We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff and Residents, but maintenence related problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Benton Harbor
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Kent, Washington
1 review
“Friendly Staff and Residents, but maintenence related problems”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

If you are a homeless person looking for a cheap place to stay long term... this might be a good place to consider. The people who are staying long term may appear a little scary at first, but they actually are quite friendly. There were some maintenance issues in the room we stayed in. The toilet leaked constantly and the valve opened approximately every five minutes. There were several small holes at the bottoms of the walls where large insects or spiders were pushing their consumed prey back out of their nests and onto the carpet. There was a larger hole in the bathroom where it looked like mice had been staying. I mentioned these issues to the manager in the morning and he said that they would take care of them.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    8
    5
    48
See reviews for
18
11
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is not the worst hotel / motel I have ever stayed at by a long shot. If you are for a room in the 400 block they have all been remodeled. They remind me of a Swedish Economy room or hostile. They have hardwood floors and are very spartan.

The upside:
The room was clean
The heater worked well
TV worked (although it was an old tube model) and had HBO
Internet worked great
Walking distance to Burger king and IHOP
and was $38.97 with tax

The Down side:
Towels are thin and few
No blanket (although i would not want or use one)
Tube backed up after a 1 min shower
parking lot not well lit
no shampoo only small soap bar
no microwave or refrig

Result: I rated this average as you get what you pay for. If you are on a budget and can handle simple this is a good place. If you are not or were never a "toss stuff in a backpack and travel the open road staying in hostiles ) sort of person then spend the extra $50. and stay at the Days inn one block up

Room Tip: The rooms in the 400 block are remodeled. Ask for a remodeled room and you will be happier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubba D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
275 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

There may be hope for this spread-out motel after all. It seems some of the rooms have been getting updated with the neo-hardwood flooring and fresh paint.

Just make sure you ask for a "new room" when reserving or checking in.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room when checking into this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveljohnsonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor Springs, MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was the worst motel we have ever stayed in. The room was dirty and smelled horrible. The other rooms appeared to be occupied by the creepiest low-life characters ever, who stayed up all night yelling and swearing. The tub drain was plugged up. The room had obviously been smoked in. We could hear every sound from the rooms next door. We made reservations there because of the cheap rate but it was absolutely not worth the savings!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank earlybird530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Benton Harbor hotels

Arcola, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel each summer for about the last 12-15 years. I come up to go to the beach, so amenities aren't a priority. Hey, it's a Motel 6 -- not the Ritz!

Over the last couple years, I've seen a decline in the hotel. When a hotel offers permanent rooms for guests, I have a concern. These folks are LIVING at the hotel. And one of those rooms had the door open one night. It looked like something from the TV show, Hoarders.

I've always liked this hotel because we go to pick fruit and then go to the beach. It is easy for us to get our coolers in and out of the room.

These rooms have always been clean. But this time around, there were cigarette holes in the bedspread and the sheet.

Sorry to leave such a bad review...like I said, this used to be a decent place to stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basketsRmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Allis, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Stayed there one night a few weeks ago. Staff very friendly. Didn't encounter any of the rough characters described in previous posts. No unusual noise. Room was clean, but very spartan. No carpeting (vinyl flooring), no wall decoration, very plain desk & furniture. Room was clean enough, linens adequate.Pretty basic & bare-bones. WiFi worked fine. Fridge & microwave available for xtra $5; I passed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level Contributor
78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

stayed here this summer for a triathlon and it was a really sad experience. first off, this hotel is very run down. roof is flaking off, pool is scary, debris all around and alot of people live at this hotel. in fact, we stayed in a room for two nights and realized the people that were next to us (that lingered outside the entire night) had been living in two rooms (and gave up one room for the weekend) for the past few months. sad sad sad.

The staff and owner were nice... no one was rude but the hotel itself was just so rundown there was no way we would ever go back. although i could tell there was an attempt to clean the room (by the cheap chemicals), it still felt very dirty. the linens were like papertowels and the towels were like brillo pads.

i am not normally one to be so critical but this hotel is so long gone, i don't think it will ever get to an acceptable standard.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank nickiwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benton Harbor
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Benton Harbor MI
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
#4 of 11 in Benton Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Springhill Suites Benton Harbor St. Joseph
3.5 mi away
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Benton Harbor - St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Benton Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Benton Harbor

Property: Motel 6 Benton Harbor
Address: 2063 Pipestone Rd, I-94 at Exit 29/Pipestone Rd, Benton Harbor, MI 49022-2316
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Benton Harbor
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Motel 6 Benton Harbor 1.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Motel-6, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Benton Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benton Harbor Motel Six
Benton Harbor Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing