We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kinda Icky.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Valley Hotel and Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Valley Hotel and Resort
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kinda Icky.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

It needs maintenance and updating really bad. Drapes, sheets and bedding were newer, but when you turned on the faucet - water sprayed every were, some of the ceiling tiles in the halls were just plain disgusting.... stuff like that. I would give it a one star until they fix it up.

Everyone was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bananaamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    29
    22
    22
See reviews for
32
27
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

other reviews complaining just aren't true. they mention little things, no real faults at all- motel 6 does not do this good of a job, During a trip across michigan we searched for hotels to stay at in bay city, and after checking rates, policy, and availability we picked bay valley. this was a good decision. We checked into a decent sized room with a soaring ceiling, and had an above average breakfast the next morning. an odd amenity was the bath and body works products in the bathrooms instead of generic hotel soap. most other things were average, but nothing less- acceptable bed, older (cable) TV. no real things to complain about. A note as to the hotel schedule, check out , breakfast, and pool opening happen later than what i'm used to experiencing; this is great if you like to sleep in.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ___---
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

Booked this hotel through priceline. The room was clean and at the end of the hall so relatively quiet. The lobby was clean and nice looking.

Nice clean shower.

I have traveled a lot and it was decent for being in Bay City, MI. Not exactly a booming area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kulchic723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladwin, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

EVERYTHING the person who wrote the review from Jan 12th is absolutely the truth! I come from and still live in humble conditions on a farm and this place doesn't even rate above a Motel 6...at least THEY leave the light on for ya! I expressed how very important this visit was (a reunion with my husband after being gone 6 weeks) and NEVER have I been THIS disappointed. I might as well have taken my money and watched it burn! What a shameful waste! I am a very "giving" person when it comes to being pleased..so when I write a bad review...TRUST ME ...IT'S BAADD!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tskittin95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bay City hotels

muddinangel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

HORRIBLE stay. In the first room the bed would knock up against the wall if you bumped it, we asked for another room and the front desk staff had no problem finding us another room. No frig, no microwave, and only a 19 inch TV. The room was either too cold or too hot and the lack of humidity left both my husband and I feeling sick the next morning. The bar staff was sub-par with the exception of our waitress. The staff seemed more interested in partying themselves than waiting on anyone. The bartender was a blonde bimbo that was more interested in flirting with the guys, then getting me my beer, then was rude enough to mumble something when I didn't tip her. TIP stands for To Insure Promptness - Get a clue, sweetie! There were people at 3 am outside our door having a great time, too bad we were still trying to sleep. The breakfast was ok, but you had to pay $5 for an omelet. I honestly think they are using the word "Resort" in the wrong context here. The whole place is a maze, going up and down stairs to get to your room, I was waiting for Jack Nicholson to come around one of the corners and scream, "Here's Johnny!"

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muddinangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2010

I definitly will check Trip Advisor before I stay in a hotel like the Bay City Resort. If you are use to stayin in chain hotel, this hotel is not the one for you. The place is in need of a revonation, the roooms are very old.
I was there to attend a conference in Bay City, MI they play music in the Bar on Friday and Saturday nights. Kids ran up and down the halls late into the night (pass 1:00 am). The staff couldn't seem to control them. If I ever have to go back to Bay City, I will stay at the Doubletree

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed here during the Bay City Tall Ship Festival and it was full. When we arrived a 4pm our room was not yet ready and there were dozens of people sitting around the lobby with the same problem. There were a lot of workers at the check-in desk but only one seemed to know what was going on and they looked overwhelmed. An hour later we were given the key to our room but it didn't work and we had to go back to the front desk for another. The room itself was ok. The air conditioner couldn't keep up but it was the hottest day of the summer so I could understand that. The hotel is a bit dated even though you can tell that it was once a showplace when it was first built and the lobby still is very nice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripperGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bay City hotels
4.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bay City
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Bay City
Fairfield Inn Bay City
#3 of 14 in Bay City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 14 in Bay City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Bay City
Courtyard Bay City
#7 of 14 in Bay City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Valley Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley Hotel and Resort

Property: Bay Valley Hotel and Resort
Address: 2470 Old Bridge Road, Bay City, MI 48706-9344
Location: United States > Michigan > Bay City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Valley Hotel and Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Valley Resort is Mid-Michigan's finest full service golf resort and conference center, featuring 140 comfortable guest rooms, Full Service Restaurant, Lounge, a challenging 18 hole championship golf course designed by Desmond Muirhead, year-round, heated indoor/outdoor pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. Bay Valley Resort has over 10,000 square feet of meeting/banquet space that will accommodate up to 400 guests. Bay Valley Resort has an ideal location, in the heart of the Great Lakes Bay Region of Michigan, which includes the cities of Bay City, Saginaw and Midland, off I-75 at Exit 160. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Bay Valley Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Valley Hotel Bay City
Bay City Valley Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing