We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beaver Island Lodge is a great place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beaver Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beaver Island Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Beaver Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beaver Island Lodge is a great place to stay!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Great food, Great staff, great service, and great place to stay!!! Dana and her crew can't be beat. They go above and beyond. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The hotel is conveniently located near downtown.

Room Tip: Get a lake view! It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamston, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed at The Beaver Inn Lodge two nights, a week or so before the ‘official’ opening and if you want to decompress, leave the TV and phone (no land line in the room and cell coverage is iffy) behind, listen to the wind in the trees and the water breaking on the shore, if the sounds of birds and bees seems to be calling you, then this is the place to go. Believe it or not, the world will go on without you and will still be there when you get back.

We had the entire lodge to ourselves the first night, no staff (we had what we needed), no restaurant (there are other places to eat in town), the plumbing worked, the heat worked, the lights came on and went off with the wall switch, we had clean towels and clean sheets and what else do you need? I will admit that having the entire lodge to ourselves was a unique experience and ‘felt’ a bit odd but it was peaceful and quiet and just exactly what we both needed. Once we got used to looking around and not seeing anyone else it was pretty sweet.

We had planned on walking from the boat dock but Dana was there to pick us up. She drove us the short distance to the lodge and being first timers on the island we picked her brain for the ‘must see’ highlights of the island. She supplied us with a few and the phone numbers of two car rental facilities. We had planned on walking to one or the other but she told us they would be happy to deliver a vehicle to us at the lodge (don’t plan on walking everywhere, this isn’t Mackinaw) and the next day we went exploring after walking a couple miles to the rental place we chose. It was an exceptional day for us.

I read a review about how old, about how run down and about how awful this facility is. I’ve read reviews that were pretty tepid and some that were glowing. If you’re looking for a Holiday or Ramada Inn, you had best stay on the mainland for you’re not going to find one here. Yes, there were things that weren’t shiny and new, there were things that could have used a bit of attention but this isn’t a national chain, this is run by a husband and wife who are two of the nicest and most gracious of people and doing a pretty good job. Everything in our room worked just fine, not the latest and greatest, not stainless appliances and the counter tops weren’t granite but everything worked and the counter tops did what counter tops do, they collected ‘stuff’.

We wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again. The peace, the quiet, the 100 or so steps to Lake Michigan, the Sunsets (didn’t get up in time to see the sunrise) were all great big plus signs in my opinion. This isn’t Mackinaw Island with wall to wall people and lot’s of tourist traps; this is Beaver Island, 180 degrees different and pretty sweet if you need to ‘get away’ and let the blood pressure settle down a bit.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7. No idea what the others would be like but it was great for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We recently stayed at the Beaver Island Lodge on Beaver Island, Michigan. It was the week following Labor Day, so the main tourist season was over, but the weather was perfect. The lodge prides itself on its rustic character and old-time feel. There are no televisions or telephones in the rooms and cellular service is,at best, spotty. The rooms are adequate, but the setting and the views of Lake Michigan are amazing.
If you are not looking for luxury and want a very quiet, relaxing experience, you might consider the Beaver Island Lodge.
There was minimal staff on site. When we got up in the morning and needed a shuttle to the ferry dock, the entire place appeared deserted....a rather unnerving experience. A young lady did finally arrive and got us to the dock in time to catch the ferry.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We arrived at the Lodge and were given our room keys by the one staff member who was also waitressing the restaurant at the same time. We were disgusted with our 2nd floor room. The room was dirty with a shower wall that was coming apart, ancient kitchenette and stained, old, threadbare bed cover. As if it wasn't bad enough we then noticed that the blinds for the doorwall were literally coming off the wall and would not cover more than half the doorwall! There was a wasps nest hanging outside the next room's window, the other room next to us had a screen door off the hinges and the room had a weird smell. We complained and after 10 min of hemming and hawing we were given a "nicer" room on the 3rd floor. Well it was bigger and slightly better bathroom but still very dusty and dirty and in desperate need of some updates. We were even more disgusted the next day when another guest saw us coming out of our room and asked us if we had tiny flies in our room because she had hundreds covering the walls and ceiling. As if all this wasn't bad enough when we came back to the room later the bed had been made but our dirty towels were simply re-hung up (not even neatly) and the floor was still unvacuumed and the counter still dirty- this is what they call cleaning the room!!?? Grossed us out to think what else had not been cleaned from previous guests. My husband and I have stayed in some not so nice hotels but this is the first time we have left a night early- we simply were not comfortable there. I can't believe this hotel got any ratings over 2 stars, what a horrible experience for us.

Room Tip: If you must stay in this dump you better spring for the most expensive rooms on the third floor, onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsie, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was a special trip for my 85 year old mother and me just to spend some quiet time together. We arrived on the Island on Thursday morning and took a tour of the island. The tour actually took us to the Lodge so we had a glimpse of it before we actually checked in. I knew right away that I had made the right choice in a place to spend some quality time.

After our tour was over, we called the Lodge and they came right over to the boat dock and picked us up. While it really is only about 1/2 mile to the Lodge, it wasn't something my mom was up to walking and I was not up to carrying her piggyback either. We were glad for the ride!

We were checked right in. Lodge is older, but in good condition. It does have the smell of a summer lake cabin though. That actually just made it more quaint. The Lodge is appointed in antiques of varying periods.

I had reserved room 2. I had read that it had the very best view of the lake and sunsets. It is a one bedroom suite with a kitchenette & living room. Bathroom is very small, but functional. The couch makes out into a queen size bed. There was a clock radio on the bedroom, but not plugged in. No TV by design. There was a radio but we didn't even try it to see if it worked. Kitchen had a stove, refridgerator, microwave & fully stocked with dishes, towels, etc.

The view. IT is everything everyone has said. Spectacular. Unfortunately, the weather did not cooperate, so we did not get our sunset. We did set outside our room and enjoyed the evening. It was very peaceful, with woods around us. One down side, there was not really access to the water side.

There is a resturant, Nina's, in the Lodge. I will review that separately. They are only open for dinner. That meant that there was no place for breakfast. Luckily the Lodge did provide us a ride back to the boat dock in the morning and we walked to a small diner for some morning grub.

Yes, i would recommend this place to others, but warn that it is very expensive. It is not a luxuriously place, but it is all about the location!

Room Tip: Room 2 for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbylf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I really wanted to like it. The view from our room was amazing. The room itself was OK. We knew ahead of time that there wasn't' a TV, but there wasn't even a radio either. The clock radio wasn't set. The refrigerator wasn't plugged in..so we put in our drinks only to find them warm 3 hours later. We couldn't find anyone during the day when we needed some towels. One of our lights burnt out, the bathroom fan didn't work. They have something going on where you can't get a beer from the adjoining restaurant and bring up to your room. Not sure why. We got the 3rd degree for carrying a beer from our room outside. Also, the coffee creamer that they left for us for our little coffee pot was spoiled. We never got any refills on the cups or sugar and creamer after we used them up the first night.
Like the others wrote..no soundproofing and the water pressure was horrible.
Truly, reading this list...it was all small stuff all weekend, but it added up. is what really disappointed us. But we paid $135 a night for a room, without ANY service. I finally got my towels, after I took my shower and used my wet towels. I wonder who you were supposed to call if there was an emergency? Because we couldn't' find ANYONE working there during the day. If the room was $70 a night...OK. but we paid a lot of money for just a a room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gail E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

8 of us adults spent 1 night at the Beaver Island Lodge on this island in northern Lake Michigan. It was great! Ray (the owner) and Melissa were both fantastic! Ray picked us up at the SJX airport and returned us to the airport the next day. We had 2 standard rooms (2nd floor) and 2 suites (3rd floor). All rooms were very nice with balconies and excellent northerly views of Lake Michigan. The rooms were all very clean and beds super comfortable, all with equipped kitchenettes. Exceeded our expectations for our first time visit to this rustic laid back island. We would definitely return to the Beaver Island Lodge.
The lodge has a reportedly excellent restaurant and bar but it was closed the night we stayed. So Ray loaned his van so we could see the island and try the other island pubs and restaurants. (Get used to waving at everyone you passed!). We had a good outside pub lunch at Shamrocks and full breakfast at Dalwinnie Bakery, both in town. Dinner & drinks were also very good at Stoney Acre Grill & Pub (Irish theme) just south of town.
Even though we all flew in private aircraft, public air service to the SJX airport is supplied by Fresh Air Aviation operating cute twin engine aircraft from Charlevoix on the Michigan mainland. You can also take a ferry to the island.

Room Tip: All room were nice. The suite has a living room but in the standard room you can lay in bed and see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank flyboybob5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beaver Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaver Island Lodge

Property: Beaver Island Lodge
Address: 38210 Beaver Lodge Dr, Beaver Island, MI 49782-5136
Location: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Beaver Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Beaver Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beaver Island Lodge, with its captivating location and view of Lake Michigan's spectacular sunsets and diverse moods, make it a favorite resort hotel. Rich in tradition, the Beaver Island Lodge has been "Host to the Island Traveler" since 1950. Surrounded by a plush forest of hardwood and evergreen stands and nestled on a bluff overlooking a private beach below, the Beaver Island Lodge is the ideal getaway for the water and nature enthusiast. In addition, the unique location of the lodge provides an excellent location for weddings and small business conferences. The Lodge has hosted many spectacular weddings on our private beach and our bluff overlooking the water and outer islands. The Restaurant at the Beaver Island Lodge has an unparalleled, innovative menu & flavor profiles. The Restaurant hosts an annual fall wine pairing dinner at the end of the season that should not be missed. A sample of one of these can be found on our menu page. The view from the dining room is world class. The Restaurant and lounge are a popular destination for spectacular Northern Michigan sunsets. At the last flicker of sunlight it is not unusual for the entire restaurant and lounge to erupt in full applause. The Beaver Island Lodge and The Restaurant at Beaver Island Lodge operate seasonally from Memorial weekend through mid September and welcome you to join us for your next island getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaver Island Hotel Beaver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing