We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nightmare!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Valley Hotel and Resort
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nightmare!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at this location back 5 or 6 years ago when I could have written a favourable review however this property has slipped downhill in a terrible way. The building is showing wear as well as the rooms with beat up furniture, worn carpet, dirty halls, just an over all disappointment.
The staff are also very poorly trained, when spoken to about an issue they refer you to a comment card rather than taking responsibility for an issue.
The pool on Sunday is not only for quests but for Staff & Family so our experience to sit and relax in a quiet area was more than disappointing with children running, screaming and just being inconsiderate to other paying guests.
Without being informed the dinning room closes on Sunday nights at 8:00 PM so we again were disappointed and had to find alternative source for supper since we showed up at 8:10 PM to find the kitchen was closed.
We had reserved a King Bed Suite but when we arrived the room as my wife and another couple traveling with us all agreed was "Very Creepy" so we changed to a regular room with a King bed. The staff told me they could not change the rate that day, and that it could be done the next day on Monday when management were available. I spoke with the GM and she assured me she would look after the charges for our room. So far it has not been done. Now we know why the staff are so poorly trained when a GM cannot live up to her own word!! - should we fill out a comment card???
Find alternative accommodations in near by Saginaw so you are not disappointed

Room Tip: Choose Alternative Accommodations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    30
    23
    22
See reviews for
32
28
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alger, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have been going to Bay Valley for years and have watched it change hands many times. The golf course is challenging, and after a change in ownership again, seems to be going in the right direction. Yes, the hotel is older but they are updating the rooms as well as remodeling the entire complex, which is why we decided on having the wedding/reception there. We were not disappointed! The staff was great, the food excellent, and the wedding and reception was one to remember. All 250 guests were comfortable in the newly remodeled reception area, there was plenty of room, and we didn't want for anything. Here's a BIG shout out to Bay Valley, and I highly recommend it to anyone thinking of having a wedding there...........

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene6685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K, Manager at Bay Valley Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your response!

We are glad you included us in your son's big day!!

Bay Valley Staffing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

For a busy holiday weekend I paid a reasonable price and received an OK experience. This hotel does not have a resort feel at all. It needs some serious updates in order to keep up. Even if I was not given the room I booked, my room was clean, but it had a strong odor of harsh chemicals. Other than that, the bed linen were clean, the wifi was at a good speed, and the staff was friendly. If you are going to stay here, do not go with high expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13Undercover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Friends have been coming here for several years. This experience was less than anticipated. Friday night supper took 1 1/2 hours and when I received my "medium cooked" steak, the cow mooed back at me. After sending it back for more cooking it came out rare at best but then they forgot to warm up the rice so it was cold. Our group cancelled the Saturday supper and went elsewhere. Saturday morning shower was a real treat with cool to cold water. It seems the whole hotel was out of warm water. My wife complained of a "lumpy" bed while mine was OK. Most hotels provide daily shampoo, conditioner and soap. This one provided one "sample" container / package for the 3 day stay. Luckily, we brought our own. The golf experience suffered because of the rains they had so it was less than par but I'll blame the weather on soaked fairways; squishy tee decks; and mud bunkers. The beverage cart girl was great except for the fact that she had to cover the whole golf course so it took her way over an hour between visits. On the hot and humid Sunday, we didn't see her from hole number 7 thru hole number 15 which was far too long to be without any beverage (not talking beer either). Understaffed was the problem not the girl herself. Finally, this is NOT a resort but merely an old hotel in need of upgrading. My rating above terrible is only because of the friendly staff who tried to do their best. The owners need to pour some money into this place to bring it up to snuff and provide resort style customer service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tryin4birdies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bay City hotels

Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This marks our 8th consecutive year for our couples Golf Weekend at Bay Valley and plans are already in the works for number 9 next year. We recognized on our first visit 8 years ago thay Bay Valley is an older Hotel, very much in need of modernization. We have noticed changes and improvements over the year and while I doubt that it will ever return to 4/5 star accommodation, we celebrate it for what it offers. They have a first class golf course attached to the hotel. The rooms are clean and quiet and you get a great Continental Breakfast in the morning before starting your day. It is close to great dining in both Saginaw and Bay City. The staff are very friendly and helpful and that goes a long way toward making us repeat customers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I would give this hotel a poor rating, but because the staff were so great I will say it's an average hotel. Definitely NOT a resort. The hotel is in major need of a remodel. The room we stayed in had 3 lamps, so it was very dark. Carpet and bedding showed it's battle wounds from it's years of use. There was a bunch of spider webs with dead spiders hanging out in the corner of the room by an electrical outlet. A plus was the many outlets in the room, 4 girls in a room, and we all had some sort of electronic device & lots of hair appliances, but had no problem because of the availability of outlets. I wore shoes the entire trip, and almost wished I had brought flip flops for the shower. In case you are wondering, there was no microwave or refrigerator in our standard room. There was a very cool inside pool that connects to the outside pool through a channel. They turned the heaters on in the pool around 9:30 pm the night we stayed. There is also a hot tub and a work out room. For the work out room, you need to go to the front desk for a key to get in, they will hold your license until you bring the key back. The equipment in the work out room was in working order, but probably on it's last hinges. The lobby looked very nice and well decorated. Continental breakfast was apples, oranges, mini muffins, danishes, and mini bagels. For hot breakfast you had to pay $5 extra each day. I did not pay for it, so I can not comment on how it was. Parking was free and the lot was spacious, so we did not have trouble finding a spot. There were a couple side entrances to the hotel, but you will need your room key to get in. Our floor also had a Women's and Men's Locker Room, that had changing stalls, showers, and toilets, so if you have a room full of people it's a nice extra commodity that you can use as a guest. Close to the highway, so easy on and off, but it's tucked in a spot where you did not hear any traffic or noise at night. Overall, you get what you pay for. If I have to, I will stay again but I will probably check out other hotels in the area first.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Watchb4go.com

Helpful?
1 Thank BeksTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I was recently at Bay Valley for a class reunion and could not have been more pleased. They cleared the furniture out of a suite for us so we could have a hospitality room, the individual rooms were comfortable and clean, and the meal and service was very good. There is easy access to the highway and a very nice golf course on site. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bay City hotels
4.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bay City
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bay City-Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 14 in Bay City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
5.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Bay City
Fairfield Inn Bay City
#5 of 14 in Bay City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Valley Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley Hotel and Resort

Property: Bay Valley Hotel and Resort
Address: 2470 Old Bridge Road, Bay City, MI 48706-9344
Location: United States > Michigan > Bay City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Valley Hotel and Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Valley Resort is Mid-Michigan's finest full service golf resort and conference center, featuring 140 comfortable guest rooms, Full Service Restaurant, Lounge, a challenging 18 hole championship golf course designed by Desmond Muirhead, year-round, heated indoor/outdoor pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. Bay Valley Resort has over 10,000 square feet of meeting/banquet space that will accommodate up to 400 guests. Bay Valley Resort has an ideal location, in the heart of the Great Lakes Bay Region of Michigan, which includes the cities of Bay City, Saginaw and Midland, off I-75 at Exit 160. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bay Valley Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Valley Hotel Bay City
Bay City Valley Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing