We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not get adjoining rooms unless you know the people in the next room.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Schuss Village-Shanty Creek Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Schuss Village-Shanty Creek Resorts to your Saves list
Schuss Village-Shanty Creek Resorts
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1826 Schuss Mountain Lane, Bellaire, MI 49615   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bellaire
Swartz Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Do not get adjoining rooms unless you know the people in the next room.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

My husband and I stayed 1 night in March '08. It was late in the ski season so not many people were there. We were going up for a romatic weekend so when we saw that the parking lot was nearly empty we were happy. Upon arrival check in was very easy. The room looked great as it had been recently remodeled. Everything was great until we realized that we had an adjoining room that had a 1 1/2 inch gap at the bottom of the door. Talk about lack of privacy. At first we thought no big deal there probably isn't anyone in that room since there didn't seem to be many people staying at that time of year. Boy were we wrong! We were staying next to the loud family of 4. It was horrible because they were so loud. We should have asked to switch rooms but we were already settled. The only way we could get away from the loud family was to spend some time in the shower. I have to say the large tile shower is great. The water was hot and they provide Bath and Body Works shampoo/conditioner. On the upside the balcony was great...if you don't mind that every balcony is connected. But the view is AWESOME!

We ate dinner at the bar in the lobby. Service was slow at first but then the bartender started waiting on us and he was great. Food was good enough. Bartender was great, he gave us the drinks that the waitress ordered by accident.

Overall I would go back but I would NOT stay in an adjoining room. I'm sure this resort was a very posh place to stay back in it's prime and they are trying very hard to bringing it back up to the standards that people expect today. Would probably be great for a ski weekend with friends.

  • Liked — Newly remodled
  • Disliked — The adjoining room factor
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Western Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

Schuss Village is very old and dirty. It needs to be remodled (or like one of the employees told me, it needs to be torn down and rebuilt). Thank goodness we only stayed one night. Upon check in I asked and recieved an upgraded room. I'm not even curious what our original room would have been like. The carpet was dirty, there was a musty moldy smell throughout the very small room. The water pressure was barely enough to shower and the 4 of us immediately ran out of hot water. The AC was very poor and the beds were old and sagging. The only positive was the staff was friendly. We disliked our stay so much that we didn't sleep much and got up very early and left. Apparently the word is out because the entire place was like a ghost town. I know travel is down but compared to the rest of our trip in Northern Michigan this place is suffering more. I would definitely try the Summit or Cedar Village if I returned but in no way would consider going back to Schuss Village unless they re-build.

  • Liked — The staff was friendly inspite of the circumstances.
  • Disliked — The room was smelly and dirty.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank candostill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

We stayed at the Cedar River resort for an anniversary trip and really enjoyed it there. The rooms were very clean and they were also very large. We visited during off season so there was not a lot to do in the surrounding areas nor were there very many other guests. Most of the shops in the downtown area were closed for whatever reason but Gaylord and Traverse City weren't very far away for shopping. The resort itself has many hiking/bike trails and pools which were all very nice and clean. Everything in the Cedar River area was very well maintained and the staff was very pleasant. We drove through the other areas and Cedar River and Summit seemed to be the best maintained properties. We drove through Schuss and felt like we were driving into 1970. We were both very pleased with our accomodations and would definitely stay at this resort again.

  • Liked — Room with jacuzzi/fireplace/balcony
  • Disliked — Bellaire is in the middle of nowhere
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank goldenretrieversrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

Even though we don't golf, my family had a great time at Shanty Creek. We stayed in the Summitt portion. It had medium sized outdoor and indoor pools. The outdoor heated pool is in the back beneath the dining area and overlooking the lake below. It was never crowded.

Stayed in the condo's. Rooms were a little dated, but not bad. Nice kitchen area. Beds were very comfortable. Maid service only comes once a week. No wi-fi in the rooms. Had to go to the lobby to get internet.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. They seemed to enjoy helping us with directions, dinner suggestions, sight seeing, etc. It makes a big difference when the staff is outgoing and friendly.

We walked several trails. The hiking trails could be better marked. Once we got to the top of the mountain, and the trail markings just ended.

Biking was pretty difficult due to the large hills. You have to be in pretty good shape to bike around the three resorts.

The tennis courts were nice and rarely used except by my family.

Most of the condo's were vacant which I found unusual since it is such a beautiful area. I heard it gets very crowded in the winter for all the skiing areas. Overall, a great resort in the summer and not too far from to Traverse City, Sleeping Bear Dunes, casinos, Petoskey, and Mackinaw.

  • Liked — Resort offers many different activities.
  • Disliked — No internet in rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PnC_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toledo, ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

i took my 9 and 6 year old daughters for new years holiday 2007/2008. we stayed 3 days & it was by far the best new years i've ever had. the mountain is awesome and the staff operating lifts were so nice and helpful with teaching and helping my kids get on and off the lift. it was only their 3rd time snowboarding but did great. our room was right in front of the bunny hill, we could literally strap into our boards 10 feet from our room. also nice for taking breaks. the indoor and outdoor pool were very well maintained and very close to our room as well. the staff was friendly and accommidating, i forgot a hairdryer and they brought one to my room. the shuttles ran nonstop in between the different resorts that make up shanty creek. the family new years eve party was a blast and well worth the money. all in all shanty creek is a great place for snowboarding/skiing..families and friends. i plan to make it a new years tradition vacation.

  • Liked — location/access to the mountain
  • Disliked — no atm's ANYWHERE
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lives4vaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Shanty Creek. It was just my husband and I, and we stayed in the Cedar Creek hotel part. You can ski in and out from here, and also they have a free shuttle that will take you over to the other resorts--Summitt and Schuss. Schuss has a fun nightspot/restaurant called Ivan's if you want a little nightlife. Our room had a beautiful view, separate bedroom from the living area with a fireplace, huge bathroom and a small dining area with wet bar and mini 'fridge, microwave and coffemaker. Room was pretty quiet, even though it was a busy, President's Day weekend. Cons--very weak shower pressure, could hardly rinse out my hair, funny smelling gas fireplace (but it was nice), and the whirlpool tub, which was very large, had poor-working jets and a yellow scum when filled (yuck!-don't use it!).

We are green and blue-run skiiers, and the choice of slopes was fine for us. We only ski once a year or so. The lifts were fast, slopes well-maintained, and the help was friendly and helpful. One warning--since the snowfall in Michigan has been GREAT this year, ski slopes are very busy, and Saturdays are the worst. We skiied on Thursday night and Friday and it was great, but Saturday was crowded and had a ski race going on. Also, lots of little kids not paying any attention to what they are doing--watch out. And showboarders--watch out, again! However, if you go on a slower day, you should have a wonderful experience if you are not expecting "out west" mountain slopes.

We ate at the Italian restaurant on premise, and the food was good, not great. Service was good. Prices were high. We also went to Bellaire and ate at Lulu's--really good.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — whirlpool tub
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonshine-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

I stayed here years ago and found it very dated and humdrum. The rooms were clearly not taken care of.

I had heard the Resort was updating and wanted to see myself all the changes. When we arrived I was in awe of the way the main lobby changed. You could actually see the beautiful view on the lakes and mountains when you walk up the front stairway. The greetings of the small waterfall scene on both sides of the stairs was a nice added touch. The new carpet that opens up to dark wood and colors of brilliant gold and dark browns and burgundy fill the room and make it explode with brilliance. Friendly desk clerk and fast check in was a bonus.

We stayed in one of the new updated rooms and was equally overwhelmed by the beautiful change that the decor had given to the room. Dark wood furniture with brilliant orange and golds. The room was exceptionally cleaned and well put together. We were greeted by the housekeeping staff with a smile and asked if we needed anything more to make our stay nicer. We were very pleased with all the service we received from them.

The concierge desk was very helpful, easily found and she was also very friendly and smiling.
One can definitely feel that the employees here like being here and how guests are wanted and appreciated.
The food was great in the new Lakeview Dining Room. The menu was good but could use a few more selections but what we did have was excellent. The hostess and servers were polite and smiling the whole time we were there. The view was outstanding.

I will definitely be back this summer and will recommend your beautiful new resort to all my friends, family and co workers.

Thank you for the best time we have had in a long long time.

  • Liked — Everything was great
  • Disliked — more menu choices
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Anon32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellaire
23.6 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#4 of 41 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,794 reviews
24.3 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#8 of 41 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
21.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme – Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village
0.5 mi away
Shanty Creek Resorts - Cedar River Village
4.6 mi away
Stone Waters Inn
Stone Waters Inn
#4 of 4 in Bellaire
4.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schuss Village-Shanty Creek Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schuss Village-Shanty Creek Resorts

Address: 1826 Schuss Mountain Lane, Bellaire, MI 49615
Location: United States > Michigan > Antrim County > Bellaire
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bellaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Schuss Village-Shanty Creek Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 640
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Schuss Village-Shanty Creek Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuss Village-Shanty Creek Hotel Bellaire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing