We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Nice Surprise!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shanty Creek Resorts - Cedar River Village

Shanty Creek Resorts - Cedar River Village
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shanty Creek Resorts - Cedar River Village
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
164 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

I wasn't really looking forward to staying here because we had stayed at Shanty Creek (hotel and condo on different trips) and we were unimpressed. Cedar River was very nice and we were so pleased. We stayed in a suite in the lower level (basement) that had a sliding door leading out to the pool. The two rooms were clean and bright and cheerful. The bathroom was large and had a stall shower and a whirlpool type tub. We paid $179.00 per night with the AAA rate. The negatives were...the grill for breakfast was not very good , the pillows and sheets and blankets were not the nicest and the air conditioner really blew a ton of cold air right at the bed. A nice amenity is the free shuttle that will drive one to the other villages or even into Bellaire. I will be staying here again.
Check out my other reviews on Trip Advisor and you will see that I am a harsh, but fair : ) critic!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
4
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

My company this past year had an extended business convention at the resort. We stayed at the Cedar River Resort. The rooms had been remodeled and were 5 stars. The grounds were kept well and made for a nice setting viewing from our balconies. Our meeting room was well laid out and the staff did a great job servicing our needs. We had dinner at the summit village and the food was top notch, along with the service. Our large group golfed one afternoon. The course was challenging and fun. The staff again was very accommodating allowing us to do a shotgun start.

My company has plans again in the near future for another business meeting at Shanty Creek. We recommend the facility to any business for this type of need.

Kevin Kobbins
Energy Division Manger
Hamilton Farm Bureau

Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Propane_Business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake villa, illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

Cedar Village was very nice. Loved our clean, modern room (except for being over the loud air conditioners) and loved the outdoor pool which we had to ourselves almost every afternoon. The front desk staff was neutral - not extremeley friendly or helpful but answered direct questions sufficiently. Housekeeping was very good, daily service was unexpected but appreciated. Loved the full kitchen (we had a 1BR suite with full kitchen). The indoor pool at Lakeview hotel was disgusting. Obviously the "$10 million renovation" did not include the pool area. Cracked tile, moldy grout, and brown scum did not compliment the very 70's dark cave-like decor! The fitness center also looked very outdated and basic. My impression of the Lakeview hotel was overall not that good. It was just okay, I wouldn't recommend it. The village at Schuss we saw when we visited Ivan's. The food there was not very good, and the service not very good. The outer appearance of Schuss village is very outdated, in drastic need of renovation and updating. Landscaping and grounds were very pretty everywhere. The kids eat and play free was really a rip off. The kids menu is the same lousy 5 options everywhere. How many times can my kids eat mac n' cheese or a frozen pizza? One night we ordered an appetizer for my son (quesadilla) that was less $ than a kids menu item and the waitress said it didn't qualify since it wasn't from the kids' menu. Service at the pro shop was inconsistent. It was sometimes very good, and sometimes very bad. One day we had the definite feeling we were being turned away (sorry no golf carts available) because we had kids with us. All of the shops at Summit were closed the entire time. The one restaurant (Arnie's) at Cedar River was not open for dinner and both restaurants are closed on Mondays, and Cedar River has no room service, which was inconvenient for us one day. Downtown Bellaire is cute but suffering from the economy. The spa doesn't do nails (?) and that was a bummer but my husband said the massage he got was good. The wireless internet was awesome. Overall I would consider staying at Cedar Village again but definitely not at either of the other 2 villages. I probably wouldn't recommend this resort to someone else since the quality was so inconsistent from village to village and with the staff service.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momof2illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Mi
Level Contributor
121 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2008

Stayed here for the weekend with another couple in the 2-bedroom corner suite---WOW! Very spacious, clean and more than enough room to relax. Both bedrooms were large with plenty of storage space. And the bathrooms were enormous! Each bedroom had a balcony overlooking the golf course. Linens were fluffy and very clean. Had breakfast at the Grille downstairs and it was adequate but overpriced. Staff was very accommodating. Common space decor was a little stark--non existent would be more like it. But the suite was so nice and very relaxing that this could be overlooked. We'd stay here again.

  • Liked — Beautiful spacious suite
  • Disliked — A little remote
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Janice1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellaire
0.5 mi away
Schuss Village-Shanty Creek Resorts
24.2 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#6 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hawks Eye Golf Resort
Hawks Eye Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Bellaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
20.7 mi away
Grand Traverse Resort and Spa
15.7 mi away
All Seasons Resort
All Seasons Resort
#1 of 4 in Kalkaska
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanty Creek Resorts - Cedar River Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanty Creek Resorts - Cedar River Village

Property: Shanty Creek Resorts - Cedar River Village
Address: 2348 Troon S, Bellaire, MI 49615
Location: United States > Michigan > Antrim County > Bellaire
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Bellaire
Hotel Class:4 star — Shanty Creek Resorts - Cedar River Village 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Shanty Creek Resorts - Cedar River Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanty Creek Resorts - Cedar River Village Hotel Bellaire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing