We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local upscale place to be”

Old City Hall Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 173 Restaurants in Bay City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brighton, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Local upscale place to be”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great atmosphere. Tuesday nights wine is half off if you eat in the bar. It is quite crowded and busy. Staff is well trained. Food is fabulous. Lots of Michigan made Beer available. WIne is great. I don't recommend sitting near the door on cold days!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    97
    23
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, great craft beer list”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

A favorite stop off when taking trips to & from "Up North". Excellent food, service, and a great list of mostly Michigan craft beers. I had the chicken and artichoke entree, with the creamy tomato basil soup. Both were yummy. My wife, the vegetarian, had the shrimp and tofu pad thai, sans shrimp, and enjoyed it also. We sipped on Midland Brewing Company Copper Harbor Ales, which complimented the food nicely, but also stand alone well.

A very popular place, as while we sat in the bar enjoying an early dinner, we saw dozens of locals coming in for Saturday dinner. A good sign of a great restaurant!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WeTravelMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tuesdays!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My favorite lunch menu, great specials. Tomato soup is wonderful. Tuesday is half off wine day. Rose the bartender is the best. Great historic location.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Don't think I'd eat here again”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I went here with another couple and I wasn't that impressed. I didn't think the décor was anything special. I don't really mind that as long as the food is really good, but the food was nothing to write home about. They have a limited menu, so don't go here if you like lots of variety. All four of us got something different and although none of the food was bad, it just wasn't great and with the prices this restaurant charges, I feel like the food should be great. One outstanding thing I did notice was the staff. Our waitress did an excellent job.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganKatura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vassar, Michigan
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“One of my favorites!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The food, atmosphere and the wine selection was spectacular. I recommend this restaurant to all my friends.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank bhguile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old City Hall Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Old City Hall Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing