parking and always clean. Breakfast is good and always stocked.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wsteiger85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Mr. Steiger,
I would like to personally thank you for your feed back regarding your recent stays with us at the Holiday Inn Express in Benton Harbor. With out loyal guests such as yourself we would not be able to be the hotel we are today. We value your feed back as our number one tool is rating our success in guest service and satisfaction. It is wonderful to hear you have enjoyed your stays as much as we have enjoyed having you and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Gene Barker General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed 1 night at the HIE in Benton Harbor. It was nice, clean and the service was great. They offered a breakfast that looked like there were many options but I didn't have the breakfast. I wanted Starbucks so I made the 15 minute drive to a small starbucks in a grocery store:-) I booked the room through Orbitz and check-in literally took 2 minutes. The staff said good morning and evening when we walked in the door.

We stayed because my husband was graduating the next morning and even though there were tons of people there it never felt crowded. We stayed in room 210. I don't care about having a few because I don't get a hotel room to look out the window. I care about:

1.) A clean bathroom (check)
2.) A clean and well kept bed (check)
3.) Quality television choices (check)
4.) Fridge, microwave, and coffeemaker in room (check)

I had all that I needed and will definitely stay again.

Thank you all for allowing us to have a restful night during a stressful weekend.

Room Tip: I would not stay near elevator becuase the bell sounded sort of loud to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alilbitaburd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your recent review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Benton Harbor, MI and congratulations on the graduation, we are pleased you chose our facility to be part of your celebration. We are always very happy to hear we are able to provide and exceed the expectations of our guests both during their stay and into the future. Again thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express to enjoy your special event and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Warm Regards,
Gene Barker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for a couple nights, the beds were surprisingly comfy and so were the pillows. The breakfast was great and they had a huge selection. Upon checking out and leaving the hotel the front desk had called to let us know I left my prescription in the room, that saved me a huge hassle! The room and bathroom were very clean. I would recommend this hotel to everyone needing to stay near Benton Harbor, its really a great value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amtron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your great review of the Holiday Inn Express in Benton Harbor MI. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to exceed your expectations with the value, service, and accommodations both during and after your stay. With out such great guests and their valuable feedback such as yours we would not have the information to provide our guests with the best stay possible at such a great value. Thank you again and we look forward to being able to exceed your expectations during future stays with us!
Warm Regards,
Gene Barker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benton Harbor
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
#4 of 11 in Benton Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Benton Harbor MI
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Benton Harbor-St. Joseph
0.4 mi away
Springhill Suites Benton Harbor St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor

Property: Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor
Address: 2276 Pipestone Rd, Benton Harbor, MI 49022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Benton Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Benton Harbor/St. Joseph. We are conveniently located one block south of I-94 at exit 29, a short drive to any destination in Benton Harbor and St. Joseph. Do you enjoy the water? We are located only 5 miles from Lake Michigan and Silver Beach and Warren Dunes.Our corporate travelers appreciate our high-speed Internet, business center and fitness room, while our families enjoy the crystal-clear indoor pool and spa. All our guests enjoy the convenience of our Express Start Breakfast , 'Still Free, Now Hot', with our signature cinnamon rolls, mouth watering buttermilk biscuits, country sausage gravy and so much more.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Benton Harbor/St. Joseph, with its convenient meeting room for 40 and outstanding service, is the perfect place for your small corporate meetings.Businesses near hotel: Whirlpool, AEP, Menasha, VAI, Leco,D.C Cook Nuclear Plant, Crossroads and Lakeland Regional Medical CenterAttractions near hotel: New Buffalo's newest attraction, The Four Winds Casino Resort, The Mendel Center, Lake Michigan College, Orchard's Mall, Treemendous Fruit Farms, Jolly Orchards, Berrien County Youth Fairgrounds, The Livery, Andrews University and Western Michigan University. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Benton Harbor / St. Joseph. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor Hotel Benton Harbor
Holiday Inn Benton Harbor
Benton Harbor Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing