We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Dining in Bay City”

Old City Hall Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 174 Restaurants in Bay City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Dining in Bay City”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Old City Hall provides the best cocktail and dinner ambiance in Bay City. The menu is eclectic and sophisticated without pretense. And, their bar offers a lovely selection of premium liquors, beer and wine. For bourbon drinkers (like me) Old City Hall will offer a taste of most anything you can afford. ;)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank BayCityFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    98
    24
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Essexville, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and I go here once or twice a year. The food has always been very good but it's a touch on the pricy side (for the area). The only other negative comment is they need to do something to soften the dining room. Lots of hard surfaces and conversation echos a bit. But as I said before, the food and service are top notch!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank CaptBacchanalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
1,279 reviews
588 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,389 helpful votes
“First time visit, it was good, great building...”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We recently dined here with some friends for a week day evening meal. The building is beautiful with its brick walls, dark woods, unusual lighting, and the long, wooden bar. We were seated right away, and they were not yet busy, as we arrived around 5:45 PM, but when we left, they started filling up fast. Service through out the evening was thorough, though our waiter forgot a few items, and he was not the friendliest of waiters.

Our party had the following and all rated good to very good.

THAI LETTUCE WRAPS- tender strips of chicken, shiitake mushrooms, onions, water chestnuts, cashews, and bamboo shoots sautéed in a mild Thai sauce, Served with Romaine Lettuce

PRIME RIB SANDWICH- roasted prime rib thinly shaved and heated in jus, served on thick slices of grilled sourdough bread with sharp cheddar slices.

CHIPOTLE GRILLED PORK LOIN CHOP - chipotle marinated pork loin chop charbroiled and served with grilled peach salsa, finished with balsamic reduction, paired with yukon gold mashed potatoes. The DH had this dish and he did not like the grilled peach salsa, said it was overdone. We both loved the Yukon gold potatoes and they were extra creamy.

ARTICHOKE CHICKEN- lightly dusted chicken breast pan seared and finished in the oven, topped with sautéed mushrooms, tender artichoke hearts and a creamy lemon butter sauce. Served with Yukon gold mashed potato. My meal arrived with wild rice, which was OK, but had to ask for the potatoes. The chicken was very tender and the sauce excellent, with just the right amount spread over the chicken, not smothered like many restaurants do nowadays.

We shared a lemon type custard cake, the name escapes me and it is not listed on their menu.

The place was very clean, well decorated and the DH reports the bathroom clean, also. Parking is on the street, or about a half block down is a free parking lot.

Highly recommend a visit to this historical downtown Bay City building, which used to be a bank.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tymetraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very cool place - Reasonable pricing and delicious”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stopped here simply because there was a place to park our motorcycles on the street. Our luck...we parked in front of this great spot. Clean place, cool decor and lots of good food to choose from. We enjoyed our lunch here very much. Check it out...I think you'll agree!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bobstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the greatest in Bay”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Great everything!!! A must-visit when in Bay city!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UttonDuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old City Hall Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Old City Hall Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing