We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below basic...almost like camping!”
Review of Emerald Isle Hotel

Emerald Isle Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beaver Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emerald Isle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beaver Island
Reviewed October 5, 2010

As another reviewer said...very basic. No kleenex in the bathroom or paper towels in the kitchenette. No phones, no hair dryer, no directions on how to use the Dish TV system. Although it appeared to have hundreds of channels, many of them said they were "locked". Very frustrating that they didn't have ESPN for Football coverage on a Saturday in October! Beds are old and mattresses need to be replaced. Service was poor. Staff was not in when we got off the ferry and walked to the hotel. We waited almost an hour for the owner to return and he still seemed very disorganized, enough so that he had us come back later to sort out our reservations. Even in October the room was so warm we slept with the windows open all night. Vending machine was out of order. We were told the Lodge was a better hotel, but it was already closed for the season. Next time we go we'll try something else.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dre51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 27 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2010

This hotel is very basic......no phones, no kleenex, no paper towels. The rooms were clean, the staff really friendly, and it was a very nice roomy efficiency. It is obvious this place needs some yardwork done but I don't believe that is a priority here. Also, I would request a room on the 2nd floor because there is noise from the street if you keep your windows open. All in all, it is a basic hotel but clean and efficiently run.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jegaPentwater_Mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

The owner of the hotel, Bill Thomas, is a gracious host. He provides pick-up from the ferry to take guests to the hotel even though it is about a block away from the dock. He also was very gracious and served as a tour guide to us, providing an excellent recommendation for a hike through beautiful woods, taking us to a historic site and the trailhead, and then picking us up at the end of the trail.

The standard room was very spacious, with two queen-sized beds, a microwave, stove, and small refrigerator. The hotel is very clean. Although the hotel does not provide shampoo or a hairdryer in the room, and the TV did not have cable service, it is a friendly, cost-effective place to stay for a very relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnArborMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

We arrived on the Ferry and the hotel staff met us at the boat dock. We stayed in a suite with a queen bed in each bedroom. The living room was large and the kitchen was full size and set up to accomodate 6. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly. The management made sure we had directions to all the tourists sites and the best beaches. Each evening was spent watching the wildlife on the island. We loved our stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dancin360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2006

This is a basis hotel. There are no phones in the rooms. We had a suite, which was nice and would be great for a family. The hotel was close enough to walk about anywhere. There was no staff available in the evening or early morning. The morning we left it was pouring rain and we had to walk in the rain to the Ferry Station. Also not much open for an early morning breakfast.
We would consider staying again if we return with the family.

Stayed: May 2006
5  Thank noonieboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2005

We had a suite (two bedrooms, living room, and full kitchen). It was very clean and obviously recently refurbished (freshly painted walls, new wall to wall carpeting, and handsome oak woodwork). The living area and kitchen were spacious. There is not a lot of furniture: the living area needed at least one comfortable chair, probably two as it is after all in a suite (it did have a lone sofa), and the bedrooms needed dressers or at least tables larger than the small ones provided, so you can spread out your stuff. If you are a light-sleeper or treasure privacy you should ask for a second storey room, as around the first floor rooms there is considerable close pedestrian and/or vehicular traffic (two sides), and as the building itself is old, noise, especially footsteps, from the second floor are quite audible. It’s worth keeping in mind that 1) there are no phones in the rooms, and most cell phones don’t function on the island (there is a common phone in the central lobby, so bring a calling card), and 2) there is no A/C, but rather ceiling fans. In the summer it can (and did when we were there) get quite hot and humid. There is no staff on duty in the evening and only intermittently during the day, but you can reach staff (if in need) by phone. Two drawbacks we experienced: 1) the dishwasher was barely functional, so we wound up washing our dishes by hand; 2) the linens on the roll-out sofa hadn’t been changed and were soiled.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2005

We have stayed twice at the Emerald Isle and have found it a pleasant place to stay when visiting Beaver Island. We only experienced one significant problem (no hot water one afternoon) and that was quickly corrected. We have found the staff to be nice and the accomodations acceptable. It is important to note that the hotel is sparse in some ways. There are no telephones in the rooms and there is no one at the front desk during night time and early mornings. In addition, it is our feeling that the hotel could be improved considerably if they would offer an occasional opportunity for people to get together over coffee and cookies or whatever but that doesn't seem to be the way people do things on Beaver Island. The island is a very unique place and we love it but it is a very relaxed place where people tend to take things very slowly and matter of factly. This can be frustrating at times but if you're prepared for it, the Emerald Isle can be a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank robd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Emerald Isle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Isle Hotel

Address: 37985 Kings Hwy, Beaver Island, MI 49782-5197
Location: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Beaver Island
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beaver Island
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing