We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off the beaten path, well worth the effort”

Grampa Tony's Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 174 Restaurants in Bay City
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Riley
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path, well worth the effort”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Grampa Tony's is not on the regular tourist routes, but it is well worth finding if you're traveling in Bay City, Michigan. The menu is more than just Italian food, there are many choices for the whole family. The food was excellent, the service was excellent and the prices were very reasonable. You will be taking home leftovers home as the servings are very generous.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daniel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    30
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“not just Italian fare”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Last nights grinder sandwich was excellent, they have daily specials and enough variety to tempt your taste buds. We really should order pie first because its so good, but we are usually to full to order it, good thing they will sell you a whole pie, or cookies to go....yum

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank kacrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I like it!”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I went with friends & really did not expect to like the place. Probably because it has that diner vibe. The vinyl booths, the plasic bread baskets, the whole shabang. The food is good though. I ordered a simple pasta & it was perfect. The sauce was clearly made from scratch. The fried calamari were excellent! I travel on business and eat out alot. I am a food snob. The calamari alone make this place worth the drive.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
2 reviews
“Somewhat unusual, food is fair”
Reviewed February 27, 2010

Went to Grampa Tony's tonight after Mass at St. Stans. It's been 25 years since I've been there, I'm not certain anything has changed. It's a store and restaurant, the restaurant feels a bit like a cafeteria. Waitress was attentive, but seemed a bit peeved about something.
Wife ordered the manicotti, not bad, but small portion. I had a small, house pizza, again fair. Crust was not the best, but not the worst. Son had Fish and Chips (Fries), Fries were good, fish (Cod) was a bit greasy, but had a good taste. Daughter had the burger from the kid's menu, very nice serving and good burger, she ate it all.

The menu is actually quite extensive, mostly comfort food but lots of choices.

Overall, not bad for the price. The atmosphere is lacking, but fits with the area. I should have went with the liver, next time I'll give it a try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pandgora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
2 reviews
“Delicious”
Reviewed January 23, 2010

We had the chicken parm and italian chicken sandwich. Marinara sauce was excellent. Cheap prices. Interesting decor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank d3fossit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grampa Tony's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Grampa Tony's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing