We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a fun time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bellaire
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for a fun time”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Shanty creek is quite the resort. Golf is offered in the summer at four courses designed by Bill Diddle, Arnold Palmer, Tom Weisscoff and the Schuss Mtn. Course. All levels of golfers will find a course for them. The resort offers a fine restaurant. A number of swimming pools to choose from are another option for activity or relaxation. Fall offers spectacular views of color vistas and a great starting off point for fall color tours. Winter offers great Midwest skiing, both downhill and cross country, plus snowshoeing amongst the pines and hardwoods. The pools, both indoor and outdoor, are open with views of the skiers zipping by. The resort also offers shuttle rides to partake what the Village of Bellaire has to offer, be it bar, an award winning micro-brewery, or first run movie theatre, or fine dining. It's always a "beautiful day at Shanty Creek".

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    65
    37
    26
    13
See reviews for
62
52
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have been staying at Shanty Creek, outside of Bellaire Michigan. The weather is spectacular, great walking weather, and the air is fresh, and invigorating. We had dinner the last two nights at the hotel, service was great and the food was excellent. The salmon on the green was great along with the Beef Bourgogne.

Looking for a get away with in 5 hours of Windsor, Shanty Creek is a great place to go.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool and Lake Bellaire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T-Bone-1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Brook, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed at the Summit Village which was suppose to be nicer than the other Villages- if this was nicer I'm afraid to see what the rest looked liked. Also we paid $230.00 for this room for one night. Arrived late - was encouraged by the lakeview Hotel which was just the check in area - We had a hard time finding the Village and if you are parking in the evening BE VERY CAREFUL as in the parking lot there is nothing to stop your vehicle fro going over the hill. Room was a suite with a pull down bed (your kidding right) with a terrible mattress and like the other reviewer mentioned Lake view room - a joke. We went to the front desk and we were moved to a room with two beds - real beds - but there were totally uncomfortable my back still hurts. Room was dirty and run down - the blanket on the bed had a big obvious stain- Bathroom was dirty and old with tarnished mirror - Just plain Yucky - which my husband to be would have read the reviews

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharen210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bellaire hotels

Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The front desk staff gave us a room that required climbing stairs even though one of us had difficulty with stairs. We returned and asked to be moved: they gave us a new room but were not at all friendly about the move. There is a great deal of noise from adjoining rooms, even after so-called 'quiet hours'. This is not worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glennygutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Creek, OH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our stay at this resort was extremely disappointing. We paid extra for a "Lakeview Room" and were able to see a hill with dead grass, a row of trees, and sliver of lake. Technically, it is a lakeview, unfortunately, not worth the money. Our bed was uncomfortable. Neither my husband, nor myself are large people, and yet we rolled to the center of the bed, so that it felt like we were camping on a slope. When we waited to be seated at the restaurant, the staff discussed at length who would have to take us, as it was the end of the evening, and then we were left for 20 minutes without food or drink. When we received our bill, we were greatly surprised to see the "resort fee." It was exorbitant. Over $30 per day. We did not use any of the resort services, and when we originally reserved the room, we assumed the "extra" charges, above the actual cost, were state & local taxes, not hidden fees. When calling the front desk to challenge these surprise fees, I was passed from person to person, and eventually told by the front desk manager that he has had this conversation with many guests before, but there is nothing he can do about it. Last, but not least, for those of you who choose the resort because it is only 30 miles from Traverse City, please keep in mind that it is actually a one hour drive, as it is all back roads. So, Shanty Creek Resort is inconvenient, poorly maintained, with crummy customer service and exorbitant "resort fees". We will NEVER stay at this resort again, and suggest that you spend your money at another hotel, where you may actually be treated in a fair manner, and receive value for your dollar.

Room Tip: Find another hotel, any room there will be better than a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Iambells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
153 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I visited here for a large motorcycle gathering and the staff was very, very responsive to our needs. Could not ask for nicer people. I had a suite with a full kitchen, king size bed and balcony. So much room I could have had 30 people in for a party! Never had an issue with the elevators. It's near the town but far enough away that you feel like you're in the woods. Good restaurant there and plenty of room to find a place to just sit and read, play with your smartphone, etc. Solid internet connectivity and a big desk to set your computer on. I plan on coming back with my family for a week to relax, take a trip to Mackinac Island, some lighthouses, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silvervalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

room was ok clean yes fridge and microwave, with a balcony. you do half to wait for elevator near convention center. hotel was cool they even did fireworks that was very cool. did not use pool. I did golf at the summit very fun and its a true challenge. called the front desk once and they took a long time to answer.

Room Tip: good for a short visit 3 days or less
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellaire
2.6 mi away
Schuss Village-Shanty Creek Resorts
21.9 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,981 reviews
22.4 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Grand Traverse Resort and Spa
19.4 mi away
Boyne Mountain Resort
Boyne Mountain Resort
#1 of 4 in Boyne Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
15.6 mi away
All Seasons Resort
All Seasons Resort
#1 of 4 in Kalkaska
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village

Property: Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village
Address: 5780 Shanty Creek Rd, Bellaire, MI 49615-8311
Location: United States > Michigan > Antrim County > Bellaire
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bellaire
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Host to the new $10 million Lakeview Hotel & Conference Center renovation, Summit Village offers inspiring views of Lake Bellaire, miles of untouched hardwood forests and out-the-door access to 12 skiing and snowboarding runs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village Hotel Bellaire
Shanty Creek Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing