We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf course”

Shanty Creek Resorts
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Bellaire
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An iconic ski and golf resort in northern Michigan, Shanty Creek Resorts is a three-resort experiences in one. Its three villages of SCR (Summit, Cedar River and Schuss) span 4,500 acres across hardwood forests, rolling meadows and atop mountain bluffs with miles of scenic vistas. With nearly 500 lodging options, multiple dining venues, four award-winning golf courses, two ski mountains, an 8-lane tubing park, six terrain parks, and a fitness center and wellness spa, plus over 35,000 sq ft of conference and special event space, Shanty Creek Resorts has been an Up North destination for generations.
Hilliard, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great golf course”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were visiting torch Lake and decided to play golf. The first course we played was Summit. It was not in very good condition. Then we played at Hawk's Eye. It was an excellent course. The fairways were in great condition. The greens were great and rolled fairly.
I would recommend this course if you are in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KAB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    45
    25
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottville, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Enjoyed dinner at the resort. Dinner was very good. Live entertainment was also enjoyable. We stayed longer than planned to listen to the guitar player.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyne City, Michigan
1 review
“Beautiful Rooms/Friendly Staff”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I stay at Shanty Creek a couple of times a year and love it for a short getaway. The remodeled rooms are beautiful, extremely comfortable, and the views are amazing. From the front desk staff to housekeeping, everyone has always been extremely friendly and helpful. The only reason I didn't give it a "5" rating is due to the thin walls - you can hear pretty much everything in the halls and the rooms next to you. My recommendation - if the resort isn't full, ask for a room without neighbors!

Visited October 2012
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level 6 Contributor
505 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Great location, close, etc.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great location and convenient to the Traverse City area...reasonably groomed slopes, if you're a skier, and fun bar, hanging-out place. Up until recently, they also had a vendor who rented snowmobiles...would like to see that come back!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Al J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Amazing Resort!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We attended a conference and stayed two nights. Our room had an awesome wood burning fireplace with an view that really took your breathe away. The resort and rooms were recently remodeled and everything was very clean. We did have breakfast in the restaurant and had great food and service. We stayed in march and the snow had melted and it wasn't quite golf season yet. However, the resort was so beautiful and close to downtown bellaire and traverse city that we had plenty of things to do. We were very impressed with the resort and plan to return. For the price you really get a lot of bang for your buck!

Visited May 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank zprior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanty Creek Resorts also viewed

Bellaire, Antrim County
 

Been to Shanty Creek Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing