We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
coldwater
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“okay to sleep”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is an ok hotel for the price. Not thrilled with the area or folks around the area. My husband and sons stayed there when a fishing trip was very early next am in South Haven. Close to good areas and much cheaper then hotels in South Haven.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevColdwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBentonHarbor, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review of our inn. We are glad that you and your family have enjoyed staying with us when in the area. We appreciate your comments as with constantly strive to improve our service and quality of product. I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team.

I also appreciate your comments concerning our prices being lower than the
South Haven area. I can tell that you have priced the different lakeshore cities and know a good value. We look forward to seeing you and family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    36
    30
    20
    28
See reviews for
45
35
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I have never paid as much for a Red Roof Inn room as I paid here, nor has the room ever before veen so ridiculously tight. It was clean, but the table and chairs made it difficult to move about. The bed was not comfortable. For a last minute off the highway option, it served it's purpose, but I wasnt keen. I may have been more pleased had the door not been open on arrival.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBentonHarbor, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry you felt the price of the room was too expensive for a Red Roof Inn, this area is a little more pricey due to being close to the lakeshore and on Notre Dame home football games. The standard king room you stayed in is our smallest room size and does not have a lot of extra space. I think you would like our larger Superior King room that also has a large work desk area, microfridge and other amenities.

I also sorry that you were unhappy with our new Serta mattresses, we have received a lot of nice compliments since we have installed them. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to show you that our rooms are clean, comfortable and a great value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

A group of my family members decided to stay at the Red Roof Inn for a wedding in the area since we had stayed there once previously and the price was right. Overall, the stay was fine. Their rooms are kept clean, which is probably the most important factor in a hotel stay next to the price. The buildings and rooms are very run down, but what do you expect for such a bargain price?

Our main problem was that we had booked 4 rooms together under one person's name, but when we arrived and checked in, the rooms weren't even next to each other. Two of them were up on the second floor while the other two were on the first floor (not even next to each other!) What is the point of booking your trip together under one person if you won't even be given rooms by each other? This was made especially odd considering the fact that the room next to one of them ended up remaining empty the entire weekend (despite the hotel claiming everything was sold out). What's the deal with that?

Honestly, you get what you pay for. If you aren't picky and just want a bed to sleep in, stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emerson5575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBentonHarbor, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review.

We are sorry that we were unable to put all four of your rooms side by side when you check in to our hotel. We did have a rather large group of 35 rooms that night that we were trying to keep all together to lessen any noise problems.

Please know that we make guest satisfaction our number one priority and we appreciate your feedback and look at it as an opportunity to improve. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This place is good to stay and the staff is very friendly. Price is good for this area, the rooms were very clean and Mc Donalds and some Shops are in walking distance. We stayed one night, would come back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBentonHarbor, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our inn. We are very happy that you felt the price of the room was a good value for the area and that the room was very clean. I will also pass on your nice comments about our friendly staff. We look forward to having you visit us again when in the area. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We recently stayed at this property overnight and found it to be satisfactory. It was a good price for the area on a holiday weekend. The rooms are a little tired, but ours was clean and quiet.The staff was nice, and it was the fastest check-in that I have ever experienced, which is nice after a long day on the road. The room had a microwave, and a frig.

Room Tip: second floor was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBentonHarbor, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our inn. We are happy that you felt it was a clean quiet room and a good value on the busy Labor Day weekend. I'm also glad to hear you felt is was a quick and efficient check-in after a long day of travel. I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Park, IL
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We only stayed one night. To me, this was a clean and good value hotel. I wouldn't stay here for a vacation but since we were only staying one night, it was a good place to stay. There is shopping within walking distance (Wallmart) and a McDonalds close as well. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 121 which was a handicap room though neither of us are handicap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiperf67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBentonHarbor, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review of our inn. We are happy that you enjoyed your room and felt it was clean and a good value for the money.

I will share your comments with the rest of our team as we strive to improve both our service and quality. We look forward to seeing again in your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

It's pretty much like any Red Roof Inn. Very basic. No frills. No coffee maker in the room. It's a place to sleep. It functioned as that very well.

The hotel is amid many chain hotels in a highly commercial area of Benton Harbor, right off of I94.

Room Tip: My room faced away from I94, so I didn't have noise problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBentonHarbor, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our inn. We are happy that you liked our product and felt it was clean and comfortable. We do offer a Superior King room that does have in-room coffee along with a micro-fridge, hair dryers and iron/board. I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benton Harbor
0.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Benton Harbor MI
3.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
#6 of 11 in Benton Harbor
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Benton Harbor - St. Joseph
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph

Property: Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph
Address: 1630 Mall Dr, Benton Harbor, MI 49022-2310
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Benton Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Red Roof Benton Harbor/Saint Joseph, about 30 minutes from both Kalamazoo and South Bend. Red Roof Benton Harbor/Saint Joseph is conveniently located on Interstate 94 on the Historic Michigan Wine Trail. Red Roof Benton Harbor/Saint Joseph is located near Silver Beach County Park, the Berrien County Fairgrounds, Warren Dunes State Park, Indiana Dunes State Park, Washington Park and Red Bud Motor Cross trail as well as several corporate headquarters, including Whirlpool, Bosch and Leco, in addition to nuclear plants Cook and Palisades. We’re close to several colleges; Notre Dame University, Lake Michigan College, Western Michigan University SW Campus, Andrews University, Southwest Michigan College. Enjoy shopping? Check out Orchards Mall, Kohl’s, Target, Wal-Mart, Meijer’s, Best Buy all within 1 mile of the hotel or go to downtown Saint Joseph and visit the many shops and boutiques- it’s only 5 miles away. Come stay with us if you’re going to a show or an event at the Mendel Center we’re just 5 minutes away and we’re also not too far from Southwest Michigan Regional Airport, Kalamazoo/Battle Creek International Airport or Michiana (South Bend) Regional Airport. Numerous restaurants are near the hotel: Applebee’s, Texas Coral, IHOP, Bob Evan’s along with several local favorites: El Rodeo (Mexican), Sophia’s House of Pancakes and China Buffet. If you’re looking for the quick drive thru: There’s a McDonalds, Burger King, Steak n Shake, Wendy’s, Dairy Queen, Taco Bell and KFC within a mile and many pizza places to choose from. The hotel offers free parking for semis and busses and Red Roof always welcomes well behaved pets at no charge. Wireless internet is complimentary in all guest rooms. Wheelchair and ADA rooms are available. The friendly and knowledgeable staff knows how to make guests feel confident, significant, and delighted.This 100% Non-Smoking Red Roof Inn offers not only free Wi-Fi and a flat screen TV in all guestrooms but all long distance calls are complimentary anywhere in the continental US. We offer both a Deluxe Double that includes a microwave/microfridge unit and a Superior King room which offers a large workstation with ergonomic chair and special task lighting as well as microwave/microfridge units and in room coffee makers - a nominal fee may apply for both; please inquire. Free coffee and tea available in the lobby 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benton Harbor Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing