We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Been years since our last visit....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Krzysiak House

Krzysiak House
Ranked #13 of 171 Restaurants in Bay City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Polish, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
1,279 reviews
588 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,383 helpful votes
“Been years since our last visit....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We were not planning on visiting this restaurant, but remembered it as we drove near it, so decided to stop in to see how it was doing nowadays! Been many years since we dined here with our young children. Looks the same! Definitely haven't modernized anything. However, it was clean, though they have so many pictures on the walls, and other "decorations," it makes one question such.

We ordered the 7.99 dinner buffet, which can't be beat. A good salad bar, with soup. There is 4 or 5 entrees (fish, chicken, liver/onions, a Polish dish, meatballs) with several sides to choose from. Dessert bar had 3 or 4 choices as well. We were pleased with everything except for one dessert.

Service was prompt, not overly friendly, but it appeared it was just our server. There is a small bar, and a small store in front. Bathrooms need updating but clean. Decent sized parking lot. Not really sure of the extent of serving of authentic Polish food anymore, since we didn't check out the menu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tymetraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    44
    23
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
232 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“going downhill...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

This had been a favourite. However, the dishes are "cheapened", much less authentic. Buffet is so american-ized. The czarnina is like a brown floury substance with raisins and noodles. The chicken noodle soup was like straight out of GFS cans. The pierogi were only potato.. It's no longer a place for real Polish food. Best thing on the buffet: the herring. Chicken, ribs, fish...not Polish style and very greasy. Sorry, I am so sorry your standards have slipped..OR I've upped my standards with the Skillet Buffet and Catering in South Bend, IN.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank marjieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, Michigan
Level Contributor
217 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Change of Pace”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We come to this place whenever we're in the mood for something different. It's about an hour from home. This is one of two Polish restaurants that we know of, in the state (there are probably others). The lunch buffet is probably the best deal, although other than the potato dumplings and stuffed cabbage, it's pretty standard fare, even if there are many selections. The desserts look very good, but since I'm in a weight-watching mode, I usually don't partake. The sauerkraut is excellent, though, and lo-cal compared to the rest of the fare, and there is still the Polish beer. We have always gone with the extensive buffet offerings, and never ordered off the menu. Maybe we'll do that someday.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio
Level Contributor
113 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Just ok!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were visiting a friend in the Saginaw, Michigan area and were told we just have to eat at Krzysiak's authentic european restaurant. I guess if you are one of those folks who really like to put on the feed bag, this is your place. Lots and lots of really average food. Yes, there was a range from the salad bar, to meat, to pastas, vegetables and of course the dessert table just in case you need an extra 1,000 carories. The food wasn't authentic european as they would have you think. Other than a few pierogies, sauerkraut and some sausage, you would find this on any buffet. This is definitely a place to expand your waistline! I thought the price was high at over $20 a plate as well. I would not return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miss_patty526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
“One star is too generous”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Food was worse than McDonald's value menu. Waitress admitted "fresh walleye" was spongy pollock. Terrible sweet cheese pierogies. Waitress didn't care about anything. Stopped to the table once and was too lazy for refills. Busboys were belching two feet from the table. Overall just nasty stay away.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krzysiak House also viewed

 

Been to Krzysiak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing