We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late Summer Shanty Creek Shackup”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bellaire
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Went here in the 3rd week of August 2013 with my GF. Beautiful, high-ceilinged central lodge/restaurant overlooking the then-barren slopes and Lake Bellaire, indoor and outdoor pools and an in-hotel spa. The lodge has a funky architectural layout with rooms on upper and lower levels (get the upper, lakeside if you can). It's easy to get lost trying to find your room and then get back to the front desk, but we made that part of the fun of staying. Also, If you don't golf, there's not much to do in the summer except eat (food for both breakfast buffet and dinner was fabulous) swim a little, get a massage at the spa. There are a few points of interest if you want to take a drive into town for some very limited shopping or a movie...we found ourselves hitting the Glen's supermarket just a couple miles down the road for booze and snacks to take back to our room. Rooms well-appointed , clean and comfortable...not sure if $169 a night was the best deal for non-golfers, but we were there for private chill time and the place was not very busy so we were happy about that. Again, gorgeous views, secluded, relaxing.

Room Tip: Get a second level room on the lakeside if you can, who wants to look out at a parking lot?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 219 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

We primarily snowboarded at Schuss although the lodge is right on Summit because Summit is really small and the beginner hill leaves a lot to be desired (we brought a first-timer with us). As for the lodge/hotel; nicely maintained with exposed timbers and giant fireplaces in dining room, pool area and some common areas. Comfy beds and everything seemed pretty new and up to date. Just a few negatives; housekeeping never cleaned our rooms (we stayed for 3 nights), the rooms were hot and I mean blazing inferno hot, I had to keep the balcony door open AND the a/c on at night and the hot tub is not only tiny but also really dirty. Also the hotel does room service...they just don't seem eager to do it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lstennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I hadn't been to Shanty Creek in years. Its been remodeled and updated but still has drafty windows, and some outdated things. There seems to be a lot of wasted space. Tons of conference and ballrooms but no cafeteria, a dinky arcade with like 4 games, etc. Seems they could utilize much more of the space. Still feels a little dark and dreary walking around halls. Could be brightend up. Our room was the king parlor suite at the end of the hall facing the ski hills. I don't think I have ever stayed in such a nice room. Very clean, updated, two tvs, gorgeous bathroom, in room jacuzzi, the most comfortable bed EVER. even pulled off sheets to check the mattress brand and model. It was great. The walls are a bit thin, so you can hear everyone else and what is going on.

Customer service was great. The man that helps bring luggage in is a workhorse and was super helpful and always here. The front desk staff was wonderful! The bartender, Amanda, at the Lakeview lounge was superb! The food was good. Especially the breakfast buffet in the morning!!! yum.

Skiing was ok. Great for the kids but not nearly as many runs and as good skiing as Schuss Mountain. Very affordable lift tickets though and very fun.

Overall very pleased with our stay. We had a great time. Very Family Friendly place.

Room Tip: King Parlor Suite ! Well worth the extra $$$. Such a nice room.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank bitabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

A group stay here for a ski weekend. The rooms were very nice and quiet, and the service was also well done. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet, and omelet station which were enjoyed by all. It was a bit drafty sitting by the big windows overlooking the slopes and Lake Bellaire. The hot tub was too small and crowded for us to use, and their shuttle service to other parts of the resort left much to be desired with way too long wait times.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailorjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We had the condo for a week in January. The property was older, but in very good repair and very clean (oven was a bit dirty, but whose isn't?) All the little things were included example: salt and pepper shakers, well stocked dishes, pots and pans, dishwasher detergent. The bath was well stocked with plenty of towels for 2 people and they even cam in and cleaned mid way through the week. Firewood was stacked and ready for use in the fireplace. The view was spectacular. There was a nice covered porch that we didn't use due to the cold weather but would be great in the spring summer or fall. There is a hotel on property with an indoor and outdoor pool, which we were able to use even though we weren't staying in the hotel. There was shuttle service to all the ski lifts and tubing areas and into the town of Bellaire. Several nice restaurants on property. Only negative was that it was almost an hours drive to Traverse City, which is where we had our snowmobile rental. The golf courses were covered with snow, but they have a great reputation. All the workers were as friendly and helpful as could be.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed in the chalet style rooms for 3 nights and 4 days of golf in the summer of 2013. It is a great resort and very well priced with spectacular views. The Legend is one of the nicest courses I have ever played. Staff were friendly in the hotel portion of the resort. We went there for drinks and food in the evening. It was quiet and they closed pretty early in the evening. It was tough to find anything open past 10pm in the entire area during the week. That would be my only complaint. However, playing cards and drinking with friends in the chalet was not a bad deal either. We are from Toronto, Ontario and will be coming back again in 2014. You cant beat the price, views and courses! Had an amazing time. Anyone who says the hotel is dated and reminds them of the shining are somewhat correct but that's what I found cool about the whole experience. Had a very old time, chalet style feel to the whole resort. Not some posh Hilton Hotel style experience.

Room Tip: I didn't stay in the Hotel portion of the resort. Try to stay in one the chalet style rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thedutchbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Shanty Creek has it all skiing, golfing and a great staff. We have stayed many times at the resort and have experienced all seasons and it is always enjoyable. We love this resort and the Bellaire / Torch Lake area. The golf and skiing are excellent along with the restaurants and lounges at the resort and in the surrounding area. This is a great place to take the family for activities or just with your spouse and special friends to relax and unwind. We will continue to stay at this wonderful place.

Room Tip: A room that faces Lake Bellaire has a breathtaking view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimCNovi_Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellaire
23.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
22.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
367 reviews
20.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme - Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
22.5 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#14 of 40 in Traverse City
363 reviews
24.2 mi away
Bayshore Resort
Bayshore Resort
#4 of 40 in Traverse City
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village

Address: 5780 Shanty Creek Rd, Bellaire, MI 49615-8311
Location: United States > Michigan > Antrim County > Bellaire
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bellaire
Price Range: $124 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Host to the new $10 million Lakeview Hotel & Conference Center renovation, Summit Village offers inspiring views of Lake Bellaire, miles of untouched hardwood forests and out-the-door access to 12 skiing and snowboarding runs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village Hotel Bellaire
Shanty Creek Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing