We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable, great location”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
jcbexleyoh
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Affordable, great location”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

This former Howard Johnsons Motor lodge looks forlorn but our room was spacious and clean and bed was comfortable. Odd rooms face west away from freeway. Each has a patio door so lots of light plus microwave and frig. Free breakfast was fine. Good coffee and free USA Today. Kind attentive staff. No longer in its mid- century glory but a fine option for blasting through Michigan. Our stay cost under $60. Next door are gas stations, a Mc Donald's and a short walk away, a local restaurant with full bar, Berger's, owned by the same family since the 1920s. Extensive old-fashioned menu. Open Sundays til 8 pm. Very fun.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcbexleyoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aashish P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for noticing all of the hard work we are putting into the hotel. As you mentioned we are an older property and we know it requires extra care. Currently we are doing renovation with hallways and new carpets. .Our employees are dedicated to the job and it is reassuring to know that it shows. I am happy to read you were pleased with our location, accommodations, the services we offer. Thank you so much for your review. We would like to see you come back if you visit Bay City are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    33
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
30
29
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We are budget hotel shoppers. If the room and bed are clean at a budget price, we are happy. We are always pleasantly surprised when we get more than expected, and this was truly the case here. The staff was so friendly and accommodating, the room was clean and cozy, we were able to bring our two dogs for a small fee, and our stay included a free continental breakfast with just about everything except eggs and bacon. Very pleased and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aashish P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to share your amazing experience. We appreciate your kind words. We strive everyday to be the best and it is nice to know that our efforts left such a positive experience with you. Thank you from all the staff here at EconoLodge Bay City, we appreciate the pat on the back and we look forward to when we will have the pleasure of hosting your hospitality needs again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
234 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This wasn't a pleasure trip- my mom was just diagnosed with a brain tumour and we had to find a place to stay. WE were pleasantly surprised by how clean, quiet, restful this motel is. Staff is helpful, breakfast is abundant, with waffles, cereals hot and cold, juices, etc. We're finding that we have to go back for mom's surgery. We will be again staying at EconoLodge Bay City because it's a place where we can rest, feel comfortable, and at a lovely price. It's just a good place to be that's not going to cost you a fortune when you need a place to retreat to.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marjieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aashish P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share such a great review! On behalf on our entire team thanks for your kind words. Your discriptive feedback is very helpful to other guest to book their room in the near future.We are hoping that your mom is doing good. We are glad you enjoyed our hospitality and look forward to the next time we can provide your overnight accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpena, Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Lots of good potential here. Lots of renovating going on, but, the rooms that are finished are very nice and comfortable, and best of all...CLEAN. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great greeting when we arrived and pleasant departure. Big 2 queen bed room with fridge and microwave. Very comfortable beds and not too mushy pillows. Breakfast was a nice surprise with several choices of cereal, waffles fruit toast and bagels. Will be an even better place when all the renovations are completed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UnortH32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aashish P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Hello UnorthH32, we are pleased to hear that your stay was pleasant! We appreciate your descriptive feedback which helps other future guest to know how we are doing. Our staff over all works hard to make sure each guest has an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you so much for your comments regarding clean rooms, variety of breakfast and comfortable beds. Thank you so much for all your kind words. We strive to not only be a place to stay but a memorable experience as well. We are pleased to have you as a regular guest of ours and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed three nights and was very satisfied. Clean, comfortable, friendly staff, decent breakfast, fridge, microwave and coffee-maker in room. Located right off interstate. Many restaurants in walking distance. Very good value for the price. Close to shopping in Saginaw. Will definitely stay again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank fancydancer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aashish P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for all your kind words! I am so pleased to hear that you received excellent service and had a wonderful stay at our property! Thanks you so much for breakfast comment. I have shared your thoughts with our entire staff, and they are over the moon to hear that we have exceeded your expectations.
Thank you for your business and we hope you will join us again on your next trip to the Bay City area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Considering the price, the room was large. You should bring your own soap and shampoo, and request addditional towels if you have 2+ people in the room. The free continental breakfast [bagels, wafflemaker, fruit] was very good for being included in the lodging price. The bathroom has a heat lamp but not an exhaust fan, so warm-hot showers will fog the mirror for quite some time. The shower in our room had an interesting configuration of upper and lower wall-mounted low-volume shower heads. The shower caulk could use some bleaching at the corners, but that is likely an effect of the lack of exhaust fan.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aashish P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are pleased you appreciated our breakfast and room size. We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. We are deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced due to the service received from our staff. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Once again thanks for your important feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

I rarely choose an Econo Lodge, but I have to say, this is one of the nicer ones. I hate to book any hotel on line for one reason, sight unseen, but knowing I would be arriving late in the evening and after reading the other reviews I took a chance. I was kinda unsure upon arrival but the staff was friendly and the lobby was clean, I could only hope for the best with my room. Well to my surprise the room was very nice, very clean already had the heat turned on, and luckily it must have been a newly remodeled one. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom clean, plenty of fresh towels, the shower Hot and a working TV remote ! The small fridge worked well and the microwave too. The sliding glass door was easy to open which made bringing all my luggage and stuff in so much easier then walking all the way around through the hallway access door. The fact that it's a non smoking hotel, (which I found out is a MI law) the glass door was so nice and the chairs on the little balcony ( I guess that's what you would call it) made my smoking habit so much easier to deal with in a non smoking room, just step right out and have a seat.
I didn't eat the complimentary breakfast, so I can't comment on that. I do a lot of traveling with my job and I know you usually get what you pay for but I have to say for the price, what a deal!
I would definitely recommend this hotel for a good nights rest, easy to get to right off the interstate, anther plus.
Now with all that said, keep in mind it's not a top of the line hotel but it is much better than some of mid to high range hotels I have stayed at.
If I ever have to go back to Bay City, I will choose this place again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aashish P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Fantastic! Thank you so much for your great review! We love to hear that you were able to take advantage of our accommodation with friendliness of our team, cleanliness, and all amenities that Econolodge has to offer. I also noticed that you have mention about the comfortable bed and convenient location of our Hotel Econolodge. Your feedback is important to us because it allows us to know what we are doing right and if we need to make any changes.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Econolodge. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service. Once again thanks a lot for such a wonderful review. We really appreciate it!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bay City hotels
4.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bay City
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Bay City-Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Bay City
Fairfield Inn Bay City
#5 of 14 in Bay City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront
3.7 mi away
Courtyard Bay City
Courtyard Bay City
#6 of 14 in Bay City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 6285 Westside Saginaw Rd, Bay City, MI 48706-9385 (Formerly Valu Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Bay City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econolodge Bay City is one of the better hotel choices in Bay City. The amenities are first rate with very comfortable accommodations.Easy access on/off Interstate 75, exit 54 rooms with both interior and exterior entrances, and business class rooms, free incoming/outgoing faxes, and free continental breakfast with 3 kinds of cereals, orange juice, 24 hours coffee, donuts, muffins, honey bun, bread ,peanut butter, Bagels, Hot waffles. All rooms offer free high-speed Internet, free HBO and expanded cable, and free long distance calls in US. The hotel is located within walking distance to restaurants like The Bergers, McDonald, Burger King, Subway, etc., And few miles to several downtown restaurants, waterfront and shopping four miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Bay City
Bay City Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing