We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$243
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Legend Cottage Inn(Bellaire)(Great Value!)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
The Grand Victorian B&B(Bellaire)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveler rating
1
3
5
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
3
5
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 10 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

Two round golf outing at Hawk's Eye and we stayed overnight here.
Disappointing. First, you think you're staying at Hawk's Eye when you make the reservation when in fact the unit is in the Shanty Creek Complex. We had to register at a Vacation Properties when we arrived (another drive). Very confusing! No one is on the property where you stay.
Clean, albeit older room. Cheap toiletries, nice towels, no brand coffee, tube TV, limited channels (no FOX News).
Would not stay again.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank ilenemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2015

We realized that we needed to proceed into the resort complex itself to find the Welcome Center where we needed to check in. When we walked in, no one was there. The check-in office has very short office hours. There is NO 24/7 customer service. Even during summer, they close well before you reach there or well before sunset. The cottage and its check-in office are on different locations.
We stayed here instead of paying double or triple the price in Traverse City during the Cherry Festival With that said you get what you pay for, average hotel room in a great location. You are surrounded by two golf courses and the hotel is on a great property, but you just get a basic room, nothing special at all. Would not stay here again, I need a little bit better room than just the basics. Hotel was clean just small and basic. “Lovely location but some things are missing!” For what Shanty Creek is trying to do here you would think that this place would step up to the plate and give the rooms a face lift. Would not stay here again, I need a little bit better room than just the basics. Hotel was clean just small and basic.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dteenergy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

WARNING #1: This is not a hotel, not a resort either, only a cottage. As the name suggested.

WARNING #2: The staff was rude, inpatient, and irresponsible (See complete story below).

WARNING #3: The cottage and its check-in office are on different locations. They are miles apart. Get to the cottage is not enough.

WARNING #4: The check-in office has very short office hours. There is NO 24/7 customer service. Even during summer, they close well before you reach there or well before sunset.

I was very disappointed about their service.

On a Saturday evening, we reached there around 6:15 PM. We got to the cottage. However, we could not find their check in office. I circled around the property several times and called their help line. The receptionist (who knows nothing about the property) only read the instruction on how to find your room keys.

I was confused about the instructions and asked to connect to their employee. However, the employee was not interested in helping you. She seems only read the instruction as well.

Since I was on the property of the cottage (remember the warning above, the office and cottage are on different locations.They are miles apart), I could not understand her instructions. When I tried to clarify her confusing instructions, she was very inpatient and rude. She hanged up the phone. Before she hang up, she only repeated the same instructions again and again without trying to clarify my confusion.

Since I booked the reservation through hotwire.com, I immediately called them. After a long struggle, we finally figured out that the office was in another location.

My story was not done yet.

Even I got to the office, all the office doors were closed. I still could not find my keys.

Also on that locations, there are several building looks like very similar to each other. Still was struggle to follow their instructions. I have asked several local people. They had no idea who the cottage inn was. Luckily, across the parking lot is a big hotel. Their staff were very helpful. Actually even them had hard time to locate the keys.

By accident, I finally figured it out that there was a board on the wall. The board can be opened. and all the keys were hidden inside.

The whole process was very traumatic and tedious. Imagine you need 2 to 3 hrs by yourself to find the hidden keys. It is very frustrating. And the on-call employing was very rude and irresponsible.

So stay away from the cottage. It will ruin your vacation. You need a PhD degree on geology or detective knowledge to find your keys.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liuz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here instead of paying double or triple the price in Traverse City. With that said you get what you pay for, average hotel room in a great location. You are surrounded by two golf courses and the hotel is on a great property, but you just get a basic room, nothing special at all. Would not stay here again, I need a little bit better room than just the basics. Hotel was clean just small and basic.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank dgprouty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We recently stayed at the Legend Cottage Inn in Shanty Creek and absolutely loved the location. It is tucked away in the hills among several beautiful golf resorts. The drive to the hotel was curvy and scenic and I really felt as though I was driving in West Virginia. We first located the hotel but then realized that we needed to proceed into the resort complex itself to find the Welcome Center where we needed to check in. When we walked in, no one was there. A minute later someone appeared from behind the counter and checked us in. We were given an envelope with some directions and sent back on our way. We found the room to be clean but in need of a remodel. When we checked out the next morning at 9:00 a.m., the office where we checked in was locked. We never were able to check out and return our keys. It's a very odd set-up to say the least and we were told if we needed assistance after hours, expect at least a 2 hour wait for someone to show up at the office. So needless to say there are no amenities (besides an outdoor pool) and no breakfast, etc. The resort is quiet and in a beautiful location but for the same price, we could have booked a room at a plush Holiday Inn or Comfort Suites.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhinek1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews