We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I was totally satisfied with my stay at this hotel. I had to move my room and that was handled promptly and nicely. If staying at this Inn I would suggest requesting the 3rd floor in case you get a heavy foot above you when on lower floors. Front desk was very helpful about places to eat.

Room Tip: As stated above get the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Megapixels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 270 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

"Oldie but Goodie" could be the summary of this hotel, where the furniture was updated according to the new HIEX standards, but where the elevator, smelly hallway and staircase carpets must have seen better days. Get a room towards the asphalt plant in the back, away from the very close and noisy Interstate. The staff is very friendly, breakfast is OK. The location is actually better than what one first associates with the city of Benton Harbor. A Meijer’s store is just around the corner.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelpr0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I recently spent a week at the Holiday Inn Express in Benton Harbor completing a work assignment. I had a bit of a rocky start -- I arrived shortly after noon on a Sunday and asked if there was any rooms available. I was told that although the housekeeping staff had been working for a few hours already that no rooms would be available until after 3:00. I waited an hour, and went and asked another staff member who immediately found me an available room. My room was clean, spacious and quiet. The hotel was in the middle of renovating their rooms and did a good job of minimizing disruptions to their guests. The complementary breakfast was nice and the staff very accommodating.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laminpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

First- some positives. The checking was quick and friendly. The location is a good one, right off the highway with some good restaurants nearby.

Unfortunately, some negatives became apparent after check in: The rooms are on the small side for HI Express, with a small TV and very few channels. The toilet was not bolted down, and there were a few other small signs of neglect to the property. No crib was available, even though we had requested one more than a week prior. Breakfast was a great let-down- they were out of milk, bread, english muffins and bagels. To be fair, I did not try breakfast until 9:00am, but if they say breakfast is until 10:00am then they should provide food.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winnydpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Stayed in Benton Harbor since rooms in South Bend were over $300 due to Notre Dame graduation. Older but nice hotel. All areas were clean and breakfast was a full breakfast and not just fruit and Danish. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJ325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

I made reservations at this hotel on 4th of July but found out I had a handicap room with one bed when I needed 2 beds for 4 people. It was also very expensive. So I cancelled within 48 hours and made reservations at Holiday Inn in Kalamazoo.
The Holiday Inn in Kalamazoo was much nicer, large pool, nice restaurant, clean.
However, I was charged by this hotel in Benton Harbor even though I followed all the cancellation rules. They owner kept saying he'd credit my card back but never did so I disputed it on my charge card.
The owner sent a dispute back to the credit card company and rebilled me.
I then called Holiday Inn corporate offices and they investigated. Corporate sent me a letter back saying that this location was wrong and that they would credit me back.
They finally did.
Don't trust your money with this Holiday Inn. They never called me back, lied about my credit and double billed me.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lee051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

My family and I stayed at the Benton Harbor Holiday Inn express en route from Toronto to Chicago. It was an excellent stop over point for us.
The hotel was clean and my kids enjoyed the pool. The location was excellent just off the interstate 94 and close to shopping (there is a mall, Walmart, Target and Meijer very close by). The continental breakfast was perfect before we headed out for about another 2-3 hour drive to Chicago.
My only complaint would be the price. It was a bit on the pricey side for my liking and we paid even more than our hotel in downtown Chicago.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
Thank canuckgrl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benton Harbor
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
0.2 mi away
Best Western Benton Harbor - St. Joseph
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Springhill Suites Benton Harbor St. Joseph
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
#6 of 11 in Benton Harbor
151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites - Benton Harbor-St. Joseph River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor

Address: 2276 Pipestone Rd, Benton Harbor, MI 49022-2426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Benton Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Price Range: $92 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Benton Harbor/St. Joseph. We are conveniently located one block south of I-94 at exit 29, a short drive to any destination in Benton Harbor and St. Joseph. Do you enjoy the water? We are located only 5 miles from Lake Michigan and Silver Beach and Warren Dunes.Our corporate travelers appreciate our high-speed Internet, business center and fitness room, while our families enjoy the crystal-clear indoor pool and spa. All our guests enjoy the convenience of our Express Start Breakfast , 'Still Free, Now Hot', with our signature cinnamon rolls, mouth watering buttermilk biscuits, country sausage gravy and so much more.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Benton Harbor/St. Joseph, with its convenient meeting room for 40 and outstanding service, is the perfect place for your small corporate meetings.Businesses near hotel: Whirlpool, AEP, Menasha, VAI, Leco,D.C Cook Nuclear Plant, Crossroads and Lakeland Regional Medical CenterAttractions near hotel: New Buffalo's newest attraction, The Four Winds Casino Resort, The Mendel Center, Lake Michigan College, Orchard's Mall, Treemendous Fruit Farms, Jolly Orchards, Berrien County Youth Fairgrounds, The Livery, Andrews University and Western Michigan University. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Benton Harbor / St. Joseph. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor Hotel Benton Harbor
Holiday Inn Benton Harbor
Benton Harbor Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing