We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I was surprise at how run-down the hotel was. The building was dirty & old & clearly not taken care of. I am a very easy going vacationer and have never been more let down. It should have been a motel for a very low price not called a hotel. The windows were drafty, the hallway unlit, and the entire area look terrible. It was scary movie quality!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aashish P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

The whole staff and management would like to extend our apologies for your inconvenience. We all are striving to deliver a great service that our guests would love us, unfortunately we missed on your expectations, another thing is we are upgrading lot of our rooms and hotel area as well. Unfortunately you have not got the renovated room because we were full of house. Hope this was not the last stay at this hotel. We would appreciate to see you come back. Thank you for your comments and appreciate your time and business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 92 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Worst motel stay ever! We checked in and around noon power went out. When I asked front desk when power would come back on they had know idea. It was 90 degrees, sliding door
wouldn't open so no air at all. We were never offered ice or candles. Only one candle was in
hall way. I called district manager no apology. Do yourself a favor and don't STAY HERE!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katherineFarmington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NarendraP657, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

I apologize for your experience you had here. I can assure you, if you would have called the front desk and reported about candles we would have given you. Also, we started to gave candles out by each room but you might not at motel. There was thunderstorm in this are and half of the city didn't had power. Nothing we can do when it comes to Mother nature. Again, I am sorry about power outage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This econolodge was great. The rooms are nice and big, each room has a little patio or balcony, breakfast was nice and the people that work here are very friendly and helpful. Nice location, easy access to interstate 75.
The only reason we had to leave here is because the traffic going across the river can sometimes get backed up and my husband has to make sure he's on time for work otherwise we would have stayed here for the summer

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grwilde22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NarendraP657, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for the comprehensive review. We pride ourselves in our customer service, clean rooms and great location. Thank you for highlighting all of them in your posting. Please come back and visit us again soon. Thanks again,and we appreciate your valuable time for such a great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Patti said she found this mystery place on Priceline.com So I was not expecting allot. But we were not planning to spend a lot of time in the room so I said okay roll the dice. When we entered the lobby to check in... the smell about made me change my mind. For some reason they had candles burning in the lobby... to kill the smell?? Patti said it was only the candles... The room was nice the typical two bed room with everything you would expect in this price range. It was near Bay City without the Bay City prices for the Tall Sails event. We found the room quiet, even the AC was quiet and worked great. Just don't go toward the lobby, even had candles in the hallway leading to the lobby. Pool was not open, does not appear it is used. The front desk clerk when checking in was not very friendly but the check out clerk was very friendly.

Room Tip: Not near the lobby and facing away from the Interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tj3js289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NarendraP657, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

I am so sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. It appears that we definitely failed when it comes bad smell My staff and I reviewed each of your comments and have taken appropriate action to resolve each issues. In addition, we are re-evaluating our inspection processes to ensure these type of issues do not occur in the future. Again, we are terribly sorry that your first experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

It is an econo lodge and you get what you pay for. Normally I would not prefer to stay in an Econo Lodge but the management here is fantastic and they work their butts off. They treat you with great respect and do a good job to provide a comfortable experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NarendraP657, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad you found us to be above average and recommendation worthy. We look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a cheap hotel. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean except for the stains on the carpet. Each room has a large sliding patio door and no window. The door in our room was broken and wouldn't open. The door in our kids room was an inch short of closing all the way and couldn't be closed. The screen on the door was torn and the glass was broken. The breakfast was very simple with cold cereal and not a lot of choices. Wi-fi worked. There are almost no plugs in the room for charging phones, computers, etc. and there was a switch on the wall by the bed which turned off the TV and power to the smoke detector. (Use the TV remote instead.)

If you're just looking for the basics - comfortable bed, cheap rate, simple breakfast - then this is a good option for you. But don't expect anything more than that. I don't recommend this as a safe choice for a woman traveling by herself due to the issues with the patio doors.

The hotel is hard to find. It's close to the highway, behind a gas station and next to an old HoJo restaurant that hasn't been kept up. Look for the Econo Lodge sign down the hill behind the gas station.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rameyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NarendraP657, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Hello and thank you very much for your review. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I wish we were able to make things better for all and certainly hope we tried as hard as we could. I am sorry about patio door that couldn't open. Also we are installing exterior door lock for more securities on 7/29/2013 so our GUEST feel safe. We never had any problems regarding securities but its always to be in safe side. We also doing exterior painting as well and it will be done soon. I truly hope you understand our position with this important matter and also hope that our efforts during your stay and after you arrived home were to your satisfaction. I value your constructive feedback very much and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel as a valued guest in the near future. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

This placed really looked questionable from the outside - an old motel next to a 7-Eleven! The lobby was clean and neat. Interior hallway carpeting could stand replacement or steam cleaning BUT the room was VERY CLEAN, freshly painted, huge! and had a VERY comfortable bed! I'm looking for CLEAN, cheap and convenient and this place excelled in the first two and was only 4 miles from downtown Bay City.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chuckwud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NarendraP657, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Aashish Patel
GM
Econolodge, Bay City
989-402-1505

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bay City hotels
4.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bay City
5.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Bay City
Fairfield Inn Bay City
#6 of 14 in Bay City
152 reviews
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Bay City-Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bay Valley Hotel and Resort
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City
3.6 mi away
Courtyard Bay City
Courtyard Bay City
#4 of 14 in Bay City
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 6285 Westside Saginaw Rd, Bay City, MI 48706-9385 (Formerly Valu Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Bay City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Price Range: $56 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econolodge Bay City is one of the better hotel choices in Bay City. The amenities are first rate with very comfortable accommodations.Easy access on/off Interstate 75, exit 54 rooms with both interior and exterior entrances, and business class rooms, free incoming/outgoing faxes, and free continental breakfast with 3 kinds of cereals, orange juice, 24 hours coffee, donuts, muffins, honey bun, bread ,peanut butter, Bagels, Hot waffles. All rooms offer free high-speed Internet, free HBO and expanded cable, and free long distance calls in US. The hotel is located within walking distance to restaurants like The Bergers, McDonald, Burger King, Subway, etc., And few miles to several downtown restaurants, waterfront and shopping four miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Bay City
Bay City Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing