We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bellaire
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grand Victorian B&B
Ranked #3 of 4 Bellaire B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fremont, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A short getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were greeted warmly upon arrival and shown around by Linda. She told us about the town and all the restaurants in the surrounding area. We were served excellent breakfasts and we never needed lunch. As Linda said "I haven't done my job if you need to have lunch!" Ken gave us a very interesting history lesson about the house and the town of Bellaire. I now want to read more about the town and it's origin. The house is beautifully maintained. We had chosen the balcony room but upon our arrival, Linda gave us the option to another larger room for the same rate because the painters had arrived and were painting outside the room and on the balcony. We definitely were well cared for and enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenjf, Owner at The Grand Victorian B&B, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Hello John and Shirley! Thank you for the kind words and we appreciate your feedback. Good news - the painting is almost done and had minimal impact on operations. It was our pleasure to upgrade your stay to accommodate any inconvenience. We hope to see you again soon! - K&L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
149
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westland, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had a wonderful time! The hotel exceeded our expectations. The food was wonderful. The staff was very considerate and meticulous. The other guests were very friendly. The surrounding area was gorgeous. We were about an hour away from Traverse City, and that distance worked fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet place to relax and enjoy northern Michigan, then this is the place. Ken and Linda have created a jewel of a place in a nice town close to a number of northern Michigan attractions (traverse city, charlevoix, pestosky, etc). The inn was clean and was decorated beautifully. Ken gave us a detailed history lesson about the house which was very interesting. The breakfasts we shared with other guests were delicious. Both Ken and Linda are excellent cooks. We stayed in the carriage house which has 2 rooms, but we were fortunate to be able to tour the house before we left. Each room was tastefully decorated and was very clean. While we toured most of the other neighboring cities, we always ended up back at Shorts Brewery having a few beers and a sandwich for dinner. The place is wonderful, the caretakers are wonderful and the area is wonderful. It is pure Michigan at its finest. Go and enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our first trip to this fabulous B&B. The room in the carriage house was spacious, clean and beautifully decorated in the period of the home. Ken and Linda were gracious hosts and very knowledgeable about the history of the home. Home is well maintained and Linda's breakfast was superb! Definitely will share our experience here with friends and family

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleville, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Recently, we spent our anniversary at this beautiful B & B. Our room was spacious and decorated with antiques in the Victorian style in keeping with the time period of the house. The home is very clean and well maintained. The home itself has a unique history, which the owners are happy to share. We stayed two nights and had delicious homemade treats each day when we came back to our room. The breakfasts were decadent and substantial. Linda is a great cook! If you are looking for something to do in the evening, then Short's Brewery is within easy walking distance. The owners belong to the Short's mug club and will let you use their mugs. Water sports, wineries and shopping are all within a short drive. We have stayed at many B & B's. This is the best one! We will be back.

Room Tip: The Blossom Room is spacious with a fireplace, sitting area, four-poster queen bed and en suite bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owosso, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our most recent trip celebrating our anniversary was spent here at this B & B. This was our first visit to this one and will definitely not be our last. The house is absolutely beautiful and the innkeepers have done a great job at maintaining the authenticity of this place. Ken and Linda were a delight to meet and get to know. The breakfast was extravagant and delicious. The history lesson given by Ken was an added bonus. We stayed in the "Queen Anne" room and it was an awesome stay! We really didn't want to leave, but we did miss our children. We will definitely visit this B & B again!

Room Tip: Try to make sure you have your own bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have travelled around the world & have never seen a place that is so amazing! From the beginning to the end, the place is flawless...Ken is so interesting with all the history & Linda is a fantastic cook! We had reserved a small room & were a bit nervous about doing so...What a delight it ended up being...Very romantic with superb atmosphere lighting...We enjoyed the parade balcony enjoying our coffee & reading early in the morning...
The only downfall is, we didn't want to leave & gained a few extra pounds!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michiganboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken F, Owner at The Grand Victorian B&B, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Receiving positive comments from experienced travelers such as yourself is always special! We travel often and strive to use what we find as "best practices" in operating our inn. Sharing your experience with others is greatly appreciated and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellaire
22.5 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,906 reviews
23.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
23.1 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stone Waters Inn
Stone Waters Inn
#2 of 4 in Bellaire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
10.4 mi away
Torch Lake Bed & Breakfast
Torch Lake Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Central Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
13.3 mi away
The House on the Hill
The House on the Hill
#1 of 5 in Ellsworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Victorian B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Victorian B&B

Property: The Grand Victorian B&B
Address: 402 N Bridge St, Bellaire, MI 49615-9591
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Antrim County > Bellaire
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bellaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Victorian B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated as one of America's Top 10 Romantic Inns, the Grand Victorian goes above and beyond in providing your Romantic Getaway. This award-winning B&B has graced the covers of travel magazines and featured in many national B&B promotions. Built in 1895 and immaculately maintained, the home was placed on the National Register in 1978. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing